Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Trinity Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 565 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

112 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 19, 2010

It provides a quality education with teachers that give excellent instruction and in an atmosphere that is conducive to learning. The various projects that I have seen my granddaughter work on indicates to me that the teachers are implementing good ideas and work habits for students.


Posted May 19, 2010

Trinty Elementary is an excellent school with very dedicated teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

All three of my children have attended Trinity Elementary, and it has more than prepared them for middle school. The teachers and staff are the best of any school I've had my children in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

Trinity Elementary is a happy place for our children to learn
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

As a business partner with Trinity Elemenatry School I felt they were always super to work with! Love the Administaration, Faculty and PTO!!


Posted May 19, 2010

Great school and great teachers at Trinity Elementary School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

Cause tes rocks!! the school is amazing all the way from the principal, to the teachers, to the lunch staff, to the media ladies, and lets not forget about all our fabulous volunteers......Serioulsy the best school aound:0)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

Great school..very dedicated teachers that are truly interested in teaching. Also, teachers and school overall does a great job of making learning fun and relevant.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

Trinity Elementary is awesome. The teachers, staff, and parents are all dedicated to bringing out the best in our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

The teachers are Awesome and are always doing creative new projects with the students to encourage imagination and a love of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

We have the best of the best at Trinity Elementary! The principal, teachers, media, lunch ladies and maintenance are all wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2009

We entered TES in January...nervous, anxious,terrified! Well, it took about 2 minutes for all those fears to be put to rest! What a phenomenal staff at this school. We were immediately made to feel like we'd been there for years. I love a school that has such an open door and welcomes parents to be as involved as they can. Mrs. Rushe, the principal, is one of the best I've seen. Her committment to the children, school, and staff is inspirational! You really get a sense of community at TES and my children bound out of bed every morning to get there. The multi-age classrooms seem to be very successful...I think reaching a broader spectrum of abilities...if you are ahead great...if you are a little behind...great. I think it is a dynamic way of reaching more children and catering to their individual needs. Our teachers are the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

We moved to Trinity because of the school! Our oldest started 1st grade at TES and in fall 2009 he will enter 5th grade and our middle child will enter K. The children are always challenged, the multi-age classroom is wonderful, but a huge balancing act for the teachers...hence only the best are hired and only the very best stay! I find the Administration and most especially the principal to be on top of everything, from student test scores, clubs, school maintenance and even doing lunchroom duty! The administration spends a large part of the school day out in the classrooms interacting with the students and teachers; hence I see their cars in the parking lot late in the day still in their offices catching up on all that 'Admin' paperwork. If you are looking for a school that takes the job of educating children very seriously, TES is it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2008

I have just read the comments regarding Trinity Elementary and have to agree that the Priniciple is very very uncooperative, very set in her ways and not at all willing to work with the parents or her staff. I feel bad for all that work there, for after speaking with the teachers over the last 4 years that my children have attended this school, their incapabilites are actually the result of the principle being so unwilling to listen to their ideas. My advice use Pasco's school choice find a school with a principle that cares and takes your and the teacher's ideas into consideration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2007

Trinity Elementary is a spectacular school! The teachers work well together. The children are engaged during every moment of the day. And, the administration is supportive and caring in all situations. Despite what some of the parent reviews have stated. I encourage all parents to spend whatever time they may have getting to know the staff and administration at Trinity. They truly are a special group of people!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 19, 2007

Overall I feel the school provides a good education. I compared the material my son was doing in 5th grade to a local private Christian school and he had already learned their 6th grade math. The private school uses the A-Beka program. I am however disappointed in the fact that the administration is very unfriendly and that includes the principle. The assistant principle is very friendly. The school is very well kept and the classrooms very nice. It takes some getting used to the grading system if you are used to having grades shown as percentages. At this school everything is check marks. Checks, check +, or check -.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 25, 2006

Our brief experience with trinity teachers was very positive. PTO is outstanding. Great teachers - caring and friendly. Lunch staff and other staff were excellent. Not so with administration and office staff. Huge disappointment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2006

I have been pleased with the teacher focus, skills and attention in the classroom, but would like to see more skilled time spent on activities other than coloring. My son will be going into 1st grade this year, and it seemed that he was not fully challenged enough in Kindergarden. I hope to see a change in 1st grade. The principle of the school is VERY unapproachable and unsocial. She walks the school like a militant and does not go out of her way to say hello or converse with parents. I as a parent never felt very welcome on school grounds. I had lunch with my son every week at the school and the principle never once introduced herself or conversed with me. The assistant principle is friendly. There needs to be more extracurricular activities as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2006

Prior to moving into the area we heard wonderful things about Trinity Elementary. We soon learned few were true. I would have to rate it as the biggest educational dissapointment in my childs school career. I agree with some of the other reviews that the administration is not very approachable. We also found the now former Asst. Principal to be extremely negative. I'm happy to see that she has left the school for the sake of the students. Our child will thankfully be attending another school this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2006

Good quality of academic programs and extra curricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

76 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 81%
Hispanic 10%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 3%
Black 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 52%63%61%
Master's degree 45%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2209 Duck Slough Boulevard
New Port Richey, FL 34655
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 774-9900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Genesis School
New Port Richey, FL


Odessa Elementary School
New Port Richey, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT