Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Howard Middle School 4

Posted September 14, 2013
- a community member
Howard is generally a good school. I am in the magnet program, and it's really a great program. The non-magnet population is not bad. Altogh in just the first four weeks I have witnessed over three fights.

Howard Middle School 5

Posted February 19, 2010
- a community member
My wife and I are lifetime educators. Our grandson participates in the magnet program at HMS. While we live over a thousand miles away, our former daughter-in-law keeps us well informed of our grandson's progress. While in Florida after Christmas, we had an opportunity to review our grandson's learning material and observe his study habits. We were impressed with the responsibility he took for completing his assignments. We were given the opportunity to pick up our grandson after school one afternoon. We were impressed with the organization for safety and traffic control during the time students were being released for pick up. The supervisors were caring and careful to see that each child made it safely to the proper vehicle. From a distance we see teachers and parents sharing the responsibilty for a child's learning. This is something for which all parties can take pride. Thanks to all staff members!


Howard Middle School 0
no rating

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
HMS is the only middle school in Marion Cty. that has the AAIT program(Magnet) both of my kids attend and the teachers and staff are the BEST you can find for keeping smart kids motivated and happy to learn.

Howard Middle School 4

Posted June 18, 2009
- a parent
This was my son's first year in middle school. He is very enthusiastic about learning by nature, but even more inspired by his teachers. Joining the band has given him great confidence and now he is learning new instruments and looks forward to extracurricular activities.

Howard Middle School 5

Posted January 28, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Howard Middle School 5

Posted December 31, 2008
- a parent
My daughter is a 6th grader in the magnet program and loves it. The teachers seem to have high expectations and a great deal of enthusiasm for their subject. We are very happy here.

Howard Middle School 0
no rating

Posted July 16, 2008
- a parent
My daughter is in the Magnet program at HMS and she just loves it. The middle school teachers are well qualified and caring to teach in this superior quality school. You must have excellent grades to be accepted (no lower than a B) and must maintain them. HMS is a great school and prepares students for future academic success. Ms. Collins is an excellent principal from all perspectives.

Howard Middle School 0
no rating

Posted June 17, 2008
- a parent
At Howard it has been the worst 3 years of school for my child. There is no help from teachers here. I have gone to every parent teacher confrence(where some teachers don't even bother to show), every open house, all functions that my child was involved in. Still there is no help. my child went into middle school with b's and c's and came out with F's by the 8th grade. My younger child will not attend this school. I will transport her else where.


Howard Middle School 1

Posted March 16, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Howard Middle School 3

Posted October 17, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Howard Middle School
1655 Northwest 10th Street, Ocala, FL  34475
(352) 671-7225
Last modified Howard Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Howard Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top