Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 31 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


38 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Northeast High School 1

Posted September 25, 2013
- a student
This school is no longer what it seems. I've been to 4 different high schools in Pinellas county, and this is one of the worst. Some teachers are great and very nice, but as far as authority goes... there's none. Some teachers even try to embarrass students. Their lack of everything they're suppose to be doing is beginning to rub off on the kids. Northeast use to be an amazingly competitive school and now it's 0-4.. No motivation. Enough said.

Northeast High School 5

Posted August 26, 2011
- a student
Great honors, and AP program with friendly students and good teachers. My favorite high school so far.


Northeast High School 2

Posted June 09, 2010
- a parent
No longer the school it once was. Kids smoking defiantly right across from the main entrance, then more smoking, drinking, even having sex ON campus. Too many fights. Kids come and go as they please. Some teachers are truly GREAT, but the good ones are getting turned off and leaving. Administrators overwhelmed, especially with weak and absent leadership.

Northeast High School 0
no rating

Posted April 30, 2010
- a parent
Fights - drugs - students drinking in class - kids having subs for months - little supervision -students walk out of school whenever they want to. Time to get rid of the Principal and restructure this once A school.

Northeast High School 0
no rating

Posted February 28, 2010
- a parent
Northeast is no longer the school it was. They have accepted too many in the magnet programs, students who are not qualified. As a result, classes are overcrowded, teachers share rooms and there is now three lunches. The students in third lunch never have anything decent to eat. The halls overcrowded, there are fights everyday. Many good students have left or are planning to leave next year. The best teachers have all transferred, and ALL of the administrators have transferred because of lack of leadership.


Northeast High School 4

Posted January 01, 2009
- a parent
My son is graduating this year and I am glad he had the opportunity to attend NEHS. He has had a number of outstanding teachers who are gifted at what they do and outstanding, quality human beings. the school has done everything possible to focus on safety and we have never had a problem. These things along with the mix of students from all walks of life, experiences, and backgrounds make this school above average to excellent.

Northeast High School 4

Posted October 24, 2008
- a student
I love this school There isn't a lot of fight very few, Many different backgrounds attend, Teachers are great, Overall compared to most school I love attending here

Northeast High School 0
no rating

Posted October 22, 2008
- a parent
Northeast High has lost its glory; with the new administration the students no longer respect the faculty and each other. It is going down hill fast and I am thrilled this will be the last year for my child. Otherwise I would have to transfer her. Many of the long standing wonderful Faculty have left for better schools because of the new Principal and his staff he brought with him. Sadly; it was Fantastic school until this past year.


Northeast High School 0
no rating

Posted May 31, 2008
- a parent
the school has taken a new direction, emphasizing athletics and diversity instead of academic excellence. The discipline policy is not followed and students are out of class all the time. Hopefully the new AP will stress academics and discipline. 30 perecnt of the faculty has put in a transfer, so maybe administration will wake up and make positive changes intead of ones that casue a divided faculty and student body.

Northeast High School 0
no rating

Posted March 22, 2008
- a parent
I personally believe a school like this should go private. Besides being an amazing school with an excellent environment, it's a magnet school. A magnet school implies so much in a student's future. I've seen the way staff & teachers are involved in the students learning. I've also admired the strict way the are. I believe a school this good should get more out of it since being a public school is giving them poor money. They could become even better than what they already are. I wish the best for the years to come to Northeast Hurricanes.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Northeast High School
700 Northeast 56th Street, Oakland Park, FL  33334
(754) 322-1550
Last modified Northeast High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Northeast High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. Top