Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Orange City, FL
Students enrolled: 100
Before care: No
After care: No
 
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Thank you all for your feedback.
May 25, 2012

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

13 reviews of this school


Sunshine State School of Leadership 1

Posted April 15, 2015
- a parent
This is not a school. I asked what curriculum the school uses, the director said "they don't use one, they use a variety of materials". They are not "teachers" No learning objective, plans etc. I moved my child there because she was being bullied at her other school. It was worse at this "school" by the director's children because she is a non hispanic. They said before we enrolled her she would be able to take the FCAT but they did not register her so she did not take it for that year which caused her a lot of problems in her new school. After several requests for her records to be forwarded to her new school, I found that her BASI tests were not her own. On the test it stated she took the tests in December but she was not even erolled until Feburary. The director gets special funding for this school because she is female and hispanic. Despite this horrible experience our daughter is now bully free, achieving academic excellence and even a member of the Beta club for academic excellence and leadership ( Real Leadership).

Sunshine State School of Leadership 5

Posted June 18, 2014
- a parent
This is the most dedicated group of teachers I have seen in a long time. I love that my kids are actually exited to go to school everyday. I have seen significant change in their behavior and they love it there.


Sunshine State School of Leadership 1

Posted April 05, 2013
- a community member
Three of the five star reviews were posted on the same day, the day students use classtime to make these reviews for extra credit. The other reviews are just the teachers and the principal trying to make there school look good. You learn nothing from this school even one of the five star reviews tells you that themself stating, "they dont fail kids because they dont believe that any kid deserves to fail at all." They give you assignments well below your grade level that's why nobody fails. All this school cares about is there money and status, and needs to be shut down.

Sunshine State School of Leadership 5

Posted October 04, 2012
- a teacher
First off I want to say that Sunshine State School of Leadership is about Leadership, and Empowering our students to be their own success story . We Model the Way, by showing our students how to be successful in all they do. We Inspire a Shared Vision our students can become anything they set their minds to, and they can achieve their goals by working hard on their school work, their character, and their leadership skills. We Challenge the students to challenge the process, , and most of all challenge themselves to believe they can accomplish all their goals. WE don t give up on our students. We help them along to forge ahead with strength in mind and self worth they can do all that is expected of them in their education and make their future goals possible. We Enable our students to become mentors to their peers. We are there for them every step of the way, and these student s of ours earn their grades. We Encourage the Heart of our students to believe in themselves and let them know they are not alone on this educational journey. We believe in our students and this is why they are not LEFT BEHIND! WE are moving forward, and so are our students! Mrs.K.Franzen

Sunshine State School of Leadership 5

Posted September 28, 2012
- a community member
This School is 100% better than public school . they dont throw things at you and rush you to turn it in they work at your pace and take there time with you so you know what your doing and understand. before you talk about anybody else check your self and your kids to make sure that you have things straight . i recommend this school more than public school. and they dont fail kids because they dont believe that any kid deserves to fail at all . they give kids scholarships because of course they want kids to have a good future and to be somebody . we might not have many things but the teachers go out of there way to make sure we have all the nesscary things for school and of course you wil have to pay for your book and other supplies cause this is a private school. i enjoy this school way more then public school they treat everybody with respect an equaly.


Sunshine State School of Leadership 5

Posted September 28, 2012
- a community member
Sunshine state school of Leadership is an excellent school. I would recommend all kids to come here. They help you and push you to do your absolute best. Before i came to this school i was doing bad because if i didnt understand something my public school teachers would hessitate to help me understand but in this school they would sit with me and help me as long as they need to. So now i am getting better grades and understanding all the work they ask me to do and even helping my fellow class mates. i appreciate this school and all the staff in this school. If it wasnt for them i either would be struggling in public school or a high school drop out. This school has helped many kids they help them finish school, go to college and find the leader in them they they probly would not have found if not for this school. They teach us to stand up for what we believe in and be diffrent go to college get our education and have a great career and a great life. This school is excellent and everything they do is for the well being of the students. If your trying to bring this school down its just because you know this school is above and better than any other school your children can go to.

Sunshine State School of Leadership 5

Posted September 28, 2012
- a community member
I am a student that attends Sunshine State School of Leadership and I think this school has and continues improving students academically, mentally, and emotionally. This is my first year attending Sunshine State and I'm already seeing a change in my self-esteem and I also have seen a BIG improvement in my grades. The work that I'm receiving is allowing me to be challenged and also allowing me to put my opinion and thought into the work I'm being given. The teachers here at Sunshine State are able to give more one on one time with the students which help the students have a better understanding of what they (students) are being taught. While I was attending public school the work that was given to me was just taught one day and then based on whatever I know plus whatever the teacher gave us, which means that we were on our own doing all the work with little help, now at Sunshine State the teachers give us work that will challenge the students as well as giving us more one on one attention to be able to understand more on what was given to us. I highly recommend this school to parents that want to see their children succeed, as well as see their students self-esteem improve.

Sunshine State School of Leadership
no rating

Posted May 25, 2012
- a school leader
Thank you all for your feedback.


Sunshine State School of Leadership 5

Posted October 07, 2011
- a parent
I THINK THIS IS A GREAT PROGRAM. WHETHER THE PROGRAM HAS THE EQUIPMENT OR CORRECT AMOUNT OF BOOKS, OR THE PROPER AMOUNT OF TEACHERS DOESNT MATTER THE POINT IS THAT THE PROGRAM IS A GREAT WAY TO ENCOURAGE YOUNG STUDENTS TO DO WHATS RIGHT AND GIVE THEM A SECOND CHANCE TO ACHIEVE THEIR GOALS IN LIFE. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK AND I WOULDNT PAY ANY ATTENTION TO NEGATIVE COMMENTS BECAUSE AS WE ALL KNOW THEY COME FROM NEGATIVE THOUGHTS!

Sunshine State School of Leadership 1

Posted March 30, 2011
- a community member
This school or might I say a family daycare. They don't even have school equipment or books necessary for the student to do their assignment. The state needs to look at this scam of a program. How can say that they offer special programs when they only have 3 teachers in the whole school. There is more that I can post but I will do that at another posting..

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sunshine State School of Leadership
2405 East Graves Avenue, Orange City, FL  32763
(386) 218-3906
Last modified Sunshine State School of Leadership is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Sunshine State School of Leadership Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top