Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Moon Lake Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 650 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 8, 2014

Kindergarden teacher was wonderful but the fourth grade teacher was so bad I had to pull my son out and drive him every day to another school. When a bright child gets straight A's from Kindergarten through third and suddenly turns into a C student in fourth, after 3 hours of homework every night, that tells me the teacher can't teach! Since I moved my son to a new school he's an A student again. Shocking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2014

The most recent entry I could find was from the end of the 2010-11 school year. I was forced to enroll my daughters into this school because my oldest has special needs and I was told that this was the only school that could accommodate her. Starting with the 80 minute bus ride both ways it has been nothing short of a disaster. When I tried to transfer her she was labeled a threat. Last year she had 3 teachers because they couldn't keep one, this year is becoming a nightmare already.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2012

I find it interesting that several posts claiming great things are written on or close to the same date. Makes me wonder if the same person is promoting this...Parents need real genuine information to make a good decision for the kids.


Posted April 18, 2011

I love the school my kids are in kindergarding and first grade. Mr. Wagner is an amazing teacher he has patiences for the kids and is very involve in making sure their upto date on their learning skills, he has great follow up too.Also the place programs and the staff are wornderful with the kids. Im so glad my boys have a great school to go to with great teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

The faculty and staff are wonderful and the students are amazing!! I love the moon!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 3, 2010

because it has ma so many improvemets over the years
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

Caring teachers and administration; beautiful surroundings; active parents


Posted April 29, 2010

It has great staff and all work together to help students succeed


Posted April 29, 2010

It is a caring learning community. There is no better place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Moon Lake has a great staff that is constantly working on the promotion of the whole child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

'The Moon' is kind of like its own community and everyone knows and cares about the students and each other. Lots of reasons to celebrate, always working toward offering the best to our students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 28, 2010

Our school is made up of hard working professionals who truly love children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

The teachers all work hard to meet every student's needs and set the students on the path of lifelong learning.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 28, 2010

This school is filled with caring teachers. My son needed extra help in third grade and he received everything he needed to get up to grade level using resources and support staff at the campus. The have a wonderful program for student with exceptionalities as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

There are some amazing, dedicated teachers housed at this campus.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 28, 2010

The staff works exceedingly hard to help every student, and family, at the school. The parents and families continue to support their children, and our school, with more and more involvement through the PTA and volunteering! It's a great place to teach and it's getting better:)
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 28, 2010

This school is a joy to work at!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

The amazing dedication the staff have for the children.


Posted October 6, 2009

I love MLES. It is a great school, the teachers are great and really care about the children. I am extremely happy with it. I have yet to have any problem or concern with any aspect of it. Go Manatees!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2009

When we first moved here I was 'warned' about this school that it was not a good school. However, my son is going into his 3rd year at this school and we love it! The staff is wonderful and he has really excelled at Moon Lake. Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
44%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
52%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
42%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

110 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 82%
Hispanic 11%
Two or more races 4%
Black 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 22%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 92%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 77%63%61%
Master's degree 21%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ELISE V LANDHAL
Fax number
  • (727) 774-4691

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12019 Tree Breeze Drive
New Port Richey, FL 34654
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 774-4600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Gulf Coast Christian School
New Port Richey, FL


Schrader Elementary School
New Port Richey, FL


Dayspring Academy
Port Richey, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT