Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chisholm Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 387 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 15, 2012

I have two children in the Gifted Program. As of this year a major revamping of the Gifted Services has taken place. A critical thinking unit is covered every day, a cross grade design thinking unit is worked on in small groups , and there are monthly take home projects given to each grade in an age appropriate manner. The school finally replaced some teachers who were not up to par, including one who refused to use county curriculum, and showed movies to the children in order to correct assignments in class. Parents are applauding the change for the better and we're only in Mid September. The community at large is warm and welcoming and you may consider giving Chisholm a second look.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2010

Does a great job in a multicultural setting with limited resources


Posted May 1, 2009

I am a Chisholm Elementary alumni. I am now a graduating senior at New Smyrna Beach High School, and I would not have chosen any other elementary school.


Posted May 27, 2008

My kids are just completing their first year at Chisholm; they transferred from another (larger) school. I have been very happy with Chisholm. The principal, teachers & staff really seem to care & look out for the kids here. We have never had a problem with the neighborhood! This school does not offer as many extra-curricular activities as their old school; however, they do make an effort to have several activities over the year (Run-a-thon, carnival, silent auction/dinner, etc) to involve families. The 'Chissy Buck' store is actually a good motivator for my kids & the new Science lab is a big hit as well! I have been welcomed as a volunteer as well. If your child attends this school & you have complaints-- you are more than welcome to join PTA and/or SAC to suggest ways to improve it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

I give this school a average rating. My two children do not feel like they are a part of something special as I did when I was in grade school. Other than a lousy Chissy Buck their is nothing that motivates or excites them to stay interested.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2007

My two children go to Chisholm. I love Mr. Mead and think he's doing a great job with the students and the staff. My kids now is 3rd and 4th are so happy with everything! I would never think of moving them and will be sad when they are out of Chisholm. I can't thank the teachers enough for being so loving and kind to the students, they really put their best foot foward when it comes to the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2007

This school is the worst that I have ever dealt with. Students are not treated with respect and neither are the parents. The area is bad even in the daytime...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2007

In response to the blocking of parental attempts, I do have to agree to a point. You can not just go and make a visit, they don't let you in as 'it could disrupt the class.' In response to the extracurricular activities, the school does offer dance and chorus at least. The gifted program is very good, my daughter has been happy so far except for this year. Mr. Mead is an experienced educator and runs the school well. The neighborhood isn't that bad during the day and it is slowly rebuilding and improving consistently
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2006

This school is a disgrace to academia. Our children are not treated with respect and their needs are not met. The school blocks attempts by parents to be involved in their child's education. The school claims an A rating but does not measure up by NCLB standards or on FCATS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2005

Although there are not many extracurricular activites provided by the school itself, it is a great school based on academics. There is a gifted program for students that need a more challenging learning environment. The teacher care about the students and take the time to ensure each childs success. The school has computer programs for every grade level. It has been a grade 'a' school for the past few years according to the department of education standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2005

I feel it's a very good school.My children did well there.My children were doing harder work there than they had been in previous schools.They offered alot of extra tutoring type classes during school hours that really helped my son's.There are lots of extracurricular activites available.parents are highly involved in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2005

This was our first year experience with this school. All schools in Florida had a rough beginning do to the hurricanes. Overall, as a newcommer, I would love to see more school spirit, friendlier staff members, a better volunteer system, much better tasting cafeteria food, a computer volunteer/ parent check in system, CLEANER school grounds, cleaner classes, updated supplies, new library books (many are so old and dirty). Overall, the teacher was wonderful, our child was happy. I believe a principal and staff members should visit other schools unannounced so they can see what others are doing and get new ideas. It will only improve all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2004

I agree--the area is not the most well kept, however, I am more concerened with the class size. The 5th grade has 2 teachers. My son doesn't get the attention he requires because there are over 30 kids in both 5th grade classes. This leaves the teacher time to spend on the most disruptive students. While the children who excell may do well--the students just in-between are left on their own. Not even any assistants. BRAVO to Mr. Mead and the latest changes. The neighborhood has been slowly rebuilding as well. I expect to see more progress in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

My children have been going to Chisholm since 1994. The teachers are great and Mr. Mead the principal is terrific. I am a police officer and I would rate this school a 5 star
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2003

This school is in a very bad area of town. I can't beleive how bad. The school is also falling apart because it is so old and run down. I don't want my son to go to school there but for our zone they say he has to. There are 2 better public elementary schools in this area one is right next to where my older son is starting middle school and there are no private schools in this area I wish I could find someone to help me with this problem I am having to consider home school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

63 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 69%
Black 17%
Two or more races 8%
Hispanic 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 72%56%61%
Master's degree 28%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. KELLY CARTER
Fax number
  • (386) 424-2500

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

557 Ronnoc Lane
New Smyrna Beach, FL 32168
Website: Click here
Phone: (386) 426-7340

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Sacred Heart
New Smyrna Beach, FL


Faith Christian Academy
New Smyrna Beach, FL


Knight's Christian Academy
New Smyrna Beach, FL


Read-Pattillo Elementary School
New Smyrna Beach, FL



Glencoe Classical Academy
New Smyrna Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT