Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

South Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 460 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 20, 2012

My child has attended South for one year and began her second year today. We adore the staff and faculty. Mr. Radebaugh, the principal, gives an energetic upbeat feel to the campus. South's main office and tasks are well organized and the campus is always clean and maintained. The teachers we've had the opportunity to know are so positive and encouraging. When I'm volunteering at South, I'm impressed with the many employees who make it a point to say thank you and hello, remembering my name and my child's. The reason I regretfully give this school 4 stars is because they do NOT have an art program. My child was in kindergarten last year and never brought home a painting, but did bring home a couple paper plate crafts. I really hope they will implement an art class. Students repeat a "specials" class each week, due to there only being 4 "specials".... South, please make a 5th special for the week and let it be ART! Art can teach children that in complex forms of problem solving, purposes are seldom fixed, but change with circumstance and opportunity. Artistic learning requires the ability and a willingness to surrender to the unanticipated possibilities of their work as it unfolds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2008

my son is in second grade at south, the staff here is as good as it gets. I rate south with 5 stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2007

My son just finished up at south, he's now heading to middle school. He finished out the year with a final report card of 4 A's and one B. He finished at the top of his class in the FCAT scores for this past year. It's hand's down the best elementary in okeechobee. It's not just up to the teacher's to help your child learn, you have to take the time with your children, to help them where they struggle, to encourage them when it's tough. There are some thing's I didn't agree with at the school, but overall I'm proud that my kid was an Eagle!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2005

My daughter was a student at South and I was extremly happy with it. There music program is outstanding- the student/teacher ratio is good. Parents seem to be very involved in pto. I was very happy with the education she received there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

I find this school to be execellent in most areas. I fell the administration really care about the students. The teachers have all been great with the kids and there is always a positive atmosphere in the classrooms. I am a sub and after being at other schools in the area, find this to be the best school in the county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2004

Overall, this school is making A ratings per state guidlines. In my personal experience, I find the teachers to lack skills when communicating with parents. I say this from my own experience and observing the experience of other parents. Teachers seem to carry with them an air of superiority which put me quite off guard. I was raised in Okeechobee and my children have attended other public schools out of state. I thought the adjustment would be easy for them when we moved back to Okeechobee. I remembered the friendliness of the various schools I attended here and thought the same of Okeechobee, in general. Well, I haven't found that same friendliness at South. I have been patient but intend to pull my child out of this school next year. Additionally~ my experience with the principal: Ms. Lundy was negative. She initially gave a better impression but time has shown otheerwise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2004

My children will be attending South Elementary for the first time in the Fall of 2004. From what I have researched on this school, it is the best in this area. And I am very much looking forward to the new school year to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2003

Even though we are not through our 1st 9 weeks of school, I am very proud of the school that my daughter attends. It is very hard to send a child off for the first time to kindergarten, South Elementary staff made it easier for our family. I also have a 2 yr. old that will attend this 'A' school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

67 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 53%
Hispanic 35%
Black 8%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 154%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 222%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 84%79%61%
Master's degree 16%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. MIKE RADEBAUGH
Fax number
  • (863) 462-5094

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2468 Southwest 7th Avenue
Okeechobee, FL 34974
Website: Click here
Phone: (863) 462-5087

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT