Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Miami Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1020 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 29, 2013

My name is Alberto Iber and I am the proud Principal of North Miami Middle School. Any concerns that you have, please address them to me. I love the community and the students and will work very hard to solve your problems. I invite you to visit anytime and find out about all of the wonderful things we are doing. My aim is to prepare all students to be productive members of our society.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 28, 2013

This school is just an average Miami Dade Public School. Administration does try to handle things appropriately but with the amount of children who attend the school its hard. I have called and left a message with the principal and my call was returned the same day. The communication between parents and teachers needs improvement. This school has a lot of potential they just need to find a way to occupy the children so they are not encouraged to make the wrong choices. The teachers seem to have a nonchalant attitude about things that would raise alarm in my book any day.( can't says that's all of them). I know this school can do better than it does. I hope to see them as one of the top schools one day. In order to do that we as parents need to teach and enforce our children's behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

North Miami Middle School is a very good school,they call you when your child is doing good or bad,they keep you in touch with what is going on all the time.So i would recommend anyone not to be afraid of sending your child to it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

This school is awful!!! Avoid sending your child here at all costs. Your child will not be safe and will have to endure exposure to violence and a poor education. I'm surprised it hasn't been shut down yet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2011

My daughter graduated there it was a terrible experience. The adminitration is too busy with the fights, they don't have time to meet the parents when necessary. I went to the school one day @ 7AM I did not get out of there until after 9 am. If a child is being repeatedly disruptive do something show the child there consequences for eveything. Not ten days suspention for every little thing. The child come late 5 min, 10 days. Come without uniform, 10 days. Ten days suspension is not the solution. Establish a better communication between parents and teachers that will make a big difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2011

My son spent his last year of high school at North miami and I have to say it was a terrible experience. Probably two months into the year he was attacked by gang members, supposedly one of the kids who were involved was suspended for ten days but my son told me he saw him in school the next day.Its a lovely school with state of the arts technology but it,unfortunately, is full of thugs.There's not enough staff to deal with all of the issues of that school. Everytime I would drop off my son I was very nervous..and another thing the counselors are never available , they don't return your calls..some of the teachers dress just like the students..like I said a whole lot of issues
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2010

i think it is an great school because if u dont pay attention to the fights and food fights you'll notice how half of the children really pay attention and i go to north miami now and if you teach and discipline your students they will learn and know not to follow along in that because some of the children act likek that either because they dont get all the attention they need or doesnt have a ok life so they struggle and the only way to let it out is by doing those things so i think you parents should really pay attention to your children.... dab


Posted May 22, 2009

I think North Miami Middle is a nice school for my child but it can be better if there are no more fights. Also if they do not have food fights in the cafeteria. I think these children need to also learn some manners for their teachers and principal and security guards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2009

as a former 8th grade student in north miami i believe that this should be an alternative school.this school has no education and doesnt teach me anything.ive seen kids get bullied so many times.ive also been a victim of being bullied.this school had way more discipline last year then this year.i think this school is just a bad environment which is why im leaving
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 14, 2009

I think that north miami middle school is a great school for my child and other students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

I beleive that NMMS is a very good school, me as a former student should know this. It maybe a little bumpy at times, but I'am still satisfied with the teachers, staff, and students. If I was to rate this school between ZERO and TEN it would be an ELEVEN.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 26, 2007

I think that North Miami Middle School needs alot of help, I think that most students are not there to learn, its more like for competition, not many parents are involved in anything that goes on there and the teachers dont have much control over the students. Its sad if you ask me, I am moving my son to another school. I was told they would have basketball after school for the kids and it never happened, I never heard much about art all year long although my son did have gym every day which I did like, even though he couldnt bring anything with him because while he would be participating someone else would be going through his backpack.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2004

the school is a dump! it shouldn't have received a C because it doesn't even have air conditioning most of the time! as a former student who had to suffer thru a lot of hot days, i know what i'm talking about.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

284 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
24%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

291 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
31%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

334 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

331 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
33%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

224 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

344 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
30%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

340 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
43%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

338 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

340 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
52%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 87%
Hispanic 12%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 31%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 95%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 71%58%61%
Master's degree 20%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%2%1%
Other degree 7%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 19%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. ALBERTO IBER
Fax number
  • (305) 891-4057

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

700 Northeast 137th Street
North Miami, FL 33161
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 891-5611

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT