Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bluewater Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 875 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 23, 2014

We moved to this area in Nov 2013. My child improved a whole grade level in reading and math in just a few months. We are so happy. My child also loves school, loves homework and is a completely different child since the move. Thank you to the teachers and staff for their dedication to making sure kids master each subject. Also what a joy that the office and staff make an effort to know the children personally. No child is ever on the back burner. Care and support for each child to succeed in their education and their social life with others is very important at BWE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2014

BWE is awesome and all staff from teachers to front office staff rock! They know the kids so it is worth your while to get to know the teachers and staff too. Best before and after school care along with summer camp! My daughter started out in Project Child, which is sad to say that the school can not offer anymore but is now in Team Quest and is challenged and learning a lot! My only 2 complaints are creative writing is not year round and that we have common core but all schools do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

Just moved into this school and so far it does not live up to its 10 rating or A+ rating. Every time I go into the front office I am barely spoken to. They don't want to get to know your children, the principal has not introduced themselves to us and the bullying on the bus is not handled fully. In gym my kids run mile after mile, they have not played any games or taught anything new. The teachers my children have want no one in their classrooms to volunteer. So disappointing, we moved into this schools zoning area and are very disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2014

My child was just a number! And the PTA was by invitation ONLY! Such a joke. The principal didn't know her students or her parents and the only teacher we liked moved as soon as she could get out the door. We had problems with a specific teacher and were informed that the principal had a stack of complaints about her...too bad they were friends outside of school. Nothing was ever done!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2013

its an excellent school with excellent enviornment.im satisfied to send my daughter to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2012

My children have had a wonderful experience at this top notch school. We researched all the schools in the area and are very pleased with all aspects of Bluewater Elementary. They are getting a private school education at a first rate public school. Parental involvement is incredible, the principal is wonderful and each teacher goes above and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2012

I am a father of two daughters who attend 2nd grade and Kindergarten. Their educational curriculum is rigorous which we like. My wife and I do homework with them every evening. No problems with any of the teachers as all have been wonderful and kid centered. The entire school constituency have parents who are majority DoD engineers, military officers, and other civil servants. I hesitate moving for leaving the school behind. When you see terrible school stats for Florida or America in general, don't blame the Niceville School Network.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2011

I love Bluewater Elementary! My son is in the Project Child program and is doing awesome. He started the program his kindergarten year and will keep the same three teachers through 2nd grade. He is in 1st now and went back to school after summer break and didn't skip a beat, because he was already comfortable with his teachers. We have been thinking about moving to the Pacific Northwest to be closer to family, but are so afraid that the schools won't measure up that we are starting to have second thoughts. Thanks to the great principal, teachers and parent involvement, Bluewater is an A+ rated school and I truly feel my son is getting a great education and he is excited about going to school and learning. It's so sad that the music teacher left and art is only every other week now though. I really hope the budget for next year includes music.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2010

My son started kindergarten at this school and I have seen great improvement in all areas of his learning. I have spoke with other parents that have had time to volunteer in his class & they do not understand the "routine" but apparently it is working for the kids. As not one parent has complained about the amount of knowledge that their child is taking in. Teacher is nice and the staff is friendly. Great experience...especially since this is my first child to start school. We will miss BWE very much when we PCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

Great school, motivated teachers and involved parents...a winning combination!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2009

The extracurricular activities (art and music) get a full hour a week. Physical Education takes place three days a week with extra recess on the days when there is Art or Music. The teachers are all top rate, the staff is caring, and the school is clean. Although the curriculum (mandated by the State of Florida) seems to teach quite a bit to prepare for the FCAT test, there is nothing wrong with developing good test taking skills in our kids and they are learning in the process.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

I've had two children go through Bluewater Elementary and have another one who will be going next fall. With many family members in the education field...I know the ins and outs of schools...even some things that the average parent doesnt' see. While the current principal doesn't have the personal relationship with students like the previous, she is excellant as an administrator. I have also been involved in many other areas, as a parent...and the volunteer/parental support is out of this world! I can't say enough about the art program either! It's one of the best around! Overall, I can't say enough good things about BWE! That school runs like a fine oiled machine and I feel like my children have gotten the best education possible, certainly in the region..possibly in the country. And no..I don't have a family member employed there :) My children loved their experience at Bluewater Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2008

The school/teachers/students are all top notch, except I can't stand the fact that they reward and motivate the children with candy. For that, I take away a star.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2005

I have two children at Bluewater Elementary and I couldn't ask for a better school. We love the teachers and staff as well as the ciriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2005

Teacher Ratio is low and the school offers traditional and accelrated class. Most teachers live in the area and neighbors to the children they teach. To meet Florida class to teacher ratio the 5th grade class may meet in the Portable building out for claoses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2005

This school is wonderful. The art program is great. I love the team quest program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2004

My daughter attended Bluewater Elementary 2nd thru 5th grade. She is now a junior at Niceville H.S. I believe Bluewater gave Shannon a distinct edge with their Gifted Program and with the knowledge of the faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

142 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

164 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

163 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

159 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

142 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

121 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 82%
Hispanic 6%
Two or more races 6%
Asian 3%
Black 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 49%57%61%
Master's degree 47%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4545 Range Road
Niceville, FL 32578
Phone: (850) 833-4240

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Addie R. Lewis School
Valparaiso, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT