Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hancock Creek Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 795 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 8, 2013

The teachers and office staff and administration go the extra mile. I'm so glad we chose this school.


Posted January 15, 2013

Another reviewer said it perfectly. Good academics, but bare bones after that. My 3rd grader has never been on a field trip in the 4 years attending HCE. No performances, no award ceremonies, nothing. While I understand academics should always be the main focus here, these are still children and Elementary school should still be fun. The principal is nice, she's all talk and no action. I have only encountered one teacher I didn't care for, everyone else is amazing. School safety is also a major concern for me at HCE. Their parent pick up & walker procedures are a nightmare. On several occasions I have witnessed strangers being let into the school with out ID checks. I have seen adults walking up to the parent pick up area and taking children with out being ID'd. That is extremely disconcerting. The classes are usually punished as a group for one childs bad behavior. This is hard for the child who loves their (twice a month) music class, but never gets to actually do anything because the other children get the entire class on "red" and they are all punished for it. I want my children's elementary experience to be a positive one. We are currently searching for a new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2012

Hancock Creek is a good school academically but it is bare bones after that. No school plays, no chorus, no clubs.Only 2 field trips in 5years that my daughter attended the school and they were both to the mud flats. Music and Art are only taught twice a month. There is no PTA and the PTO only meets once a month. They do not want Parental involvement. My other daughters 2nd grade teacher actually forbid Parent volunteers. The bottom line is the Principal only does the bare minimum she is required to do. With so many A+ schools in N. Ft. Myers do some research on-line and find a school that offers your child more than the basics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2012

Yesterday, a 6 year old named Cam was enjoying her first school valentines day. On the bus, she read through each of her precious cards from her classmates, however, her bus driver thought it unacceptable and took them away from her. When she got up to leave the bus to go home, she asked for them back and was denied. When the mother called the school to demand that they be returned, she was informed that they had been THROWN AWAY. All she received was an apathetic "sorry". After asking they be replaced, the assistant principle said that she couldn't do that! How can someone, a school official, allow a child's personal belongings be thrown away without at least contacting the parents?! This is rude and just shows the lack of care in our communities school system! -an angry citizen


Posted July 6, 2011

my child went there it's a great school she was a meida helper it was fun 4 her and som friends from class but there was some 5 graders who was all in there face this last school year it's all good now it's summer and they woun't be there next year they all passed so there should be no mean 5 grad helper so 2 say and she had a great school year the teacher r geat the kids r great and the way they run everything is great 4 me every parent is different over all the school is great can't wait 2 see her old teacher and meet her new 1 after this she is going 2 middle and she will hav fun i know it hope my littel 1 go's there 2 hope all u parents pick this school it's a great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2011

Wish I can say the same as the previous critics. My son went here for his first year of school (Kindergarten) and talk about passing the buck! Due to my son never being in a class type environment, he had to be shown how to. The way the teachers decided on teaching him was by changing him from classroom to classroom. He was transferred 3 times in 1 school year. The only time I met with his second teacher, I was amazed at how unprofessional this teacher was (she actually spoke and acted as if she was on some crazy medication). I had a meeting with his teachers and the principal and even the principal treated me with sarcasm. They showed me no interest in dealing with my child all they had for me were complaints. As a mother, I do all I know and can with my child at home, if I had to go to school and do their job for them, then what's the point? My son's first year of school was not a nice one at all, not for him nor for me. Unhappy parent =(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2010

My daughter is in the first grade. I love this school she has done very well and has learned a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2008

My child had an exceptional year due to her truly outstanding teacher. The guidance counselor was also very helpful. I chose this school because of the class structure offered, which would best suit my child's needs. However, the admnistration, nor the Student Advisory Council Committee, never informed parents of drastic changes occurring to the class structure for next year. I did not get the impression that the administration cares about parent concerns, since parents were not given the opportunity to receive the information and let their opinions be heard. Although the administration has the autonomous right to run their school as they see fit, they also have an obligation to inform parents appropriately and in a timely manner of decisions that affect their children's education so they can find another school that best suits their childrens needs before all of the seats at that school are filled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2007

Love this school. Three of my children have gone there and another one will be starting this fall. The teachers and principals are great, and support the children and family involvement. My children have loved every teacher they have had over the years and love going to school every day. I feel the safety issues are being handled well, and the parent pick up and drop off is one of the best organized ones around. Lot's of friendly faces. Would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2006

My daughter has been at HCE since 1st, now going to 4th. The teachers there are outstanding. We have been blessed with staff that cares and wants to see the children grow. The staff helped my daughter with the extra help she needed. My son also attends now entering 1st grade and has been there since Pre-K.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2006

My son has been at this school for a total of six years, this is his last year; the office staff and teachers are great, they really worked with him on his reading needs to keep him with the rest of the class, he is now out of the assisted reading classes and has excelled with his grade level, I would gladly recommend any parent and child to this school also I know at least four other sets of parents that would agree.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2005

I went to this school for 3 years and had the best experiences of my life. The teachers I had were terrific and made school fun, in a way.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 31, 2004

I have to say that: Hancock Creek Elementary is the best by far!!!! They are very much into their students and their education!!! Way to go Hancock Creek!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2004

I have two children in Hancock Creek Elementary School and have been pleased every year with each teacher. The school is open and inviting for parents to volunteer and visit anytime one is able to find time. To recommend a few teachers, Mrs. Carol Tucker, Mrs. Gina Peterson, Mr. Cyr, Mrs. Bellar and Mrs. Kendall Saponara, and Mrs. Clare. Hancock Creek is an excellent choice for a Public school and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a school that has an interest in children in developing not only academically but socially as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

My daughter started kindergarten this year. I had looked into private school for her, but after finding out she would be attending Hancock Creek Elementary, I have found that I am extremely pleased with Hancock Creek Elementary and am thankful that my daughter is attending there. Also, Ms. Sue Turner, is my daughter's teacher and I am extremely pleased with how she and I have excellent communication on my daughter's progress and how well she is adapting to kindergarten. I have also had the pleasure with speaking to the principal, Ms. Kelly Vaughn. She is polite, willing to go out of her way to help out a single mother, organized, and has the perfect personality for working with and for the children, teachers, and parents on a day to day basis. Ms. Sue Turner and Ms. Kelly Vaughn truly care about what they do and look out for the children's best interest.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

146 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

147 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

138 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

139 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

139 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

140 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 63%
Hispanic 26%
Black 7%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 63%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 96%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 65%66%61%
Master's degree 35%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1601 Skyline Drive
North Fort Myers, FL 33903
Website: Click here
Phone: (239) 995-3600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Good Shepherd Lutheran School
North Fort Myers, FL


Grace Community School
North Fort Myers, FL


Hope Christian Academy
North Fort Myers, FL


Tropic Isles Elementary School
North Fort Myers, FL



Peace By Piece School
North Fort Myers, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT