Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St James Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 380 students

 
 

Living in North Miami

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $59,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 6, 2012

This School is great! Sister Stephanie is a wonderful principal. Ms. Wheatley (Assistant Principal) is fantastic! The Pre K teachers are just great. Ms. Meg does a wonderful job with the students. My child has progressed this year so much this year, and he continues to make gains. My child has is an authentic zest for learning that I can accredit to Ms. Meg and her assistant Ms. Joanne. It shows that the staff genuinely cares for the students and their well-being. As is evident in the students love for the school. I am very thankful to God for this school and I pray that the Lord will continue to bless this school and allow them to be a lighthouse in a dark world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2012

My child has been at St. James for a couple of years and I'm pretty happy with his education. The school has pretty good teachers but like every other school it has it's gaps. One thing that I have observed is the principle does not seem to be professional at times. I observed her chewing a teacher out in an area full of students and other teachers. I found this to be very unprofessional especially coming from the principal. Something else that is starting to bother me as a parent is that the classrooms have dramatically increased, over 30 kids in a lot of the classrooms. It did not use to be this way
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2011

I loved Saint James, the rules, the disiplines and the education. My son was there and we moved out the town and still missing the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2010

I graduated from St. James in 1981 and I still remember the wonderful times and the life long lessons learned. After all of these years I am still in contact with more than 2/3 of my graduating class. That says a lot after more than 30 years. We all are still very close and we are a FAMILY. I value and treasure my relationships with my fellow Cougars and hold them dear to my heart.


Posted August 27, 2009

Our students are well discplined, respectful, and strive to have Christian behavior. The administration is very supportive of the teachers and the families of the school. We recently passed our re-accreditation with flying colors. I would highly recommend this school to someone seking a good solid Catholic education. Go St. James!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 4, 2009

i go to st. james and it is a fun but strict school but i love it
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 29, 2008

Two years ago my son attended this school for prek and kindergarden and He has learned a lot. He is the best student of the school that He is at now, because of the great experience that I had with him, I decided to register my 4 years old daughter. They have the best teachers and the best learning program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

it is a great school the best. there are so many different cultures.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

my daughter is in first grade, and she has learned a lot. if you are a faithful catholic, this the place for your child. they have daily prayers before class. every morning the principle announce of what is going on in the school. very affordable for a private setting. ratio 15:1. every classroom has a teacher and a teacher aide.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 96% 23%
Hispanic 4% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
White 0% 42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (305) 681-6435

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Miami
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

601 Northwest 131st Street
North Miami, FL 33168
Phone: (305) 681-3822

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Miami Union Academy Sda
North Miami, FL





The Challenger School
North Miami, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT