Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Toledo Blade Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 749 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 23, 2013

Toledo Blade is an amazing school! The teachers and staff are very caring and helpful! My daughter is thriving and growing by the day there at TBE. She is in the SOAR program and making wonderful progress thanks to her teacher! All of the activities are great! Keep up the great work TBE!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2012

The teachers at Toledo Blade are very involved. They care for the students and encourage success daily. The teachers and staff are always friendly and welcome volunteers to help with special events. They encourage parent involvement and host many events such as Science night and Family movie night. Toledo Blade is a very good school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2012

This school has come a long ways. The teachers are great and the soar program is outstanding. They need improvement on coordinating their before and after school care and with their after school functions, but academically this school has it going on. Kudos!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2012

Truly a great experience at Toledo Blade elementary school. My son was in SOAR program at TBES and I am truly impressed with the level of education and commitment by the staff. Great parent involvement as well and Booster club rocks. I used to believe that private schools are the only way you can get great education, and we did place my son for initial 3 years in private school at a cost of 10K/year, Toledo Blade changed my belief upside down and truly educate now people about utilizing this great community resource provided by Sarasota county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2012

Toledo Blade is committed to excellence in education but most importantly fostering community and relationships. Relationships are the priority. The administration is excellent. The school is well maintained. The staff give their best daily to meet the diverse and complex needs of so many important young people and their families.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 6, 2011

Love this school! The principal is awesome & Mr Coppolla is awesome! Best school ever!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2010

My twins are now into their third year at TBES and I am extremely satisfied with the school. I haven't had any problems communicating with their teacher no matter what grade they were in. Yes, the homework does seem to be a time consuming issue at home but with a routine it works okay. I almost put my girls into Imagine school and SO glad I didn't! They were rated a C school the year they would've gone while TBES was rated an A! So glad we stuck with TBES...my kids are thriving and learning so many new things everyday. Great job, TBES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2010

Had my son there for kindergarden and didn't like it at all! staff very rude, teacher was very rude to my son when i was in class one time. couldn't believe it! and the way the school is set up is not safe. there are different buildings and all open so someone can just walk in to school area that don't belong there ,so i pull him out to imagine school where he has got a lot of extra help for 2 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2009

Toledo Blade Elementary School is a wonderful school. Parent teacher communication is very good and I am extremely satisfied with the education, attention and care that my child receives while in attendence. Toledo Blade is going through a transition this year with the opening of Atwater Elementary School. The student population is almost half what it was last year! The Staff is handling the transiton with grace and professionalism. I can't wait to see what happens over the next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2009

Two of my children attend TBES, we LOVE it. The teachers are very caring of the student's needs. The communication is great, mostly with their daily agenda's. I am a huge supporter of the school uniforms, which make my life and my girl's very stressfree. I do have one complaint and it is the amount of homework. Both my girls, 2nd grade and Kindergarten spend atleast 30 min each night doing homework, it is hard when working families, have a hard time finding QUALITY time with their children after a long day and need to sit and do more work.... The principal is so wonderful, the children love him. Keep up the good work TBES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

A total disappointment is how I can describe this school. Teachers do not communicate. It took numerous phone calls and then I actually sat in the front office waiting to speak to the principal (whom I was not able to speak to) until they were able to set up a meeting with my son's teacher. This was the final straw...I pulled both of my children out and they are now at a wonderful school Laurel Oaks Academy. If you want your children to excel beyond expectations make the switch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2008

I have two boys who have attended Toledo Blade. So I have been a part of the school for eight years. I have always been very happy. My children have excelled academically. However this year I had a problem with my son's teacher that was unable to be worked out. I unfortunately lost all faith in her. When I went to Mr. Renouf to talk about the problem I was told that he would absolutely not move my son to a different class and I had absolutely no business to even know anything about this situation because my child was not the one being bullied. Immediately following this discussion I moved my son to another school. Aren't we encouraged to report any unsafe practices? So why when we do are we then told it is not our business? I strongly recommend that all parents take an active role in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2008

My child is a second grade student and the one thing I do not like about this school the amount of homework. She spends way more then 30 minutes a night, 20 of which is just reading. Its just too much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

I think it is a wonderful school, the principal has a great communication with his really large school(by student count) The security is great and the teachers are wonderful communicators I am glad our girls attend, and so are they! Thank you Mr Renouf good 2007 school year.


Posted May 8, 2008

I am amazed at how well organized this school is, considering how many children attend. The advanced class is exceptional. I appreciate that the teachers recognize the fact that the kids in these classes learn quicker and therefor find busy work unneccesary. I have had issues with the transportation system in the past but they seem to have been resolved this year. The Principal is a great leader and has had a positive effect on the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2008

I am not happy with Toledo Blade Elementary at all. Miss xxxx raises her voice and is not in control of the classroom. I was told there are advanced classes available and have not seen the program in the two years I have asked repeatedly. The work the 1st graders are doing is really pre-school work. This school is way behind the times as well as overcrowded and do not even get me started on the parent pick up mess.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2008

This is our first year here. This school is very large and I thought that would be better with more organization and programs, but it is just the opposite. There is no Student Council. The music program is behind. My son is in an 'advanced' class but had more homework last year in a regular class. The PTO seems non-existent. When there are events, they combine multiple things at once or overlap. Fundraiser orders are not sent home with the children - parents have to make a special trip to pick it up. No class programs (Christmas, etc). It seems this school doen't offer much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

My child just started Kindergarden at Toledo Blade. The school is overcrowded, but extremely organized. I am very impressed with the Principle and the rest of the staff. I really like this school so far. There are staff members all over the place during arrival and dismissal time. There is also a policeman that lives in the school property. I feel my child is save there. I love my son's teacher. She communicates with me via email and, via what they call, 'the agenda book,' on a daily basis. The Principle seems to be doing a good job keeping the focus on education. The homework has been very appropriate for my child's age. The teacher communciates well with all parents and lets us know what is being covered in the classroom. Everyday, when I ask my son how his day was at school, he answers with a smile: 'Perfect!'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

They need a better system in the parent pick up program. They need a tighter system before someone goes missing...there are too many loose ends with parent pick up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2007

This is way overcrowded! Great faculty and staff, though.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

92 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 68%
Hispanic 17%
Black 8%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 48%41%61%
Master's degree 52%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. JENNIFER DOLCIOTTO
Fax number
  • (941) 426-9340

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1201 Geranium Avenue
North Port, FL 34288
Website: Click here
Phone: (941) 426-6100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Liberty Elementary School
Port Charlotte, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT