Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Imagine Charter/N Lauderdale

Charter | K-5 | 465 students

Imagine North Lauderdale is best known for it's extended learning program.

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 21 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 12, 2014

I am very happy with the school staff. They are pleasant and willing to assist you with anything. Ms. Danielle, Ms. Burgess, and Ms. Kelly and very understanding and show compassion towards the students. Ms. Cruz has been wonderful with my son and always available to discuss any concerns I have had about my son's performance. Overall the school is doing great. Kudos!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2014

This school is the best because it has helped my child who was struggling in all subject areas. This school helped my child so much and I am now so proud of him. So if your child is struggling, well Imagine North Lauderdale is the best school in this community to send to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2014

Imagine at North Lauderdale has helped my child along with his math and reading. Mrs. Burgess is so incredibly helpful. The staff are friendly. Safety is part of Imagine at North Lauderdale. The teachers go the extra mile for their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2014

Imagine North Lauderdale is a wonderful school. The campus is beautiful, clean, and safe. The school day is extended so the teachers teach a lot of information. I love this school and prefer that everyone who has a child take them to Imagine North Lauderdale. All staff members show real love to the students. I wish the campus still had a middle school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

VERY INVOLVED AND CONCERNED WITH ALL STUDENTS HERE. CARING FACULTY STAFF AND STUDENTS. lOVE THE ACTIVITIES HERE. THE CURRICULUM IS WELL TAUGHT
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

My children have been attending Imagine Charter for two years and I have to say that this is the best school my children have attended. Each and every teacher and/or paraprofessional that works or is involved with this school knows my child by first name. The school staff genuinely cares about my kids and their needs. Mrs. Kelly the principal has an open door and always has time for me and my children. I would like to say thank you to this school for making us feel at home each and everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

I love this school, ever since I switched my daughter from Royal Palm Elementary and over to this school, she has been doing 100% better. Her teachers are very great.They work hard with her any time she needs help on class work. I love the principle because she doesn't play. The principle makes sure that every staff is on top and doing what they are supposed to be doing. I never have any issues to phone calls from the school about any behavior problems and they always call and update us on any information.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

Imagine Charter is a great school. They accommodate the needs of your child, rather it be an after school program or FCAT boot camp to prepare for testing. I want you to review the school today. you will love it.


Posted April 9, 2014

To me, Imagine is a very great school. The teachers that I was introduced to are nice and more importantly on task.Hopefully, more progress will be making.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

A caring loving environment that meets the needs of children. Since we moved to Florida from Michigan my children have attended school here and all the staff love and care for each student that attends school here. Mrs. Kelly is an amazing principal, she has an open door policy. She makes time for myself and my children anytime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

imagine at north lauderdale school is a wonderful school, the teachers and staff take the time to assist each students needs individually, therefor allowing that child for academic achievements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

this is a wonderfull school,all the teacher are great,respectfull,.i love it,my dauther teacher is so good
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

Imagine School at North Lauderdale has an awesome learning environment. My daughter actually enjoys going to school, not to have fun, but to learn. She was having challenges adjusting to a new teaching style because she was coming from a country where the teaching strategies were different, but the staff has been amazing at helping her with the transition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

My school is very clean and family friendly. I like the school very much. Everyone is nice and the teachers are really great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

This is my daughters first year at Imagine. I was very excited about them attending. The teachers work hard to ensure learning is taking place, but there is a lot going on with behavior and classroom management. Because of this, it makes it difficult for students to go above and beyond. Students do have access to computers, and reading is encouraged. There is an AWESOME After School program called Miss Manners which is an etiquette program. Mrs. Burgess, the School Administrative Assistant is one of the schools greatest assets. There is lots of potential at Imagine. Parent involvement is really needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

I like the fact the the school has extended hours school days, to accommodate parents working house. The after care is very affordable. they offer free nutritious breakfast for all children. students have computer access and improve their technology skills. The school have a lot of event for family involvement and students and parents to stay engaged. They offer a lot of enriching programs for students academic growth.The staff, principal and theirs are very friendly and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

Imagine at North Lauderdale is a very positive influence in my sons education. Teachers support has been overwhelming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

I love my school. I am learning so many things and having fun. I like learning and exploring on the computer. And I also made great friends
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

Imagine North Lauderdale is a great school to have your kids in. My son goes to the school and he loves it!! The reason I love the school as a parent is because of their attention to detail when it comes to teaching the students. The different activities the students do daily keeps them focused and excited about learning. I recommend this school to any child about to start school or already in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

Imagine North Lauderdale is the greatest. They work well with my kids especially with the one on one. Istation my kids say that is very helpful to them. Thank you for helping my kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
16%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
33%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
10%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
24%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
30%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

47 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "F".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 77%
Hispanic 18%
White 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 46%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 95%N/AN/A
Female 54%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 93%53%61%
Master's degree 7%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Hebrew
Chinese (Mandarin)
Creole
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Imagine Schools Academic Growth Award (2013)
  • Imagine Schools Academic Growth Award (2012)
  • Imagine Schools Shared Values Award (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Bilingual Teachers
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Other
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Creole
  • Hebrew
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish, Creole

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 4:00 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Erin Kelly
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (954) 974-5588

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Differientiated Instruction
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Bilingual Teachers
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Other
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Creole
  • Hebrew
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Title I Program
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Publix
  • Home Depot
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Character Club
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: Spanish, Creole
  • Gardening
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Student council/government
  • Technology club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
100
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
100

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Silver Lakes Middle School
Millennium Middle School
Imagine Broward
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1395 S. State Road 7
North Lauderdale, FL 33068
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 973-8900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Broadview Elementary School
North Lauderdale, FL


Soaring Eagles Academy
North Lauderdale, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT