Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

836 students|Pasco
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Odessa Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted January 21, 2016
- a parent
We have only been here 1 year so I can only speak to my child's current teacher. My child has learning issues. I talked in depth with the teacher about this before school started as well as through out the year. He was placed on a 504 plan, which is great, but is only as effective as the teacher implementing it. I have yet to see any great results from this teacher. My child is exceptionally bright but does need specialized attention and encouragement. None of which she has provided. This teacher teaches to the 90% of the class who fit in the round whole. Those few square pegs get left behind

Odessa Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted January 21, 2016
- a parent
This school doesn't develop anything in students. It's simply focused on the latest testing & scores, period.


Odessa Elementary School 2

Posted January 21, 2016
- a parent
We came form an A rated school in Pinellas to Odessa Elementary. last year my son was being evaluated for gifted, this year, he's barely making it through. This school & the way they teach is just awful. You do not have 1st graders walk in to a classroom w/ little to no interaction with each other all day, hand t hem packets, and make them watch videos, instead of teaching & interacting with the kids. My son has struggled in this environment from day one. The tecaher and the school makes all the right moves and says all the right things to be supportive, but at the end of the day, they fail to deliver. My son is now behind in class and despite being put on a 504 plan, is not getting the support he needs. How does a child go from being considered for a gifted program at one school, also an A rated public school, to this? I say Odessa falls horribly short. We will not return next year. One way or another, I will get my child out of this poor excuse for a school. Learning shoudl be fun and my 6 yr old dreads school every day, when he used to love it. He is not being engaged or encouraged to learn. The teacher does absolutely nothing to make him want to be there. I have talked w/ the Asst. Principal & guidance about this, but with no results. Also, being a newer school, they have very few extra curriculars for the kids. My child used to be involved in various clubs at his old school, where as here, there's nothing for him to get involved in.

Odessa Elementary School 5

Posted June 20, 2015
- a parent
This area has fabulous schools all within a few miles radius of each other and we cannot be more happy with Odessa Elementary! Fabulous administrator, wonderful teachers both academically AND in the extra classes like music and art - awesome programs!!! Love the fact they have extra reading programs for struggling learners, science and music/art camps (WOW!) So many performances and PTO activities. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!

Odessa Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 20, 2015
- a parent
I cannot say enough about the teachers my kids have had from 1st grade through 5th!! Considering all the garbage they have to do with overtesting and assessments, one would think where in the world do they find time to really teach??? But they do, and they use strategies to get to each individual kid. It also helps to have an involved parent because it is a partnership. Sadly I have heard of parents not responding to emails/parent conferences/etc. How unfair to those poor kiddos!


Odessa Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted June 20, 2015
- a parent
I can't answer this for everybody. My oldest is an A student and gets everything done so quickly. When given a packet on 'Tuesday' to be returned the following Tuesday, it's done within a day or two. My other child sometimes drags it out which makes it seem like a lot when it really isn't. Every child is different and every parent who makes parameters for homework time is different.

Odessa Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 20, 2015
- a parent
No matter the subject area, my kids have loved every minute of school and have an amazing work ethic to want to learn and do well. They tell me about 'ROYGBV' hanging in the art and music rooms and how they are learning so much there in addition to their regular classroom studies!

Odessa Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 20, 2015
- a parent
There are wonderful opportunities at Odessa where students have buddies and at times these buddies have different abilities. One perfect example is the Special Olympics. The regular ed students show sportsmanship and respect and compassion for their peers with limited abilities.


Odessa Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 20, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Love is amazingly genuine and cares about her students, their families, and her staff. My kids have been going to this school for 4 year I think, and have not had any 'mean spirited' teachers like at their previous schools. I have found them to be very caring and stories that come home for dinnertime talk show how much the teachers are involved with their students.

Odessa Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 20, 2015
- a parent
Odessa has a great program that identifies, teaches, and supports many important character traits found in a well balanced human being. They work with the parents (those that want to be involved because sadly some think it's the school's job alone to do this) through lots of communication and fun activities. My children's favorites are lunches on the stage for being a worthy Wildcat!!!

Nearby schools

Odessa Elementary School
12810 Interlaken Road, New Port Richey, FL  34655
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (727) 246-3700
Last modified Odessa Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top