Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

683 students|Broward
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


North Broward Academy Of Excellence
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
First of all, to my super star students Chloe and Enzo thank you for always giving it your all! You guys have been blessed with amazing teachers at NBAE that instead of dimming your loght help you shine brighter. Among these teachers are Mrs. Morales, Mrs. Han, Mrs. Lockie and Mrs. Perez thank you for all of your hard hard work and dedication to my children . Because of you ladies my children love attending NBAE. They learn and you make it fun! So again thank you! May you have another amazing school year.

North Broward Academy Of Excellence
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Yes. Teachers and staff ensure children are respectable towards one another. No tolerance policy. It helps me feel as if my children are safe.


North Broward Academy Of Excellence
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Students are rewarded for honesty, fairness and showing integrity. Even though, these are all things I teach at home- I appreciate it is enforced in school.

North Broward Academy Of Excellence 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
My children love it at NBAE! I have a 2nd grader and a kindergartener. Their teachers are great and easy to contact. Very responsive.

North Broward Academy Of Excellence
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Teachers i have encountered are very effective at identifying my children's specific needs, talents and their strengths.


North Broward Academy Of Excellence 4

Posted October 22, 2014
- a parent
This is my son first year at NBAE and he is in 1st grade from transferring from Pinewood Elementary across the street. So far I am please with the level of communication. It is October and I have already had 3 opportunities to meet with his teacher and already met with the new principal. The security at the school is definitely where it should be. The pet peeve is the parking lot and car loop, the school is way too small for it. However the playground, the pool and the fake grass is a plus for the kids when playing outside. I recently got a listing of clubs and activities that my son could get involved in and I was happy to see that. Another plus is being given access to websites like ReadingEggs.com to help assist my son in his reading. I do feel his homework is well put together for him and being on campus the school is up to par. Next year since we have moved my son maybe placed at NBAE sister school Renaissance Charter Coral Springs but now NBAE makes me feel more comfortable that he is being pushed versus Pinewood Elementary.

North Broward Academy Of Excellence 4

Posted September 05, 2014
- a community member
This school is a good school to send your child to. I recomend you send your child there since there aren't any better schools in the area. The Middle school gives you high school credits such as Algebra 1, Geometry, Spanish 1,and Biology. But the activities there aren't so hot either. There is a pool but only the kindergartners get to use it. Also there's no gym. But that is the least of most parents worries. The reason they go to school is for an education. The lunch is way too expensive for what they give us. Fortunately, right now our present principal is trying to fix that. And take this from a 8th grade student who is going there.

North Broward Academy Of Excellence 4

Posted July 01, 2014
- a parent
My twin daughters just finished their Kindergarten year in the advance class with Ms. Morales. I feel my daughters were well-served with a teacher who recognized their skill levels, and encouraged and challenged them to improve. I was considering putting them in a public school gifted program but am glad I took a chance on NBAE. They were already reading at above K-level when they started. They are now at a 3rd-grade level! Also, it is so easy to communicate with teachers and staff at the school. Sad to see Principal Self leaving, but I believe he left the kids in good hands with the incoming principal. I also believe the extracurriculars could use some improvement, but there are choices. All in all, I am pleased with NBAE this first year and looking forward to a better experience and more involvement (on my part) next year.


North Broward Academy Of Excellence 5

Posted May 27, 2013
- a parent
I have a daughter and son that is attending this school, and I could not have ask for a better school. There is a lot of parental involvement. You do have to volunteer hours every school year for your child to continue attending. Both my kids are on the honor roll. The teachers are awesome, I have not have a problem with teachers or administrative staff. The principal is really friendly. This school feel like home. If you are a parent who are not involve in your child education, do not bother to send your child.

North Broward Academy Of Excellence 1

Posted October 16, 2010
- a parent
The school takes in the worse of the worse and treats them like prisoners and there is a serious lack of admin support for the teachers.

Nearby schools

North Broward Academy Of Excellence
8200 Southwest 17th Street, North Lauderdale, FL  33068
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (954) 718-2211
Last modified North Broward Academy Of Excellence is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top