Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Deer Park Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 604 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 13, 2012

My children, who have Special Needs are attending Deer Park Elementary Right now and I must say I'm very very sad at how the School has become. Teacher's are leaving and Children with Special Needs are not getting the Help they need and it feel like their over looked and looked down upon. It didn't use to be this way. I was proud parent of Deer Park Elementary since 2006-2009. It's Very Very Sad to see what has become of this once great School. They were Number for Special Needs Programs and Services and Now it just very upsetting. I feel for the parents of the kids with out Special Needs to, because it bad for them too.


Posted August 7, 2012

I am so happy that my children won't be attending Deer Park this year. Principal and Vice-Principal are both extremely arrogant! Zero people skills. The white trash from up north are moving into this area in droves, filthy mouths, gangster clothes, and thug parents. Thank GOD I moved out of State.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2011

The new principal is running this school into the ground. The parents are made to feel unwelcome and most of the teachers now seem stressed about the changes that have been made by the new administration.I am seriously considering moving my child to another school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2011

I have had children in many schools in Pasco county over the last 11 years. This one is not much different than the others. No communication, children are grouped and not seen as individuals, the principal and some office workers are very condescending. Above all, the gifted program is a joke. Who knows how much worse things will be next year with the extreme budget cuts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2011

Once the new Principal Margie Polin took over this school went to garbage. It is poorly ran and everything is declining...Fortunately my kid is switching schools. Parent involvement is almost frowned upon at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

We love our school, programs, staff and the ability for our children to grow at their own rate. They allow the children to excel, yet if they are struggling they are discretely tutored within the classroom with other peers at their level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

The school went through Principal change recently, January 2010. The new principal is rash, judgemental and treats parents like they are her students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

My two young kids go to Deer Park. I have experience with many schools as my older son went to school in Pinellas County. This school is wonderful compared to all the negativity I found in the Pinellas County school system. I would definetly recommend Deer Park to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2008

I have had two children attending Deer Park Elem. for over 2 years now and I love the school. They are very attentive and motivate the children to learn. My daughter had problems with her reading and it was taken care of immediately and with great success. She actually chooses to read now for fun. I would absolutely recommend this school to anyone wanting their child to get the education they need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2008

Prior to my children attending Deer Park I assumed that the wellfare of a child would be close to the top of a schools priority list. That assumption proved to be nieve. I am the mother of 4 students who are classified as 'gifted'. I became aware of how appauling the educational environment was to late for two of my children. Going to Deer Park damaged their self esteem and taught them that sadly, you can't trust all people in positions of authority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2008

This school does not take care of bullies. Their answer is kids are kids. My son has been physically assaulted 3xs now and nothing gets done other then parent phone call. He has autism and they find bullies a non-priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2007

I have had 2 children graduate from this school and I love everything about. The staff is wonderful and events are well-organized. The PTO is extremely involved. Truly a great elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

Teachers do not stop children from bullying. Principle never available to parents. Media center leaves a lot to be desired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2005

Wonderful school, 'pod' style classroom allows children to be taught at their levels (not across the board). Good 'gifted' program. Good PTO.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

I have had 4 children in this school over the last several years. I have never been unhappy about anything! The staff is awesome and it is truly a 'community' school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2003

This school is great, we moved here from St Petersburg and my only regret is that my son did not get to go to Deer Park for his entire elementary experience. Although my other 2 sons will get all the great education Deer Park has to offer.Keep up the great work.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

104 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 42%
Hispanic 14% 29%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Black N/A 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 61%63%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8636 Trouble Creek Rd
New Port Richey, FL 34653
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 774-8900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

First Christian Academy
New Port Richey, FL



Cotee River Elementary School
New Port Richey, FL



Elfers Christian School
New Port Richey, FL


Anclote Elementary School
New Port Richey, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT