Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

677 students|Sarasota
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Thanks for looking at our school. We have a great deal of information on our Website at www.islandvillage.org. Thanks to all of our parents who support the vision of our school. Please visit our Vision section to learn more about what we do and why we do it.
May 29, 2014

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
43 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 63 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Island Village Montessori School
Grateful to: Student

Posted May 18, 2016
- a community member
I want to say thanks to the two people who actually tried to talk to me. I'm glad I wasn't alone for a bit but I honeslty couldn't thrive at the small school

Island Village Montessori School 1

Posted May 18, 2016
- a community member
I know I should have done this review way earlier in the year but I felt I should still share my feelings about the school. I went here for a week and left. I did not like this school at all and I'm glad I went back to my old school. First of all there highschool is not developed. Teaching two classes in one! I couldn't even pay attention since on the other side of the room is the other ''class''. I felt like no one honeslty cared. The teachers were ok but I felt left out and no one to talk to since there were only about 20 students for 9th and 10th. They made me do ESOL to see if I can speack English but I speack English perfectly fine I felt offended to be honest but It's whatever. Glad I left that school.


Island Village Montessori School 5

Posted August 05, 2015
- a parent
My kids (9 and 6 years old) love this school!!! The dress code is simple to follow. They enjoy picking out their shirts. My kids both love their teachers. They were sad when summer came. My one child did ok in normal school settings, but both have blossomed here.

Island Village Montessori School 1

Posted May 05, 2015
- a parent
The Venice Campus does a good job with letting children adapt to learning style that best suits the child. For that, my kids enjoy this school. The teachers and staff have NO desire to stop bullying at any level. for a 0-tolerance policy, our children have endured cyber bullying, teasing, physical bullying, name calling, isolation and more, even having projects made for school damaged by other students. after countless meetings, complaints, letters, emails and more-bullying continues. This school has such liberal views that they will not stop bullies in case they hurt the bullying students feelings. hell with the boys and girls that end up hating going to school as a result. I was told that after a year, we would want to move our kids away from IVMS. 100% correct. in less than a year we found a new school and they will be attending elsewhere next year. Don't expect the teachers to let you know either. I don't think its their fault, I got the distinct impression the principal does not want bad reports going home no matter what.

Island Village Montessori School 5

Posted February 18, 2015
- a parent
Well I would say this is a really nice school. The campus on Clark road is way out of town, but it's nestled in the middle of beautiful wildlife, trees and is like something out of a movie. I think this adds to the experience and provides an enriching environment for the kids. I really don't like authority much so it's sometimes hard dealing with other peoples rules. For example they don't want the kids to run to class. I don't mind if my kid busts his butt running so I would not complain if he got hurt. The staff has a lot of different personalities to deal with so it's not easy to please everyone. What you put in you will get out. I would say the school is missing male teachers, not a single male teacher at the Clark campus. You need both male and female teachers to give a well rounded experience. They said that they don't have any male teachers applying for a position at that campus so lets get some guys on staff. As for diversity, the families that send there kids to a school like this are very open and welcoming. To drive all the way out to that campus you have to be committed to the cause. I would pay money to send my kid here if that's what it took.


Island Village Montessori School 4

Posted October 16, 2014
- a parent
I have 4 children currently enrolled in this school for the last 5 years. The teachers and the staff have been tremendous. My children love going to Island Village especially because of their music and art programs. As a parent, I have been treated with the utmost respect and whenever I have needed to talk with anyone associated with the school they have made time for me.

Island Village Montessori School 4

Posted October 03, 2014
- a community member
Seriously, a multicultural program is the LAST place non-white families would be treated with prejudice!

Island Village Montessori School 1

Posted September 27, 2014
- a parent
this school is only for white families, the treat African American Children with prejudice. They are not fair, no equality and they treat the parents like trash. DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILDREN THEIR!


Island Village Montessori School 3

Posted May 29, 2014
- a parent
I believe it is better than public school. The teachers in my sons class were very cold to me. They eventually warmed up a bit. One was compassionate, but the other was very judgmental. They were both kind to my son, and seemed to be very passionate about being teachers. I am very happy with how my son is learning, and enjoy listening to his stories everyday about what he has learned. His classroom seems well run for the most part. Discipline seems to be handled very well. There doesn't seem to be any bullying. I like the enrichment offered. My son now enjoys school (he hated public school). Everyone in the office has been kind, including after and before care. My other concern is communication. I just feel like everything is last minute and I get a lot of "Oh, you didn't get that?". And, of course, the judgmental teacher always places blame on me if I didn't get something. I am really glad she will not be here next year. I also wish they can carry backpacks. They have work folders and lunch boxes...and then notes and important papers. I am not highly impressed, but I like it. It is better than public. I think if the teachers were warmer I would give more stars...maybe next year..

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Thanks for looking at our school. We have a great deal of information on our Website at www.islandvillage.org. Thanks to all of our parents who support the vision of our school. Please visit our Vision section to learn more about what we do and why we do it.
Posted May 29, 2014

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Island Village Montessori School
2001 Pinebrook Road, Nokomis, FL  34275
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 63 reviews. (941) 484-4999
Last modified Island Village Montessori School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top