Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Glenallen Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 667 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 3, 2013

This school is horrible!!! It has to be one of the worst schools I have ever had dealings with. The teachers and staff do not take any accountability for their short comings and pass everything off to the parents. If I had known this school was this bad, I would have never bought a house in this school district. I am so glad my kids do not attend at this school anymore.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

Glenallan is a great school. My kids have been going there for a few years. The teachers are wonderful, the principal is great and the curriculum is top notch. This coming school year, the students will be attending school in their brand new building which provides bigger and better teaching areas as well as more sports activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2012

Hum The principal provides lip service. The vice principal is rude. The office staff follow thier lead. I find them arrogant, unhelpful and please do not send your disabled child to this school what a nightmare her it might ruin thier tests scores and thier time doing nothing. I am glad i pulled my son out before it ruined his life. Please do something the kids need you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2011

. All I can say is if you have the option to put your child into a different school in North Port I strongly suggest you do so. I really dislike this school. My child is in third grade and is given more homework than my 6th grader. In my opinion there is no reason a child should spend hours at school learning and doing work just to come home with 5 different assignments to complete literally everyday but Friday. I was told even if I follow their rules, sign in, and get my visitors sticker that I am not ALLOWED to pick my son up from class during dismissal. Which I think is insane, a parent has every right to retrive their child at anytime unless that parent has been proven to be a threat and I have never done anything even remotely close. The majority of the school admin acts as if they know what is best for your child even when you are trying to address an issue and then when it back fires they move slowly to resolve it. These are just a few of the things I've personaly found wrong with this school and I'll be glad when I no longer have to deal with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2010

Glenallen is a great school! Administration and staff are focused on helping children excel academically, socially and emotionally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2007

I am very pleased with the teachers and admin. They have been very helpful with my child's special needs. I would recomend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

I'm pleased with Glenallen. I've taught at the school for many years, and my own children have attended Glenallen. Our teachers and staff are caring, dedicated, and creative. Our new principal, Amy Baker, is a plus. She is a dedicated, supportive, and strong leader whom students and staff like and admire. Under her positive leadership, Glenallen will thrive. There are many extracurricular activities at Glenallen. Monday is reading night in the media. The holiday performance was incredible. Our spring fling in May was the best one yet. There was a lot of involvement by staff, students, and parents. Students put on an incredible talent show. It really brought the school community together. Our new cafeteria is beautiful. After the old cafeteria building is renovated, I think the community will be impressed with the new office and classrooms.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 20, 2007

I think that Glen Allen- has a lot of issues- when it comes to our child attending here. We have been very disappointed in the way we get a response from the staff here.The staff in the office aren't very helpful, and we have never seen the pricipal here. Our daughter cannot stand the school.Yet- she is an honor student here- and can't seem to feel comfortable, here. We will be moving shortly, though- so she won't have to attend 2nd grade here.Thank God!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2006

For this area, Glenallen is an average school. The teachers are so busy with problem students that academically this school struggles. However, there are some wonderful teachers here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2005

I am interested in finding out more information about this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2005

I am pleased with what Glenallen has done to help children reach their potential. Mrs Chapman's class ( 3rd grade) is an example of this. She is an extra special person and a great teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2005

North Port's oldest and wisest school! Great teacher/administration interaction, two music and art teachers, three computer labs and supportive Booster Club.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2005

Nice staff. Comfortable school. Loads of crazy kids, but down to earth. The principal is pretty good. Parent involvement is good. It's a good school. We moved into a neighboring district and our daughter left this school to be with the neighbor kids. It was a tough decision. As a parent, I was extremely comfortable with my child here. It's diverse enough, scholastic enough, just very well rounded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2005

solid school! not too fancy not too adrift from the modern world. just a good fit for an all american kid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2005

My children attend Glenallen, one in third grade and one in fifth. Overall I'm pleased with the school, the behavior specialist is outstanding. North Port has all good schools, I'm very impressed with Sarasota County Schools overall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2004

I think so far this school is good. The teachers are great with the students. I like how informed they keep you about your child and what they are doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2004

My son has been at this school since the kindergarten, fortunately for us we only have a few months till we move from this area. We have had nothing but problems with this school since my son started, we have had luck with staff that is no longer there, makes you wonder why they can't keep the same staff year after year and why they have to keep replacing the teachers every year? This year is no different than any other year though again we have problems, no accountability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2004

This school is a good one. I was a student here and feel I was given a great education that has helped me throughout life. Thanks staff of Glenallen. I was here when you were North Port Elementary, great to see you've grown with the city!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 14, 2004

This is my child's second year at Glenallen. I had the chance to send him to another school, but chose to keep him at Glenallen due to the excellence I have seen at the school. He is a gifted child and they have taken him and opened him up. Discipline I have seen first hand fits the crime and their staff treats you exceptonal. I feel as though my child is meeting his maximum potential and I feel he is safe when I send him to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2004

Glenallen Elementary School is lacking in too many areas to list. It is a good school until you need something. Teachers take no accountibility and never admit mistakes. We only have one more year left at this school and can't wait until its over. Try Toledo Blade if you can transport your child. I regret my choice to enroll my child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
53%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

90 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 60%
Hispanic 17%
Black 11%
Two or more races 8%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 142%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 211%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 44%41%61%
Master's degree 56%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. AMY ARCHER
Fax number
  • (941) 423-8131

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7050 Glenallen Boulevard
North Port, FL 34287
Website: Click here
Phone: (941) 426-9517

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Jordan Center for Learning
Port Charlotte, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT