Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wyomina Park Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 654 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 6, 2013

Very anti-parent. I've had a teacher call my kid stupid here. The fourth and fifth grade teaching "teams" are a joke. It's simply a way to be more effective at bullying parents. If you value being involved with your child's education, do not ever bring your children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2012

I have a grandson who attends Wyomina Park Elementary and am very pleased with this school. Good caring teachers for our children. Wyomina Park Elementary ROCKS!


Posted August 16, 2011

The staff is very friendly. They have some great activities like muffins with mom around mother's day. AND If you have a EBC child... emotional/behavior child ... Mrs. Preston is the best!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

The kids get out at 2:05 I waited out front for my kids just like I always do. At 2:10 I started worring because my daughter hasn't shown up yet.I asked the staff where's my kid they look at me like I was nothing.no one knew what to do then they told me I had to call the police they where not responsable after the last bell rings.They treated me like I did something wrong and where very stuck up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2010

I moved here two years ago from another city here in the state of Florida. Me and my kids knew noone here and were nervous about starting a new school. I saw in 6 month a huge difference in my kids academic level their grades went up and the teachers really cared to give them that extra help to get them to grade level. My daughter was in 5th grade last year and I saw the teachers have tears in their eyes when their student said goodbye I know that they put their heart in soul into helping my daughter and others to do they're best. Me and my kids know walk down the hall and are stopped many times to say hi I am glad Me and my kids now have friends at Wyomina Park. Kelly
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

They are one of most highly thought of schools in Ocala. Their principal and many of the teachers have been there for several years. They are an A school in the state, in spite of being the primary school of the Salvation Army's homeless children the school consistently tests high. There is a good mix of children from all socioeconomic classes. The school is one of the most stable in Ocala. I live around the corner from the school, and it is a joy to see how many parents walk children to the school daily. it is straight from the fifties, clean and cute to boot. It is a pleasure to live in the neighborhood of such an institution of learning,where the children always seem happy and glad to be there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

My daughter has attended Wyomina for the past two years. I do agree with the former reviews that the office staff are at best stand-offish. I have tried for the past two years to be involved and have hit a brickwall every time I try. I know that their is little parent participation but those who would like to be involved should not be punished for the majority. While most of the teachers and the administration really do care about the students and the test scores are great, they do need to overhaul their website and their PTO. /
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2006

We moved from a county that the schools were exceptional. I have found Wyomina to be middle ground. Although my child has been fortunate to have had three very good teachers, I also find this school to be anti-parent so I am unable to say much more about its quality. I have found the office staff to be exceptionally rude from day one!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2006

I just moved to the area and my daughter attends Wyomina. I find the school to be anti-parents and the teachers to be standoffish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2006

I am an assistant here and my children attend also. I have been very happy as a parent. To comment on the FCAT problem, the state of Florida requires this, so blame Gov. Bush, not Wyomina! The teachers here are awesome, and the administration is an amazing team!My children have attended other schools in this district, and there is no comparison!
—Submitted by a staff


Posted April 8, 2006

Wyomina is a great place for students of all levels. The teachers are warm and expect the best from their students. Academics is our first priority. Each grade-level, including kindergarten also enjoys PE, Music and Art class. We have a beautiful library and computer lab.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 3, 2005

My daughter started Wyomina Park Kindergarten this year. She loves it and is being challenged academically. They even have an aide that comes in to help her sometimes so she won't get bored. The teacher has been great about addressing any questions or concerns I have (over a milk allergy and counting). The teachers seem to care about the kids. They have PE 3 days a week and art and music one day per week. The library is nice and the school makes an effort to work on manners and morals. it's not fancy, but it is safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

The school focused too much on the FCAT and hardly at all on science, history, and social studies. Did have a good art program. I didn't find the teachers accessible.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

114 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

114 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

72 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 41%
Black 36%
Hispanic 16%
Two or more races 7%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 130%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 25%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 70%63%61%
Master's degree 28%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. VALDA NIZNIK
Fax number
  • (352) 671-6372

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

511 Northeast 12th Avenue
Ocala, FL 34470
Phone: (352) 671-6370

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Eden of Ocala
Ocala, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT