Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ward-Highlands Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 757 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 15, 2013

I couldn't disagree more with the people that say it's all about the "A" rating/students! My daughter just finished 5th grade there and my son is starting 1st, they love the school and so do I! Every student matters there (my kids are the "B" to "C" "Average" students). They staff is great, teachers communicate well, field trips are educational, just an amazing school! Perhaps the half A*$ parents are the ones that have issues with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2013

I felt the need to say a few more words. I have had the pleasure of meeting my daughters art teacher Mrs. Allie Wright and she has been such a great art teacher ever. She is so full of energy at all times morning noon or afternoon. My daughter is always talking about how much fun Mrs. Wright is. It has come to the end of the year tomorrow being the last day and I have to say I never had my daughter talk about how much fun art class was and how she is sad that she wont have the same art teacher next year. Mr. Wright is just simply awsome and I thank her for keeping my daughter so interested in your class. Thanks for always having a smile on your face and bringing my daughter to the car at the car line almost everyday. Its refreshing to see such a pleasant face and attitude everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2012

Hello, im a past student from Ward-Highlands, and i must say that this is one of the best schools you can put your child in. I went there from kindergarten to 5th grade, and the school helped me so much with my knowledge of today. i still keep in touch with this school and my past teachers, and the new pricipal is one that actually cares what happens in this school. Im not saying its perfect, there is of course, a teacher or two that you may not agree with, but the is expected in every school. In 3rd grade i struggled greatly in math. and soon after my teacher left for the rest of the year because of family issues. i felt like i missed a year of learning but my old 2nd grade teacher helped me and in fourth grade i was an all A student. They actually care whats going on and you can make connections with them. The whole time while i was there i also did not hear a single curse word ever mentioned on the campus. If your child ever falls behind, just know that there are teachers in that school willing to help them up. i honestly think this is the best education choice for your children. Thank you for hearing my part.


Posted August 11, 2010

While the new principal (thank goodness) is making strides, I still find this school to be focused on the "model A grade student". If you're child is average, earning C's, B's and an A or two, they are not made to feel successful. There is such a focus on "A's" and perfection that it takes away from the personal gains that individual children make. I would like to see some improvement in this area, as well, with exception to 1 female PE teacher who is great, the others and cafeteria staff are horrible. I witnessed "screaming" at children by PE staff as children came into the cafeteria. The prison comment in another post has some familiarity to it. Lighten up and put some fun back into elementary education and since when is "average" something to feel bad about? Bill Gates was an "average" student!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2009

Ward Highlands is a child based school. They think about the children first. I would refer any child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2008

we have 2 kids in this school for the 2nd year. 1 has child has ADHD with a 504 plan and the other is being tested for gifted. I have never encountered such politics, rudness and indifference to the children as I have in this school from the principal, to the guidance counselors and certain teachers. The more you advocate for your children the more the administration dislikes you. Overall the admin. is very condesening to the parents, and the school is run like a prison not an elementary school. I am hoping to get my children into a charter school next year where the true concern is the children and not the 'A' or 'B' rating of the school!! It is very apparent that the rating is more important to this school than the children. We think this school stinks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2008

I have found this school to be the best ones my child has attended in Marion County. The principal and staff have always been so polite and helpful to me and my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2008

my child has been attending ward highland elem. for about two years now, i really like the fourth grade teachers. the principle, she gets on my nerve now and again. one minute she's nice and the next she's mean. she talk down to the parents sometimes and i don't like that. i hope one day she would realize how she put people down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2007

My son attended 2-5th grade here and now my daughter is on her 2nd year at Ward Highland. This school has to be the most family friendly school I know of. They have activites for the families all through out the year that they can attend in the evenings and the teachers are great! I know exactly what they are learning and how they are doing all the time. Thanks Ward Highland Staff for all that you do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2006

My child has attended Ward Highlands for the past two years. He has shown enormous improvement since he began attendance there. His teachers have been dedicated workers. I have been very impressed with the level of parent-teacher communication. Additionally, the pricnipal is not an esoteic figure. He can be seen moving around the campus, chatting with kids, teachers, and parents at various times during the day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2006

This is a good school. Teachers are very accessible and easy to talk to. There is no recess after lunch, but the students have gym 3 times a week outdoors (There is no gym). They are remodeling the entire campus one building at a time, so there is no playground at this time to allow for construction. Our experience has been a good one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2005

Exellent school. Out of all the schools my child attended this has been the best. their staff is understanding and very supportive and i loved the way they communicated with me about my childs progress
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2005

this is a great school. I love the after school activities, and that students have recess.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2004

this is a wonderful school. Parent involvement is at an all time high. I really belive this school had one of the best range of education I have seen thus far. My family moves about 1 time every Two Years. With all of our travel this rates #1 with our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2004

This school is really great all around. I have 3 kids in this school and they all are doing great. Plus I volunteer 3 days a week in each of their classes. And we also practice on weekends on their math and reading, so this school has helped me as a mother to bond with my children. And they too let me know that I'm a great mom and the school is not just a school they are part of my family. Thank You Wardhighlands Elem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2004

Ward Highlands is a wonderful school with many outstanding teachers and a great staff. My two children absolutely love this school, and can't wait to go to school everyday. The only drawback that I see is that our children are pushed hard for outstanding performance in FCAT scores and are not rewarded enough for the wonderful work that they do every year. It seems because lack of funds that some programs have been stopped while children that lack in an area are pulled from specials (art, music and P.E.), so that they can improve on test scores. I just don't see what the children gain by this except an 'A' rating for thier school. Which I guess is something for them to be proud of. After all if it weren't for our wonderful children and the outstanding teachers at WHE we wouldn't be the school that we are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2004

I feel this school is progressing well. There is alot of growth in many areas of education with students and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2004

Little effort is given to adjust kids starting in anything other than kindergarten. If you don't start at the beginning here you can easily find yourself with half of a year passed and still trying to get info that should've been given in registration and/or orientation. Teachers are excellent but bound and held back. Administrators are very questionable at best. You better come with wallet in hand because there will be a fundraiser approx every two weeks that will leave your child high and dry if not participating. Where is the money going? In the 3rd semester and still can't get a direct answer/proof of it. 'A' rated school but you will soon find out that it is just #'s on paper being manipulated through the system's numerous flaws. Care about your kids? Wait to move to Fla. after they graduate! (Yes, I am a Fl. native!) You will also find that any/all of the staff do not have the same set/standard of rules as the children. What ever happened to lead by example?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2004

We moved from a very good school and I had some mild concerns about how Ward Highlands would compare...was pleasantly surprised, as this school is just as blessed with parent involvement, and if anything, the staff may be even more 'on fire' about giving the students a shot at a great education. I'm glad my son is attending this 'A+' school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2004

We just recently moved here from Brandon, Florida and I was really uncertain about the Marion County School System as well as my child's adjustment to the new teachers and students. However, my son has done very well and I am very pleased with the care put forth from Ward Highlands Elementary, the teachers seem to be very concerned and energetic about my son's well being and education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

126 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

125 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
48%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

121 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

126 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
46%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

130 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 65%
Black 15%
Hispanic 12%
Two or more races 6%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 23%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 66%63%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 9%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MELISSA KINARD
Fax number
  • (352) 671-6813

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

537 Southeast 36th Avenue
Ocala, FL 34471
Phone: (352) 671-6810

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT