Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Broadview Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1031 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 2, 2009

I have found Broadview Elementary to be a great school. I actually took my child out of private school and sent him to Broadview and I have no regrets.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2009

I love this school the staff is so nice
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2009

I love broadview. The teachers really do care. The support staff really support. I could not have asked for a better school for my son that is in the twins program. Parent involvement is pretty good. The PTO seems to run smooth and for the children not all for the teachers. I love this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2009

continue my previous story my daughter has been in twins all her year at broadview and has been on honor roll and broadview teachers, speech, and iep staff really have placed my daughter so she can do her full potential and has a modified curriculm for gifted students. I am so impressed with her spainish speaking she has learned and how well she has achieved at broadview. thank u to all present and past broadview staff for really helping both my children succeed and become very bright future stars of tomorrow..Joanne Bittlingmeyer a parent and a alumni of Broadview
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2009

This school is a great School! i want to congratulate the principal and the vice principal and the staff. god bless you guys for your wonderful job and love that you show.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

This School is a great School! I want to congratulate the Prinicipal and the Vice Principal and not forgeting the hardworking teachers of broadview elem. My son loves his School and he is an Honor Roll Students. Thank You.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2008

this school is one of the best schools in broward I recomended a lot
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2008

I want to comment the Principal and the Vice Principal for a wonderful job at Broaddview Elem. I want to thank you for having such a excellent interest in your students. You are really doing your duty with love and dedication. I admire your determination and your discpline. My son loves you guys very much, he is quite comfortable in your den.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2008

The prinicpal and teachers are great at Broadview elementary. I would love to see some more extracurricuar activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

Broadview Elementary regained its 'A' grading this year. Teachers and prinicpal work hard to improve. But there are areas to improve. e.g Sunshine Maths is an advanced level Maths programs which has been abondoned due to lack of resources. Parking is not sufficient. Continual construction work around the school is a big inconvenience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2006

I really enjoy my son Justin attending Broadview. For the first time in a couple of years a PTO has been started. Parents love to be involved and the ones who are not see the happiness on their childrens faces. Once the PTO raises money we look at what the children need. The last big fundraising that the PTO had was a bookfair. The children loved it and we made a family night of it as well, and the parents were pleased. The extra money made from the book fair will allow each class in each grade to have books for their own library in their classroom. I know the teachers are excited about it and the students will love reading their classrooms new books.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2005

Its a great school- teacher are great- students learn if they are willing to...and they give their best. Its an excellent I really recomend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2004

I think it is a well organized school. They have a very good safety system in place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2003

The principal is the best I have ever known. Very polite, involved with children and school, also always talking to parents. I disagree with the Special Education system, and I do not like at all the Behavior Specialist they have there. Not at all. She might be a family counselor, but I do not think she is prepared nor have the strength in character to deal with special kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2003

Broadview Elementary has a diverse student body with an equally diverse staff to accommodate all children attending this school. There's never a situation that can't be resolved by speaking to someone, whether it be a teacher, staff, or personnel. Safety is a number one priority for all children inside and out with excellent safety patrols to guide and assist in any situation. No child is left behind as the teachers continuously learn new skills that keep the children 'on their tippy toes'. No one gets bored here! They believe all children should have the opportunity to expand and learn to their fullest potential. It's the best elementary school of Broward County in my book.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
47%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
41%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
43%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

146 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 45% 29%
Black 44% 23%
White 6% 42%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 85%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 62%53%61%
Master's degree 35%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Donald Lee
Fax number
  • (754) 322-5540

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1800 SW 62nd Ave
North Lauderdale, FL 33068
Phone: (754) 322-5500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Imagine Charter/N Lauderdale
North Lauderdale, FL


Soaring Eagles Academy
North Lauderdale, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT