Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gertrude K. Edleman/Sabal Palm Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 699 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 16, 2013

Gertrude K. Edleman/Sabal Palm Elementary School my daughter is on her first year and adores her teacher (Mrs.Etgar)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2012

Love the school and the teacher. My son loves to go to school every day, he made it to the Honor Roll. The staff is great and caring the put the kids best interest first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2011

I am a teacher and aparent I love this school staff. It has been a pleasure to work and allow my children to be taught in such a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2010

I think the school is great for the most part I love my son teacher(Ms. Estenos) and the school Ms. Jones is the principle she good..... but I think that they have neglected gifted programs and and other activities ;the school it's like all they care about is the FCAT... Yes it is very important but to cancel almost every activity for it.... I think is ridiculus....you do have other kids in school......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

Sabal Palm Elementary is a school that has a very receptive and involved Vice Principal (Mrs. Jones). She learns each child by name and is hands-on when it comes to the development of the children, the teachers and the reputation of the school. It is time for her to become the principal of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2009

Really bad school. They do not care about the kids. This school needs alot of work. In my opinion this is a D school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2006

Sabal Palm Elementary School is a great school. I was a student there since kindergarten, now I'm in sixth grade. The school is quite wonderful. If you send your child there, they will be taught well, and have fun at the same time, so I would recommend you to send your child to Sabal Palm Elementary.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 18, 2006

I think that GKE Sabal Palm is an excellent school. My 12 year old was there from Kg thru 5 grade and for those years, the school remained an A school. I am grateful for the teachers, Principal and Assistant principal (Ms Jones)for the time and effort that they to put into my child's education. I now have a 5 yr old student attending Sabal Palm. I recommed any parent to send their child to GKE Sabal Palm.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
44%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
33%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

143 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 75%
Hispanic 18%
Asian 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 35%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 94%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%58%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • DR. DOYLENE N TARVER
Fax number
  • (305) 654-7219

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17101 Northeast 7th Avenue
North Miami Beach, FL 33162
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 651-2411

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Greynolds Park Elementary School
North Miami Beach, FL


Primary Learning Center C
N Miami Beach, FL


Bethel Christian Learning Center
North Miami Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT