Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Orange City Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 631 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 12, 2012

In the 5 years, I've been associated with this school, it has been on a downhill slide. Not sure what the problem is. Some of it is teachers, but not all. MOST of the teachers I've encountered were fine. The few that weren't shouldn't even be teaching, there or anywhere else. I do believe, though it is going to be a great year this year, because of the awesome person who has been made principal. I believe there will be a lot of changes for the better.


Posted September 5, 2011

the teachers do a wonderful job and all of my kids really like this school,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

I have been a teacher at Orange City Elementary School for 30 years.I have taught generations of families.I believe in the community, teachers,staff all who share in the education of the children...
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 14, 2009

I love this school!! I love the teachers that my girls have!! They are both awesome!! The Principal, although I haven't got a chance to meet...I see her all the time, and she always has a smile on her face!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

I have a child in this school and while I absoultely adore her teacher, the administration leaves a lot to be desired. As a special needs family we require special attention (child especially). This WAS given at her previous school and is not being given at this school. A simple attention paid to details and compassion would go a long way, however this is not done. What is the difference between the two schools? I will say the previous school was Osteen Elementary and I can say that OCES can learn quite a bit from OES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2007

I am a grandmother with boys in kindergarten and 4th grade. Both of the boys love school and don't want to miss a day. I am amazed every day with what they have learned. The teachers they have are caring, knowledgeable, have skilful teaching methods and a love for teaching. I would not think of removing the boys from this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2006

Our daughter is in third grade at OCES. Every year we have had great teachers. The teachers have been very open to the parent involvement. Teachers take time to answer any questions you have on a daily basis. We are having a great experience with OCES. There is one thing I do not agree on. In the past at award ceremonies, not all children are given recognition in doing the best that they can. I think that all children should be given some kind of award for their accomplishments. Mrs. Turner
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2006

Teachers are very caring. Low staff turn over. My son enjoyed every day of school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2006

Orange City Elementary School has an ideal learning environment and great community feeling. I love the teachers and staff. Its a great place to send your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2004

My daughter went to OC Elementary for kindergarten. She is a very intelligent little girl and I was worried that she wouldn't get the challenge she needs without a gifted program. Her teacher proved me wrong and my daughter has learned so much this year. I'm glad they take the time to work with special children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2004

If you have a child that can think for him or herself they don't belong here. This school and administration can't handle it. One administrator in particular is conniving, facetious and self-righteous. Home-schooling or even no schooling is a better option than this place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2004

Fantastic school. My daughter loves her teacher and loves to go to school. The only complaint is the serious lack of parking and lack of continuity of procedure for parking. But, if that's the only real complaint, they are doing something right!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
46%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
30%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
51%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

99 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 69%
Hispanic 16%
Black 8%
Two or more races 7%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 9%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 68%56%61%
Master's degree 30%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. CARRIE CRKVENAC
Fax number
  • (386) 775-5227

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

555 East University Avenue
Orange City, FL 32763
Website: Click here
Phone: (386) 775-5215

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Geneva Academy
DeLand, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT