Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Trinity Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 565 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

113 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 24, 2006

Good quality of academic programs and extra curricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2006

Emphasis on reading. Makes kids excited about reading. The few teachers I know are wonderful. The principal is not very approachable. Not very happy w/all the policies and the way they are enforced. Acedemic wise you have to go above and beyond to get 'E's' or A's. They do not celebrate the little things which I think is big plus especially w/the small children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2006

We have been very happy with this school for the past five years. The Administration as well as all the teachers my children have had have been wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

I have been very pleased with the academic achievements of this school. I believe that Trinity Elementary strives for excellence. Music, art and P.E. are taken throughout the week; however I would like to see more extracurricular activities for grades K-2. Overall, I am very pleased with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2006

This is my child's third year at Trinity Elementary. The first year I was pretty happy with her education and the teacher she had. She has since been placed in a classroom with a teacher who is new at teaching and I have not been happy with the results of that. Trinity Elementary ignores when children are misbehaving at the expense of the children who are behaving. They do not correct when it is needed nor do they reward when it is needed. Also, when bringing any concerns to the principal, they are quickly dismissed and her uncaring nature is revealed quickly. We are currently looking to remove our child and admit her into an overall better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2005

Trinity Elementary teaches in multi-age settings. It works really well in the primary grades where they combine k/1 and 1/2 grades. The school has tons of community involvement and the children are spoiled with lots of modern technology and other great anemities our commuity is able to afford through fundraisers. I'd say 95% of the teachers are excellent. They are well versed in their areas and have exceptional personalities to make their classrooms enjoyable and educational.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2005

Great School, but a bit overcrowded. That may change as soon as the new school is built. The great thing about this school is that you can keep the same teacher for 3 years (pod system).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2004

Schools education from Kindergarden to 3rd grade is the worst! Students are mixed and the education level achieved is far worse than other county schools. If you are looking for a good education and not just a 5 star for parent participation - which is needed due to the inexperienced and overcrowded classrooms and teachers, think twice. Make sure you understand what school ratings really mean. We made the mistake of thinking the education is what was being measured, not attendance or parent participation!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2004

A wonderful school especially for families with multiple children. Life is simpler when your kindergartener is going on the same field trip as your second grader. Dinner table conversations are exciting when each has a different perspective on similar activities. The teachers here are fantastic, the principal a true leader. Even the school hours are great! I can't say enough good about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2003

Our family moved 10 minutes north from Pinellas County to the new Trinity area. It is a brand new school in a brand new growing area. Our children have learned so much more being in a multi-age classroom. Trinity Elementary is wonderful school with a friendly staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

This is my daughter's first year at Trinity Elementary. I have been very pleased with the multiage class grouping and have seen wonderful results. By the third week of school, my daughter was already beginning to read small words and perform math problems. I am very excited about my daughter's education at trinity elementary and look forward to working with her teacher, team and the rest of the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2003

they say they are building a community by keeping kids and teachers together for the 1st 3 years but then they shift the kids & teachers around every year. they are not true to their promise. principal is a little to cool & uncaring. ask around, you will get the same response from other parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2003

Students are grouped in multi-age classrooms: K-2 and 3-5. I was skeptical at first, but it has been wonderful. The children are taught based on their knowledge level, not strictly based on what grade they are in. My daughter reads at a very high level, and her spelling words and reading assignments are kept challenging for her.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

76 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 81%
Hispanic 10%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 3%
Black 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 52%63%61%
Master's degree 45%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2209 Duck Slough Boulevard
New Port Richey, FL 34655
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 774-9900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Genesis School
New Port Richey, FL


Odessa Elementary School
New Port Richey, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT