Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Family Catholic School

Private | PK-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in North Miami

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $85,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $940.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 11, 2013

this school is horrible. there are no extra curricular activities or no art or music classes cause u know why.. the principle removed it and the sisters. the principle wont even let my child's teacher have private tutouring. the secretery should be the principle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2012

this school is th WORST. the first grade teacher, mrs fernandes, regularly smokes cigarettes outside her room during school hours....during class! my son complains that she goes out there at least 5 times a day coming back in smelling like smoke. she told the children "not to tell or else they cant go on the field trip". where do they find these teachers! this is UNACCEPTABLE! who is watching them when she is out having her little smoke break! also, the kids NEVER have PE class. everytime ive seen the PE teacher he is in the library on a computer not doing anything but browsing the internet. This school is a joke! dont send your children here! the principal>.... dont get me started! she will not allow any sort of extracurricular or fun-time activities for the students. i understand that it is a catholic school, but come on! theyre kids! the archediosese needs to get rid of this school. if you live in the area and want a good quality haitian catholic school go to St James. They have QUALITY teachers and staff, unlike this joke of a school; BEWARE and stay away
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2011

The school has changed over the years and with a new staff and I am very pleased with Holy Family. The kids are well behaved and they are learning. Very well rounded school now, spiritually, education, discipline, and sports. Keep up the good work. Parents need to do a better job in supporting the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2009

There is a new principal and over 7 new teachers this 2009-2010 school year. They are commited to quality education, firm discipline and fairness all-round. See the difference soon.


Posted August 11, 2006

Over the years I have seen many changes at Holy Family, but my husband and I have sent all of our children to school there and are satisfied with the education they have received. Three of our children have already graduated from Holy Family and gone on to much success in high school and college. Our younger two are attending now and we are looking forward to a new year with our new principal and new teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2006

When I came to this school it started off great. I love this school but the teachers are very rude and very bad they have no respect for you or anybody else. I suggest you don't let you're kids stay in holy family its a bad school. The students UGH No comment. Please I inform you do not let you're kids go to this shcool.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 5, 2005

My son attended Holy Family for his kindergarten and first grade years. He never had homework in kindergarten and only spelling words for first grade. He was passes to the second grade when I found out he was on kindergarten reading level. I took him out of Holy Family. The public school he now attends has been working with him and now at the end of the second grade he is on beginner second grade reading level. They are giving him free tutoring whereas, Holy Family wanted $20 an hour. I did not have this kind of money so he was LEFT BEHIND. I wish I had never let my child attend this school. It was more about money than a child getting off to a good start.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Associations
  • FACCS
  • SACS/CASI
Fax number
  • (305) 947-1826

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14650 NE 12th Ave
North Miami, FL 33161
Phone: (305) 947-6535

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT