Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ocoee High School

Public | 9-12 | 2353 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 7, 2014

The school have block days meaning your in class for 2 hrs and only get through 4 periods a day. And on top of that they give you mac laptop. At first it was cool but than the teachers stop teaching and you had to do everything on your own. Getting in trouble for the assignments you don't understand. And there's no retake on test or quizzes so if you fail you fail. Teachers should go back to regular teaching and seven periods a day routine in my opinion and we would progress even more till than we struggles as students to progress.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 24, 2013

I would like the school to improve by getting new stuff.Also I would like the school to improve by becoming an A school and making the school kind of be like college
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 22, 2011

I have had a satisfactory experience with Ocoee High School the last three years. However, this year my son is having some difficulty with his Pre-cal class. I have been tried to work with the system there. We have had him attend on campus tutoring, take retakes as suggested and hired outside tutoring. His grade is improving finally due to the outside tutoring. However, I am very disappointed with the intervention or the lack of from school staff, especially the new principal. My son's teacher is difficult to understand at times due to a foreign accent. I requested that my son be changed to another teacher. I was told by the principal that his experience was that this did not make a difference. How could understanding your teacher speaking a complex subject such as pre-cal not make a difference. I was also told by another staff member that there was a problem with students being placed in math classes outside of their abilities. I find this attitude to be very disappointing because I know with the right education most any child is capable of learning. I think this is a terrible way to explain away a problem and scapegoat the children there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2010

I currently attend OHS and am a senior. Every single year I have had teachers that have not cared whether their students graduate. The guidance counselors there don't help much. I was called to my counselors office to set up my senior schedule. She asked me what math class I wanted. Junior year I was in an algebra 2 honors class with a 103%. I asked to be put into pre calculus and was simply told "I don't believe you have the potential to succeed in that class." That isn't the first time that has happened. Before then I was in another algebra class and wanted to switch because my teacher always gossiped with her students and never taught. I was failing her class and was sent to the principle to sort out the issue. He then told me he didn't see me going anywhere in life. I was threatened to be sent out of my new algebra class if my grade didn't improve in two weeks. I have great grades, but I can honestly say the teachers aren't the reason. They are more babysitters than anything. If you want your child to be around the kind of school where there are many fights, drug users, horrible counseling and teachers, then this is the school for you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 31, 2009

We moved to keep our kids at Ocoee High (rezoning) and have never regretted it. We have two children, one graduated in the first class to attend Ocoee for 4 years, the other is a current student. The school format is innovative, not another like it in our area, and it works so well. The principal has high expectations but is also very understanding. Teachers are easy to communicate with & encouraging. There are plenty of extracurricular activities, many of which are multiple award winning. Very enjoyable for my kids. We are very pleased!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2009

Ocoee High School is a very unique school from chicken bowl thursday to the A and B days. The teachers are very cool and you can tell they enjoy working there. The arts, sports, and clubs there are great. I feel like I am lucky to be going to this school. GO KNIGHTS! O.K!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 12, 2009

This is really a great institution and I'm proud to be a part of it and their leadership skill is what that keep my attention the most.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 25, 2009

I used to be a student at OHS in the 2007-2008 school year, and I find this school to be a very good school. The teachers are great, although there was a teacher that needs to be fired, hah. The school I now attend is hardly comparable. OHS does have its up and downs, but that's high school for you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 5, 2009

Ocoee High Teachers & Staff are GREAT! The principle is the best, he updates the parents on all events, and activities. As your child gets older, they don't inform you on everything at school. This principle goes out of his way to give each parent an Automated phone call on EVERYTHING - Including test dates, Report cards, Incidents, & everything else happening, before it happens at school. The staff, teachers, counselors, & principle deserves to be patted on the back every day. Kudos to Ocoee High School! OHS # 1
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2009

I'm a freshmen at Ocoee, and to me your freshmen year is suppose to be your best year. But mines is not. I Hate Ocoee it is very boring. They don't have enough execting things for the kids to do.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 17, 2009

I dislike this school strongly... I never feel safe and they make it way to easy for us to the point that it handy caps us when it comes to collage.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 9, 2009

I used to go to ohs but i had to move to a new state.I miss ohs so much this school i go to doesnt compare.The teachers,activities,and pretty much everything is better at ohs.


Posted October 2, 2008

Overall Ocoee High School is a very good school. My son loves going there and has for he most part had very good teachers. The worst criticism I can give is when there is an Educational Planning Meeting Scheduled, all the teachers should make every effort possible to attend. My sons meeting last year was attended by only one teacher. I was very disappointed in this. However this year he seems far more satisfied with his teachers and I have seen that they are making every effort to be there for each student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2007

i really love attending this school, we have something not all schools do! we have great school spirit and amazing teachers
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2007

Ocoee isn't the best school, but we're working our way up there. We have great school spirit withen the students and the staff. Our programs, such as band and drama, are very strong and show how well rounded many of the students are. Our sports teams are getting better each year. I say for going into our third year, we're making a nice headway into the community.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2007

I have seen the efforts of the principal, counselors, teachers and other staff in assisting each student. I commend them for their service and dedication as well as each individual student. My son has improved greatly in the last 2 years and has been motivated to learn since attending Ocoee H.S. This year he will be a senior and I am proud to say that Ocoee High had a part in this. Thanks to all of you, Mrs. Marilyn C. Garcia
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

555 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
43%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

574 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
44%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

576 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

576 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

450 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
29%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

574 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

486 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 38% 23%
White 32% 42%
Hispanic 23% 29%
Asian 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 89%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%66%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. William Floyd
Fax number
  • (407) 905-3099

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1925 Ocoee Crown Point Pkwy
Ocoee, FL 34761
Phone: (407) 905-3000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Westside Tech
Winter Garden, FL


Family Christian School
Winter Garden, FL


Calvary Christian School
Winter Garden, FL


West Oaks Academy
Orlando, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT