Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

631 students|Volusia
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Orange City Elementary School 3

Posted August 19, 2013
- a parent
I AM CONCERNED ABOUT THE OVERALL RATING THE SCHOOL CONTINUES TO RECIEVE. WE SHOULD BE ABLE TO DO BETTER. EVERY TEACHER I HAVE MET SEEMS INVOLVED, THIS IS GREAT. BUT THEN YOU HAVE TO THINK THE PLAN IS WRONG.

Orange City Elementary School 2

Posted August 12, 2012
- a community member
In the 5 years, I've been associated with this school, it has been on a downhill slide. Not sure what the problem is. Some of it is teachers, but not all. MOST of the teachers I've encountered were fine. The few that weren't shouldn't even be teaching, there or anywhere else. I do believe, though it is going to be a great year this year, because of the awesome person who has been made principal. I believe there will be a lot of changes for the better.


Orange City Elementary School 5

Posted September 05, 2011
- a parent
the teachers do a wonderful job and all of my kids really like this school,

Orange City Elementary School 2

Posted April 19, 2010
- a teacher
I have been a teacher at Orange City Elementary School for 30 years.I have taught generations of families.I believe in the community, teachers,staff all who share in the education of the children...

Orange City Elementary School 5

Posted October 14, 2009
- a parent
I love this school!! I love the teachers that my girls have!! They are both awesome!! The Principal, although I haven't got a chance to meet...I see her all the time, and she always has a smile on her face!!


Orange City Elementary School 1

Posted January 15, 2009
- a parent
I have a child in this school and while I absoultely adore her teacher, the administration leaves a lot to be desired. As a special needs family we require special attention (child especially). This WAS given at her previous school and is not being given at this school. A simple attention paid to details and compassion would go a long way, however this is not done. What is the difference between the two schools? I will say the previous school was Osteen Elementary and I can say that OCES can learn quite a bit from OES.

Orange City Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2007
- a parent
I am a grandmother with boys in kindergarten and 4th grade. Both of the boys love school and don't want to miss a day. I am amazed every day with what they have learned. The teachers they have are caring, knowledgeable, have skilful teaching methods and a love for teaching. I would not think of removing the boys from this school!

Orange City Elementary School 5

Posted September 24, 2006
- a parent
Our daughter is in third grade at OCES. Every year we have had great teachers. The teachers have been very open to the parent involvement. Teachers take time to answer any questions you have on a daily basis. We are having a great experience with OCES. There is one thing I do not agree on. In the past at award ceremonies, not all children are given recognition in doing the best that they can. I think that all children should be given some kind of award for their accomplishments. Mrs. Turner


Orange City Elementary School 4

Posted May 10, 2006
- a parent
Teachers are very caring. Low staff turn over. My son enjoyed every day of school.

Orange City Elementary School 5

Posted February 25, 2006
- a parent
Orange City Elementary School has an ideal learning environment and great community feeling. I love the teachers and staff. Its a great place to send your child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Orange City Elementary School
555 East University Avenue, Orange City, FL  32763
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (386) 575-4215
Last modified Orange City Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top