Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bayonet Point Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 726 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 23, 2013

This school is absolutely horrible! Honestly I don't even think they deserve a 1. I am a student there and I couldn't stand that school. the teachers wouldn't help you whatsoever. there is a few teacher that actually sat at the front of the room and never taught a single thing. one of my teachers actually took attendance and then said goodbye I need a smoke. we just kinda went off and did what ever. plus she actually admitted to entering fake grades into the system so that it didn't look like we were all failing. then there are other teachers who will grade you by whether they like you or not. and the people at the front office are basically there for show they do nothing they have the 8th grade peers do all the work while they sit back and do nothing they don't even notice you when you walk in. this is honestly the worst school I have ever been to. and there are constant fights almost everyday. there was even a teacher that tried to literally kick a student out of their seat just because the student asked a question. the teachers are absolutely horrible. and the physical school itself is like a prison. I am currently begging my mom to take me out of the school.


Posted March 22, 2013

This school claims be be about parent involvment, but just try to get involved. It is harder than pulling a mouth of rotten teeth from a tiger. The teachers don't update home work pages. They dont even keep up with the Esembler grades! You check one week and the grades look great, next week there are assignments from weeks prior added bringing down the grade and now its to late to do anything about it! Some teachers even grade based on if they like you or not, if they don't there will be entire percentages taken off for not writing out your last name or for not highlighting, or they might even missplace your papers, or say that you never turned them in! (I started making copies of all my sons homework assignments) They rush you through your 15-30 minute parent teacher confrences, and anything that you request seems to be a curtesy, one of which they refuse to extend. Any complaints are handled by the principal with the usual "I will ask them about that" and thats the last you'll ever hear from him!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2013

I have went to this school, And it was a good school, Back then, I thought id be a good school for my child to go to. My daughter went here for 7th grade last year and most of the kids get bullied, for no apparent reason, It's ridiculous, I've went to the principal and guidance councilors and NOBODY helped with anything. They actually made it worse, & it got so bad my daughter didn't want to go the school anymore. she wanted to drop out. & The teachers there, are horrible, Mrs. kavulla, Doesn't matter how hard your kid works the grade is always an F, The teachers will talk to you like they care , but they don't and they don't turn heads to help your children in any way, shape, or form! And as for one of the teachers, I cant remember her name, Kept breakfast from my child one morning and wouldn't let her eat, Just because. I had confronted her and she didn't have an answer as supposed to that. And also, My child has went up to the teachers in class, and iv'e called and still no help! It's like the teachers are just there, to be there. SMH ! I don't recommend this school !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2012

3 of my children have gone to Bayonet 2 already in high school and 1 in the 8th grade the teachers are very supportive and look out for the children's best interest. The principal is very involved with the students. They are always looking for new programs to help the children succeed. My family loves this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2012

I have had 3 of my kids go to BPMS, they have all had great experiences at the school. Yes there are fights but there are fights at all schools, this is a middle school! The teachers were great and very helpful all 3 of my kids moved on with good grades thanks to the assistance of the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2012

Bayonet point middle school is not a good school. Like ms.kavulla. she has almost everyone as an "F".And as for ms.cline putting random grades for kids. I do not recommend this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2012

I have two sons that go to BPMS and they do not like the school, i don't like that school.The teachers are very disrespectful and the students get into a lot of fights.That school is very terrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2010

Bayonet Point is a wonderful school , this is the 3rd year my daughter has attended bayonet . The teachers are amazing , but there are many fights at this school , but academic wise i give it a thumbs up . my daughter is a major trouble maker and gets into fights , but with the teachers help she gets good grades & they are working with her to improve her behavior . they have been doing great they are very helpful and provide students with the education they need ! this is a great school choice for your children i have had not one problem . ((: . Bayonet point is a great school ! ((:
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2010

I don't recommend Bayonet anymore if you want your kids to get a real education. There are a lot of fights. The environment there isn't as great. This school has changed since the new principles. I've been a student there for all three years and I can see that the school has changed drastically since the beginning I attended 6th grade there til the end of 8th. They spend their money on 'beautifying' the outside of the school instead. I feel that this school has forgotten about their original mission and value. I feel this school is just like every other public school in the state. Most of the teachers just stress on teaching material to the students so they can pass the FCATs instead of teaching for students to learn. I give credit to the teachers there that actually care about the student's education and try to help.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 5, 2010

I go to school at BPMS and i really like going to school there. :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 2, 2009

i love my school! the teachers are nice and the school is the best. it makes learning fun. :))
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 28, 2008

I am a current 8th grade student and i think that this school is great!!! It has had an A grade average 4 years in a row. Also our basketball team has gone 10-0 last year. In my opinion this school also has the best teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2008

I'm a former student, and this school wasn't that great. I ended up struggling with my linguistics and other primary classes because the teachers weren't very lucid with their teachings.


Posted March 21, 2008

Bayonet point middle school is wonderful, I have only been there this year but I love it. All the teachers are very nice and are ready to help when ever you need it. They have a lot of sports and after school clubs and groups, and me being an 8th grader I have so many things to look forwrd to. So if you are thinging of puting your child in this school you couldn't do better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 8, 2008

My daughter has had 3 terrific years at BPMS. The school is clean and well run. When I need help, I get it! Not to mention they continue to be an A school without a rich client base. My younger daughter is in 5th grade at SES and we can't wait for her to get to BPMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2008

I think the two parents who believe BPMS is not a good school should try going into the school- visit the front office and the administrators. Mr. Knobl gave me 15 minutes today just to ask him questions about HS for my son next year. He has grown and done so well during his three years- The schools' been an A since he arrived and I love Bayonet Point Middle!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2007

Teachers are really stricked about dress codes teachers are also rude
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2007

My daughter loves the school! The teachers did a great job with her this year and the principal has been great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2007

I am will be sending my third child to this school. We will be moving out of the district and we still plan to send her there. The teachers are great and my other children were happy. The school prepared them so well that they are now in the county's IB program
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2007

I think bayonet point middle school is the most horrible school in Pasco. The teachers and staff are rude. I think Bayonet point middle school gets a big thumbs down. I will defently not let my child go back next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

235 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

234 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
47%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

257 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

254 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

208 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

206 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

202 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
31%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

202 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

247 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

28 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
89%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 72%
Hispanic 19%
Black 4%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 16%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 61%63%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 7%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • A School (2007)
  • A School (2006)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:40am
School end time
  • 2:50pm
School Leader's name
  • MR. MICHAEL M ASBELL
Fax number
  • (727) 774-7491

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11125 Little Road
New Port Richey, FL 34654
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 774-7400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Dayspring Academy
Port Richey, FL


Gulf Coast Christian School
New Port Richey, FL




Chasco Middle School
Port Richey, FL


Baycare Behavioral Health
New Port Richey, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT