Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Okeechobee High School

Public | 9-12 | 1243 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 24, 2013

A too-close community that leads to rumors being the dominate force in this school. Agriculture or Machinery? Oh right, we have ROTC and Sports. Band? Sure. Teachers with degrees in the field they're teaching? A few, I think.... Dress code is based off of the opinion of whatever specific administrator is feeling at that particular moment. The education itself is decent, but not worth the drama of the local community. If this school wasn't Okeechobee, then it would be better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2009

I love a country school with advantages not available in other places. Many of the faculty are residents of our county & know the students personally. This helps each child get individual care! We vote 100%--A+++


Posted November 20, 2008

awesome school!!! The best school ever!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 28, 2006

My child comes home every day so mad that she has to go to this dump! She never has any thing good to say about it. There are no classes she can take to better prepare her for her future. She is force to take classes that she does not want because there is nothing else to help her with what she needs. This school has lack of money and teachers that know what they are doing. Some of her teachers dont even have a degree in what they are teaching. I am very sorry that my daughter has to go to this school. Luckly she only has 1 more year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2006

Although there is a below-average availability of Advanced Placement courses, due to low demand from students and parents, I believe Okeechobee High School will adequately prepare students for college. Although AP classes are necessity for to compete academically with students from larger school districts at my highly-competitive university, I think that a student who opts not to take AP classes will certainly be prepared to attend an average state university. As for extra-curricular activities, OHS has a relatively-large number of national organizations (National Honor Society, Beta Club, etc). In addition, a wide-variety of sports are offered.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 20, 2005

I believe OHS is a wonderful and safe school. I do not have to worry about my daughter getting hurt, and I know that she is receiving a quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2003

This school is old but good! Keep it up! (We need better cars for drivers ed. We only have 2 Dodge Neons!)


Posted August 10, 2003

I feel that this school has alot of good qualities about it but they are limited to mostly agriculture. They programs they provide for that particular area are great, but there aren't enough programs provided for students who may not have an interest in that field. Most of the teachers here are great and I have found to be very reasonable and understanding. They really care about the education they are giving to there students. But I do feel like the principal, and vice principal aren't as aware as they feel they are in the engagements of there students. I feel that they need to take into consideration of their student thoughts and opinions about the school. They also have to come there , too. So it should be enjoyable both for the faculty and the student body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2003

The high school is an alright school. There are some problems with the dress codes and things like that. The band is not that great. The football team is really bad also. So the school is a great school for just learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2003

My children were in the third and fifth grade when we moved to Okeechobee. We were seeking a small-town rural environment, good schools that taught core values,with dedicated,caring principals and teachers to provide a disciplined safe environment. We have been very pleased with this rural public school system and the sense of 'community' found here. Our children are enrolled in Florida colleges and are well-prepared and successful(so far!)


Posted June 9, 2003

This school definitly has a lot to offer some young adult in such a small town!!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

422 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
43%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

450 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

411 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
17%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
28%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

274 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
35%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

386 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 54%
Hispanic 34%
Black 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2%
Two or more races 2%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 194%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 22%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 5%N/A2%
Graduation rate 69%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 71%79%61%
Master's degree 26%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%0%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 7%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2800 U.S. 441
Okeechobee, FL 34972
Website: Click here
Phone: (863) 462-5025

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT