Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lloyd Estates Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 590 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 29, 2013

Lloyd Estates Elementary is now a STEM Academy! Science is now a full time special on which students learn different aspects and experiments. I am a mother of 3 Pk, 3rd and 4th grader. Awesome teachers Ms. Michelle Stein, Ms. Anand, Ms. Weinhaus and Ms. Rivera.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2008

my child has learned alot there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2007

This is my first year with a child at Lloyd Estates. I cannot say enough wonderful things about the school. Each and every time I visit the school I am more impressed than the time before. Everyone goes out of the way to welcome us and invite us to the meetings, etc. This is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2007

This past 2 years at Lloyd Estates has been great. The teachers are wonderful and really care about the children. Mr Striggles is a wonderful 3rd grade teacher, and 4th grade Ms. Rivera as well. Mr Striggle's really helped my daughter settle into the new area and feel like she belonged. The teaching standards are great and push the children to excel in all areas of learning. This says a lot for teachers when children of a muti-lingual area don't get left behind due to the lack of english-language knowledge by some children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2007

This past year 2006-07 had been one of the most wonderful years in my son's life. He absolutely improved in all academic areas and got an outstanding FCAT scores. His teacher, Ms. Rivera, made a big impact in his life. She was always bringing the best of him and making sure we were always involved in his schoolwork. For that, we thank her! We are very pleased with having our kids at Lloyd Estates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

Overall lloyd estates is a great school. I have three children who attend there. And one of them is a child with special needs. I also worked last year as a aide. And was also very satisfied. I am also this year in our pto. We just need more parent involvement. We encourgage parents to become members be aware and participate in your childs school. All parents wecome! To all teachers great job! To mrs. Morris and mr. Peters you guys are super! mrs. Teruel
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2006

All I can say is thank you Miss Byrd. My son Jacob had difficulty in cretin area and She brought out the best in my child. I am now able to have a conversation w/ Jacob and he misses you a great deal. Lloyd Estates is a great school - the staff really cares and it made my school experience w/ my son a happy one. I know alot of parent have got involved - I was one of them. Thanks to all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2005

We took our children out. We are new to the area from TN, and our Kindergartener had a class that was too easy. My fourth grader was in a class that was too difficult. When we approached the 4th grade teacher to encourage more communication from her she acted like she didn't understand why parents would want to be involved. She assumed our son would remember all announcements and assignments and did not communicate with parents at all. It just wasn't the right environment for us. Now I home school my son and my daughter goes to a private school (Pride and Joy Young Christian Academy on Prospect--excellent!).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2003

I was reading the first comment that someone had about this school, I don t believe that you are taking about the same school. I had 2 children in this school last year and 3 in this year and I am very proud and very happy with this school when my daughter was having problems last year her teacher Mrs. Facarozzo did everything to help her and she is now a very good student and it is not just one teacher it is all. My son s teacher last year Mrs. Price did very well with my son. Even their second year now is wonderful. They care so much for the children the teachers from last year are still concerned with my children who are not in their class this year. I am very happy with all the staff at Lloyds Estates Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2003

I currently have two children in Lloyd Estates Elementary. This is the first year my children have attended this school. My oldest child has attended two schools previous to Lloyd Estates and I must say, never was I as disappointed in those previous schools as I am in Lloyd Estates. The lack of discipline astounds me and I am ashamed to see other children so out of control and the way a lot of the teachers handle it. I honestly do not feel that my children are being taught up to their potential. The lack of parental involvment in the school and in their children's education is shameful. My children will be removed from Lloyd Estates during the summer break and will attend a school next year that will better their education.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
36%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
42%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
39%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

55 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 50%
Black 43%
White 5%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 239%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 62%53%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 7%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. SHAWN ALLEN
Fax number
  • (754) 322-6840

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

750 Northwest 41st Street
Oakland Park, FL 33309
Phone: (754) 322-6800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Pride & Joy Learning Center
Fort Lauderdale, FL




Gulfstream Montessori School
Fort Lauderdale, FL


St. Clement Elementary School
Fort Lauderdale, FL


Somerset Village Academy
Wilton Manors, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT