Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

2,610 students|Marion
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
52 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 59 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


West Port High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are very effective and care how students feel and perform. Teachers make it personal for the students.

West Port High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
Students are given opportunities to demonstrate mastery and continue to work towards mastery if they don't master the content the first time.


West Port High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
West Port participates in the Kindness revolution promoting kindness and respect of all patrons of the school.

West Port High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
West Port High provides opportunities to discuss these topics for students in a safe environment.

West Port High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
West Port High school is extremely diverse. All students and staff are accepted and treated fairly. The staff and teachers lead by example and students also lead by example treating others fairly.


West Port High School 5

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
The teachers at West Port are awesome and care a lot about their students. All students are given the opportunity to push themselves to do their best at all times.

West Port High School 2

Posted October 02, 2014
- a parent
This school is overcrowded and average at best. Every tear, after the first nine weeks, every student in the school has a schedule change because the fail to hire enough teachers over the summer. The Principal created this nightmare of a concept called Power Hour, where the students basically have an hour in the middle of the day to socialize. She is not open to any ideas that are not her own and is poor at decision making. The Assistant Principal for Curriculum is fabulous. She really listens, is solution driven, cares about students and is the workhorse of the school. Other than that, I can't wait till my son graduates from the chaotic circus of this school.

West Port High School 5

Posted September 05, 2014
- a parent
They offer so much... you need to take advantage of it though. They don't make you do it. Power Hour is a great idea. (again, if you take advantage of the time.) Go West Port Band!!! State is calling you. 2014 Marching Band is great, this year.


West Port High School 5

Posted September 05, 2014
- a community member
Amazing school with teachers who really want you to succeed and our principal is nominated for the best principal in the nation, she is a top 3 finalist as of now, West Port High School is a model school for the country as many principales from around the nation have toured the school to see how Mrs. Ellspermen runs her school of at least 2700 kids

West Port High School 5

Posted July 23, 2014
- a community member
I attend West Port and in this coming school year I will be a sophomore. This school is just absolutely amazing and I wouldn't go to any other high school. When I was a freshman, I very much enjoyed Power Hour because I could go to my teachers for help or finish up an assignment. This school is one of the best and I suggest if you send your children there then you won't regret it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Port High School
3733 SW 80th Ave, Ocala, FL  34481
(352) 291-4000
Last modified West Port High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
West Port High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 59 reviews. Top