Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

991 students|Broward
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


James S. Rickards Middle School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted January 04, 2016
- a community member
They are given to much homework because they are doing nothing in the classroom. They learn very little in the course of a day. Horrible.

James S. Rickards Middle School 1

Posted January 04, 2016
- a community member
Horrible School. Do NOT send your children there. Administration horrible, maybe a couple of teachers that care, the rest don't teach and don't give a darn about your child's education. They send all the work home for parents to teach. Horrible Horrible School.


James S. Rickards Middle School 5

Posted August 07, 2015
- a student
This was an amazing experience for myself and my close friends. We will be starting High School with several High School credits already attained. The teachers and staff care deeply about the students. The diversity within the school taught us how to coexist in the real world. Like all schools, you can find like minded students. If you surround yourself with other college prep kids, you will absolutely soar here.

James S. Rickards Middle School 1

Posted May 21, 2014
- a parent
Avoid putting your child here if you can, its awful and the teachers & staff seem to care very little about the academic success of your child.

James S. Rickards Middle School 1

Posted March 30, 2012
- a community member
This school has the worst staff, especially the 8th grade teachers. Two different teachers were irresponsible and lost their work. One teacher did not acknowledge the fact that she did lose the work and it made my grade drop down an entire letter grade. The school cut an abundance of sports. Also the lunch is terrible. Do not try the macaroni and cheese because when you flip the tray over none of the mac and cheese will fall off. For the children hat reviewed below me, you cannot write a review if the only expierence you've had with the school was one day in an open house.


James S. Rickards Middle School 5

Posted February 03, 2012
- a community member
Rickards middle school is an awesome school it has no bullying i go to North Andrews Gardens Elementary and i went to open house it was great i loved it if your are in the 5th grade please go to Rickards middle

James S. Rickards Middle School 5

Posted February 01, 2012
- a community member
Hello! This year this is my last year at Floranada Elementary School! At Rickards Middle, i been to the open house with my aunt! She told more information about helping me catching up! At the school, i was impress what i saw at the school, the school is so clean also no bullying. They have good friends there. The principal gives us some things what they got there, they have clubs and more things that i always wanted! Please TAKE your child here! Its awesome!

James S. Rickards Middle School 5

Posted December 08, 2011
- a community member
rickards is amazing because we have free breakfast and free tutoring during lunch and you still have time to eat lunch. Plus our soccer team went undefeated.


James S. Rickards Middle School 5

Posted November 17, 2011
- a community member
This is an amazing school!!!! Don't go to Pine Crest or west minester come HERE!!!!!

James S. Rickards Middle School 5

Posted November 17, 2011
- a community member
I think that Rickards Middle School is the best school you could send your child to! This year they started the honors academy which is when you work online and you can go head and earn high school and college credits while your still in middle school! There is so much more I could say about Rickards middle school. If you are a parent send your child to Rickards middle school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

James S. Rickards Middle School
6000 Northeast 9th Avenue, Oakland Park, FL  33334
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. (754) 322-4400
Last modified James S. Rickards Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top