Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hope Charter School

Charter | K-8 | 415 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 8, 2013

This is my daughter's third year at Hope Charter School. She continues to learn at an accelerated pace, which is enthusiastically supported by her teachers. I love the emphasis on kindness and being good citizens as well. We are very happy here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2013

My kids have been at Hope Charter for 10 years now. The staff is wonderful, the leadership is great!! I have a student that struggles and they have gone above and beyond to help her be successful. I highly recommend this school to anyone interested in a charter school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2012

This has been a wonderful school. The staff and support staff care about each child and meeting the needs of the individual student. It is a school of choice. Your child will get a well rounded, solid education at this school. I could not image my children going any where but Hope :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2012

Hope Charter has been a huge dissapiontment. This is my son's first year at hope. He's been an "A" student from 1st grade and has not seen a "B" yet. At public school he was given a range of education in Arts, Music, Social Studies, computer time, power piont, Science and History, even PE. Hope focuses on English and Math and misses the boat on everything else. The school is fixated on the FCAT scores and educating the children on what will result in the best test scores and give the school It's rating. Teachers are not good about communicating with the parents. We've heard this from dozens of parents. The Caffateria "which was a laugh to begin with" was shut down and It has not yet reopened and kids have been bringing lunches to school for several months. The lunches need to meet "Strict" standards or the children are not allowed to eat what they brought to school. Why getting hot lunches available to the students has not been a priority is a Mystery? The campus is small and the newly built Legacy high school is very nice. but the younger students do not get to share the huge Gymnasium. No sports, no music, no computers and no fun. Things need to improve, but my son is safe here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2011

I have two children that attend this school. They have had a great experience, love going to school and are challenged. I love that they allow students to study a grade above in math. I wish this was allowed in reading as well. I must say that I really don't think they are great about communicating with parents outside of the monthly meetings. I love the small family feel, parent involvement, staff"s mannerism and the education they are receiving. They are having too much teacher turn over though and the extra curricular here is a joke. They provide boy's basketball but none for the girls. My girls would stay if the extra curricular was better.They are interested in sports and drama so I must keep looking for the perfect fit. Also, they are not big on teaching the students computer technology at this school. Your child will get a solid education and be prepared for high school. This is a great school with caring teachers,administration and good curriculum. I especially love Mr. Cole ( he does everything). Go HOPE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2011

#1 Great school!! My sons love it . Excellent staff,caring and available all the time.The teacher expect greatness out of each student , they go out of there way to make every student comfortable and safe in and out of the classroom, If you have problems they will meet with you right away, and seek out a salution.My two older boys have ADD & ADHD and keep there teachers on there toes, but are always patient and kind in working with them! I love this school and could not imagine my boys at any other school!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2011

This school has a long waiting list to get in for a reason. It is a wonderful place for most children. I believe the negative comments come from bitter parents who either have troubled children that have learning difficulties or they are not willing to follow the rules. This is a private school education in a public school. They teach above grade level to any student who is capable of keeping up and they do it well. Don't for one minute believe these kids are ever behind unless they have a learning disability (which is fine, it happens... just don't blame it on the teachers or the school.) These children are almost always above grade level academically. Wonderful, small school with amazing teachers. Love the attention to nutrition and brain power. Would not send my child anywhere else. Had mine not got in, I would have home schooled. Thankful for such an amazing environment that teaches character development, responsibility, humility, and empathy in addition to the curriculum. Thank you Hope Staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2011

I must concur with the review posted March 11, 2009. My experience with Hope is that the favoritism of faculty over other non faculty parents at this school goes beyond unethical and maybe even illegal. Colleagues interests are served before the students when in conflict and there is no process or forum to mitigate differences when they arise in a fair and unbiased manner. Use extreme caution if you ever feel compelled to speak out about violations of their own policies especially if it pits you against one of their own.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2011

My daughter just completed kindergarten at Hope Charter this year. She faced some challenges throughout this school year, with her behavior and diagnosis of ADHD. I must say, I LOVE THIS SCHOOL. Her teacher was amazing and really kept me up to date on everything during my daughter's transition onto medication. My daughter loved her class and her teachers and her school. She DAILY came home excited to tell me about her day, even when she didn't have a great day. I am amazed at all she has learned and am confident that Hope Charter has & will provide her with everything she needs academically for a successful future. The school has a total sense of family and they welcomed my entire family with open arms. We cannot wait for school to start again to see what next year may hold for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2010

My children both attended Hope Charter School. They were given a great foundation and have both excelled academically. My son has chosen to attend a 'regular' public school for part of middle school to prepare him for high school sports and has done very well. He was placed in all of the honors or advanced classes and continues to excel. Thank you Hope Charter for starting him off right!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2009

Hope Charter, a public school, has taught our child, now middle school age, since kindergarten. Standardized test scores are consistently 1 to 2 grade levels above grade. If I read reports correctly, Hope's 3rd grade, year before last, was highest scoring in Orange County on FCAT. Not too bad. I too have known children who switched to other 'public schools' and the result was immediately they were at the head of their new class or above...that gives a clue that Hope is well ahead of the curve in educating our child. Great environment also. Check it out....you may have to be on a waiting list though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2009

HOPE Charter is an excellent school when students, parents, and teachers work together. You can't just expect teachers to do all the work to educate our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2009

It's hard to believe that any school has truthfully earned 5 stars . This school is no exception. Our family was thrilled with the teachers for the first 3 years. However, our feelings changed when we noticed that children whose parents are a part of the faculty are favored. The monthly parent meeting are not meetings during which the parents can address concerns, but an opportunity for the director to lecture the parents and remind us that if we are not impressed with the school we can go elsewhere. While the school is state funded and everyone on staff receives a paycheck, the parents are treated as though the director and her staff are doing us a favor by allowing our children to attend the school. I am not impressed. Some of their best teachers have left leaving us very disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2009

Hope Charter School is a very loving school for children and has been an A School for 3 Years. We will continue our hard work and continue to be an A+ School.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 3, 2009

I thought this school might be a viable alternative to the public system and gave it a chance. I found that the teachers credentials were lacking and that compared to my oldest daughter's education that my son and daughter weren't learning as much or as fast as I expected. I kept them both in the school for a year and decided that the public school system was better at preparing my kids for a sound education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

Excellent education very good teacher and staff that school is a wonderful place to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2006

I think anyone who is planning on putting their child in this school should check out what happens when you put them back into the 'traditional' school. Students from this school when placed back in my classroom (a public school) were shocked when they were not on grade level. Be careful in your choice when in comes to your child's education!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 20, 2006

We have been very happy at this school since the year it opened. The teachers have been great. The parents at this school have always been eager to help in the classroom and also with P.T.A. programs. One such parent has organized and followed through with choir every year. Band programs and art programs are available with very reputable teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

Hope Charter School's staff gives each student individual attention and instills moral values. My son is at least 1 grade level above where he should be in both math and language arts. They do not hold any child back from advancement for the sake of the class. This is accomplished through small class sizes and one on one evaluations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2005

This is an excellent grade 'A' school of choice. Individual attention in a secure, loving atmosphere. Also, good nutrition and teaching with the brain in mind are hallmarks of this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

52 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

43 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 72%
Black 10%
Hispanic 10%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 52%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/AN/A
Female 48%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 96%66%61%
Master's degree 4%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1550 East Crown Point Road
Ocoee, FL 34761
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 656-4673

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT