Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Maplewood Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 733 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 28, 2012

My Grandaughter has entered a contest DANNON Contest for a chance to win $30,000.00 for a playgraound makeover called RallyForRecess.com She is hoping that the teachers and student will also enter to win by purchasing Danimals Smoothies and enter codes from carton for a chance to win this contest for her school. She loves the school and her teachers and it shows, she is doing very well at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

Maplewood Elementary is a incrediably caring school. The staff will go above expectations for the children. They care first for the kids and will do all that is necessary to help them improve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

The staff goes beyaond what is normally expected of educators. They are my childrens second set of parents. I will always be greatful to them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

The school is definitely deeply involved in the quality education of children and puts the needs of the children first. Bravo!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2008

We absolutely love this school. Our involvement has been in the ESE classes since our son is on the autism spectrum. He really struggled at another area school last year, but Maplewood's specific curriculum has made a world of difference for him. He is talking to us now! We have only ever been thrilled with the staff and teachers who have worked with him. Bless you all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2008

I am not Impressed with this elementary school at all. I had just moved in from another school district and my child was placed there because of their special needs. Their special needs program is literally a joke to me. The administration is Immature and act as if they are running a military boot camp or something. My Child went there for a short time and I could see a regression in her education. I would not recommend this school to anyone! I am really disappointed that this is actually what is offered here in ocala as special education, seems more like a daycare w/ no curriculum...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2008

The Marion County School System is broken and always has been. Maplewood is no better. The prinicple that is there now, has no clue what is going on and treats that parents like children. He has been reported more than once with that type of mentality towards the parents. the school is definitely run politically and militaristic. If i wanted my child to be in the military i would have sent my child to military school. You can not trest these children in a military fashion. Some of the children that attend this school have not only physcially disabilities but also emotional disabilities. Alot of these new teachers can not handle these types of children and would perfer to write out referrels for not following directions (my son received 2) then to sit down and find out what the child does /does not understand.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2008

Great School, Great Teachers....only wish they had more programs for kids (etc. Christmas, Plays)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

I cannot possibly write what I want to in 150 words. To sum up: the Marion County School System has always been awful- this school is no better than any other- it is run very politically and militaristic. The administration is ridiculous, and parent input IS NOT appreciated. When trying to voice an opinion, parents are treated like 5 year olds - When trying to understand an issue, and asking polite questions, I was chastised for not seeing their point of view, was interrupted rudely, had my words twisted, until finally, I gave up;I felt like I was dealing with children! I will be looking back into the Virtual School and other options. I have a right to raise my children without the school having a say!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

The Staff are really terrific, my child's third grade teachers are AWESOME. But, to think of a teacher making a child write 200 times I WILL WRITE MY NAME ON MY PAPER' is a bit EXTREME to me. My Child always remembers to write his name, this was one incident that happened. She should have taken points off or something. Some teachers need to be a little more caring about little mistakes. Please remember that from time to time children will forget to put their names on their paper . Forgive them and they will respect you more as a teacher,if you don't ridicule them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

Maplewood not only offers a wonderful regular ed curriculum but a superb special education one as well. Their adaptive P.E. department offers a wide range of activities not offered in most public schools and the majority of the teachers are very well trained. This year they have several new faces the Principle and assistant are both new as well as many new teachers so I'm hoping it continues to be the nurturing place my daughter has thrived in for the past 3 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2005

Maplewood Elementary was a great experience for our children. The people were very friendly and welcoming to imput from parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2005

This is a wondeful school. My daughter went here in 1st, 2nd, and 3rd grades and all of her teachers were wonderful. They were all there to help if I had any concerns or questions. There are many wondeful programs available to all kids. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2005

I am very pleased with the quality of education my children are receiving from maplewood elementay school. The teachers are highly qualified and are doing a terrific job of educating my two childen whom are now in the 3rd and 4th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2005

I was very impressed with Maplewood at first. Now I see the downfalls. The principal knows very little about her school and the dean thinks she can make up the rules as she goes along. Large class sizes also and children get lost in the large classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2004

This is my son's first year at this school & already in 2 days I can tell it is going to be a great year! His teacher Mrs. Redding is going to work well with him. I am just so excited he has a great teacher to start off with & I know many more will follow. The atmosphere at this school seems to be positive and giving off good self esteem to the children. If I can tell this in 2 days that tells you this school is top notch!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
50%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

118 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 59%
Black 22%
Hispanic 11%
Two or more races 7%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 12%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 98%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 61%63%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. LAURA BURGESS
Fax number
  • (352) 671-6821

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4751 Southeast 24th Street
Ocala, FL 34471
Phone: (352) 671-6820

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT