Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Monsignor Edward Pace High School

Private | 9-12 | 955 students

 
 

Living in Opa-locka

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $48,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 4, 2014

As a former student (Class of 1979) and the parent of 2 students that graduated in 2000 and 2003 as well as a current junior, I can honestly say that I would recommend this school to ANY parent looking for a stimulating, challenging education guided by Catholic Values. The teachers and administration are committed to making sure that the Catholic Faith is an intricate part of the daily curriculum all while challenging the children academically and socially. Respect for family, church and authority are an underlying them throughout the year and making sure that your children graduate and go on to a college education is highly encouraged. This school promotes Christian values and my two graduate children have gone on to successful careers - one as an attorney and the other a graphic designer. The lifelong friends that I and my children have made there are just the icing on the cake!! I totally recommend this school to any parent or student looking for a wonderful high school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2014

I am currently a Junior attending Pace, and I can honestly say that this is a fantastic school. For once, I actually look forward to coming to school. The school offers a wide array of AP classes, and their honors program (Spartan Sword and Shield) is fantastic at pushing the most advanced students into getting a top of the line education so that they will be prepared for college. The school also offers many opportunities to get involved through clubs like Student Government and Leadership, but at the same time, doesn't force you to become involved, although the experience is much better when you are. I would strongly recommend Pace to anybody, especially somebody who wants to be involved and receive a great education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 17, 2013

I attended this school 10 years ago, and I could not have asked for a better foundation and environment for some of the most formative years of my life. I graduated from Pace with 36 college credits, cutting out at least a year of my BA. While I chose to attend a public university in Florida, I was accepted to several prestigious universities in the northeast. I felt MORE THAN adequately prepared for college, and was able to complete my bachelors degree in 3 years. Aside from preparing me academically, while I was at Pace, I was excited to go to school. Learning is important, but high school shapes a large part of you, and being able to grow spiritually, socially, and culturally is of enormous importance when choosing a high school. I made connections in high school that have served me well throughout my career and life. By placing the focus on not just one area, Pace produces well-rounded individuals who are able to succeed in society, and who stand apart from others in the pack. In the last ten years, Pace has grown by leaps and bounds and continues to improve daily. I would highly recommend this school for anyone who wants a safe, enjoyable, enthusiastic, quality education.


Posted January 18, 2013

I am a former student who graduated eight years ago. Although I was in AP and honors classes through my four year at Pace, there was a lot I wish was different about the school. A top quality Catholic education and environment was not of importance to the school. Many, many of the teachers were not practicing Catholics. Participating in Masses were only left to an elite few. The leadership at the school was really embarrassing and it is sad that it remains the same as when I graduated. There was little respect for students from administration and the faculty, but I wouldn't blame it all on them...there were many disrespectful students who would make anyone lose faith in a structured and civil learning environment. One of the saddest things I can remember is that teachers had friendships with students outside of the school's walls. It's really not a quality school where I would want my child to receive an education from. I pray that parents take the time to learn about the culture, leadership, faith of the schools they are considering for their child and make prayerful decision because high school years are very important in shaping your child.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 13, 2013

I graduated from pace in 3 years ago. I'm glad I went here because I had a great time. That said, this school is not somewhere I'd recommend sending your child if you're looking for an academically challenging environment. Pace only offered a handful of AP classes. The students often slacked off in class and a few of the teachers were just sports coaches. It's strength is in its spanish classes and extracurriculars, like drama club and sports teams.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2012

My husband and i have two kids that graduated from Pace. As two people with a great focus in our lives on both education and catholic background I know even know that the school was the right choice for them. to this day they still talk about there wonderful experience. For two socially different children both academically challenged in spite of being both in AP level course I know they got their money's worth. In addition to being taught how to be socially aware and alma mater strong. Have 2 more in the wings but at least 8 years till they get there. Every school has some bad apples, but quite frankly i only know of 3 here. Luckily my kids worked around them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2012

Pace is Amazing. I will never return to MAST after being transferred to Pace. Overall, Pace provides a great educational system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2012

I absolutely love Pace. I had attempted to attend both the MAST ACADEMY in hialeah and the one in key biscayne. To be honest, they are both extremely horrible. The educational system is absolute garbage. I love Pace, and I am looking forward for the future.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 25, 2011

Since the open house for this school is coming soon, I feel responsible as a parent to prevent other parents from making the same mistake my husband and I made when we enrolled our child at Monsignor Edward Pace High School. The school is poor academically. Most of the teachers lack the knowledge and skills to create a challenging and encouraging environment with few exceptions such as Mrs. Celia Cabrera, a wonderful, caring and dedicated Spanish teacher who does an excellent job. Student s stimulation is based on personal favoritism instead of fairly evaluation of effort. Mathematics is the worst department where most of the teachers not only need improvement in the subject but also commitment to their jobs. The Worst Teacher Award would definitely go to Ms. Rosa Pou.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2011

In retrospect, Pace was a good experience. Socially, the school offers an encouraging environment. Everyone is included and encouraged to be involved. I cannot, however, give this school 5 stars. While I had some OUTSTANDING teachers at Pace, there were also some "lemons." Overall, the attention to education in the classroom does not measure up to the standards of the social family environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 4, 2010

I am currently a junior at Pace graduating in 2012 and I can honestly say I couldn't have picked a better high school to attend. Between the friends I've made, the teachers I've encountered and the outstanding grades I've been able to achieve, I just absolutely love this school. I HIGHLY recommend sending your child here it's a very family oriented catholic high school that will ensure your child to have made the right decision in going there. I will definitely be sending my children here in the future.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2009

It is an amazing, family oriented, Catholic School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Caring loving enriching environment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2009

This is outstanding my son is in 11 grade and we are very happy that wewere able to sent him to this school also we can't wait still are other son that is in five grade to be able to go to this school It's outstanding and wonderful school. Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2008

I'm currently a student of Msgr Pace High, and am graduating this coming year as a part of the class of 2009. Honestly I could'nt be any happier or prouder of being a pace student. From the moment I stepped foot at Pace as a student, I felt as if I were part of a big family. The faculty and staff care about your safety and well being and do as much as they can to help you succeed. They always encourage you to do your best and to try your hardest. People say that sports and publicity are the school's main priority, when in fact its the student's education and advancement in life that is the school's main goal. The education is great, as are the teachers. Overall I love my school and I consider it to be one of the best high schools around regardless of what people say
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 20, 2008

I am a Pace student (class of 2010) currently entering my junior year. This prestigious school seems to have a down to earth environment with teachers who inform us about the subjects at hand. For those who are interested in academics, the counselors and teachers are extremely helpful and always encourage the best out of the students. I believe if you are unhappy with a teacher s method of teaching, you should learn on your own. The tools are given to you (notebook and textbook). Other teachers are always willing to give a little help as well. For those who are interested in sports, we have an outstanding sports program. The cafeteria has good food. The students have a great selection of healthy food (salads, wraps, subs) as well as some not so healthy food (pizza, hamburgers). Though many activities have been restricted lately, our pep rallies will always remain the best! My only complaint is that I wish they would repaint or remodel the school (it is +50 years old). I truly am satisfied with this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 20, 2008

I am a student writing from actual experience walking in the halls. We are not only a school, but a community, a family of students gathered together to learn. I graduate in 2010, and I came to school in my freshamn year. I have never before felt part of a school as I do here. All my fellow students, are warm and are welcoming. Every school has its ups and downs. If you are there to learn, you will learn. I had plenty of teachers that taught there lessons and at the end of the day I had homework. Parents don't believe the lies you here. We are interested in sports, of course, but we don't make it our number one priority. The teachers their are caring and encourgaing. Our councilers are there to give advice whenever we need it. The food is good and the enviroment is enjoyable.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 11, 2008

If I had to do it all over again, I would definitley NOT send my children to this school. The focus is not education but publicity and money. Sports are thier main concern. There are very few teachers that actually are good and care. My son had a hard time his first year of College due to not getting the education I thought I was paying for him. Extra credit is given in most classes for attending sports events or bringing in money for charity drives. Save your money and send your kids to other schools that actually teach. Oh the kids will tell you they love this school because to them it's a party school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2008

As a student attending pace high school, Im actually a transfer and I couldn't be happier...Since the day I entered this school I was more serious about school... Ofcoarse like every other school theres teachers that don't care and those that do ....as well as students that care and those that slack off...the school is overall great and I am enjoying my time there....and I recommend students to attend here....
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2007

My sons go to this school and its great! go ahead go to pace! a++++++
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 67% 29%
Black 25% 23%
White 5% 42%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • National Blue Ribbon School of Excellence
  • Catholic High School Honor Roll

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Ana Garcia
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • SACS/CASI
Fax number
  • (305) 521-0185

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Miami
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15600 Northwest 32nd Avenue
Opa-locka, FL 33054
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 624-8534

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Here's Help
Opa-locka, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT