Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,023 students|Sarasota
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
52 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 75 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Laurel Nokomis School 5

Posted July 13, 2016
- a parent
My daughter started middle school at Laurel Nokomis School and she really truly enjoyed school and still made straight A's the entire year. She did not miss a single day all year, and also was not even tardy a single day. This was a first for her. The interaction with the Principal, school events, PTO and teachers was amazing.

Laurel Nokomis School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted July 13, 2016
- a parent
The PTO is awesome and the volunteers that help out the PTO are also truly remarkable.


Laurel Nokomis School 5

Posted May 31, 2016
- a parent
I have both of my daughters enrolled in Laurel Nokomis. We as a family live this school. The girls have had so many positive experiences there. There has only been one teacher that one of my daughters had that I didn't personally "click" with but it still turned out to be a positive school year for her. The staff is very caring, wonderful people.

Laurel Nokomis School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 13, 2016
- a parent
They seem to have a great program for the special needs students and make them very much involved in the same activities as the rest of the students which I think helps encourage all of the above.

Laurel Nokomis School 5

Posted April 13, 2016
- a parent
I have a middle schooler and an elementary student that have both been there since kindergarten. We have had a great experience every year. The transition to middle school is so seamless and there are so many great programs available. Highly recommend!!


Grateful to:
SCHOOL LEADER
I am grateful to the PTO. These moms and dads do so much to raise the morale of both staff and students. With the holiday season coming up, they not only organized a holiday gift shop for the students, they will use some of the proceeds to buy each child in our backpack food program new sneakers and a blanket. They also arrange confidentially to have these students shop for free. This is just one small example of their awesomeness, which goes on throughout the year.
Posted December 09, 2015

Laurel Nokomis School 5

Posted January 30, 2015
- a teacher
I'm proud to see our school rated 10 out of 10 on student achievement scores. The teaching and learning taking place at LNS is excellent!

Laurel Nokomis School 1

Posted November 14, 2014
- a parent
Be very, very, wary of this school if your child has an IEP. The principal and at least one teacher I ve had to experience have a cavalier attitude towards IEPs. My child s teacher didn t even bother to read his before the start of the school year. This particular teacher was ill prepared to cope with his disabilities. I agree with the assertion I read earlier this school should be investigated - preferably by the county's director of the Exceptional Student Education Department!


Laurel Nokomis School 5

Posted November 11, 2014
- a teacher
The thing about anonymous reviews is that people can describe these horrible, negative experiences as though they are completely true. The last posting doesn't even make sense. Not giving a child a chair? Laurel Nokomis School has caring teachers, administrators and office staff who do their best to help students learn. Sometimes when people don't get the answers they want they become angry and write these negative things. No school is perfect, including this school. But the bottom line is that this is a highly rated, "A" school with some of the best test scores in the district and state. The PTO is very involved and raises funds to provide students with extras like special field trips and technology. They hold many family events like the Fall Festival and the Daddy Daughter Dance, to name two. The school is a gifted magnet and also has a autism cluster. We are great with meeting the needs of a full range of student abilities. For the most part, the teachers are very flexible in working with students. If you choose to work WITH the staff, instead of against them and you are willing to disicpline your child when needed, this school can be a great school for your family.

Laurel Nokomis School 1

Posted August 27, 2014
- a parent
We moved here during the 2nd semester of the 2012-2013 school year. I enrolled FOUR children in different age ranges/grade levels at LNS. Two who were struggling and 2 were trying to understand what was expected of them. First of all, when I asked them how their first day went, they all said that they were NOT introduced to their class. Each of them was ORDERED to find a seat. One of my older children could not find an empty seat so the teacher said, "well, I guess you'll have to stand all day since you can't seem to find a seat!!" My 2nd grader came home on her first day of school with a spelling test that had a big fat red circled F with the word "Study." Really? It was her FIRST DAY! The other 2 didn't say much at all. We had numerous conferences with the stoic principal who seemed distant and 'untouchable,' the vice-principal who was really a sweetheart, the counselor who seemed removed from everything, and the teachers who could have cared less about our students. Nothing changed as to how things were handled. The funniest thing is, they kept repeating their motto at LNS: "To be kind and caring" ....um, HA!!! Needless to say, we pulled them out. I DO NOT recommend this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Laurel Nokomis School
1900 Laurel Road East, Nokomis, FL  34275
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 75 reviews. (941) 486-2171
Last modified Laurel Nokomis School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top