Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 596 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 7, 2013

I do not know what kind of people are going on here rating this school well. The only thing this school has going for it is a nice principal. Other than that, where do I begin. The office staff are inattentive, incompetent, morons. At any given time, anyone could go in this school and get your child, considering there is hardly ever anyone doing there job in the front of the office, so just waltz right in. Secondly, My child in third grade last year was threatened to be shot, and nothing!! I mean nothing was done to this child, much less any precautionary measures to keep my child safe. The teachers refuse to take any sick day notes, doctor or otherwise from my kids to send to the office, to which I then get threatening letters about unexcused absences. OH, and lord help you if your child is special needs or has ADD or ADHD because they will threaten to right off the bat two weeks into school fail your child if you refuse to medicate them. This is the worst school I have ever seen. I have had two teachers that have intimidated my child due to having ADD and complaining was all I heard when my child falls behind because of his disability. Mrs. Anne Hacket, and Mrs. Murray = Horrid
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2012

This is one of the best schools I've ever seen!! The staff works together and is a close family. My children are excited to learn!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 28, 2011

My grandson has had three wonderful teachers at this school, the principal is a lovely caring lady , and my grandson LOVES school.. What else can ask for. He has learned so much!


Posted September 24, 2005

I think that they have a few issues related to parent communication. I have no idea what is going on half the time. If I wasn't diligent I would really not know anything. My child is an excellent student but I still need feedback.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2004

This is a wonderful school. The teachers are great and my children received an excellent education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2004

Both of my children attended this school. Overall I have been pleased with the instruction they have received. I would not rate them above any other elementary in the district, however. The school is overcrowded as people seem to think this school is the 'best' is the county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2004

Our child is 10 and is already talking about 'when I go to college'. I like to think that North Elementary is providing the foundation for her future not just in Okeechobee but outside of Okeechobee as well. I do believe that well rounded citizens begin as well rounded children who have a variety of experiences to learn that their little corner of the world is but part of the big picture and that there are unlimited opportunities waiting to be acted upon
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2003

I have a first grader at north elementary, and after kindergarten at an expensive private school, I had questions about what it would be like for us at a public school. I only wish we would've chosen north elementary from the beginning of my child's school career, because we couldn't be happier.I have found the entire staff to be open and very involved with the children as well as the parents. We parents have many opportunities to be involved, and it is obvious to my son and me that he is cared for as a unique individual.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
48%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
43%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

88 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 51%
Hispanic 42%
Black 5%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 164%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 230%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 87%79%61%
Master's degree 13%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. PAT MCCOY
Fax number
  • (863) 462-5107

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3000 Northwest 10th Terrace
Okeechobee, FL 34972
Website: Click here
Phone: (863) 462-5100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT