Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Manatee Cove Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 736 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

45 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 9, 2013

I love this school. Last year I had two children attending this school for the first time. My oldest son in 3rd grade and middle son in Kindergarten. I am very pleased with the communication from the teachers and the encouragement both boys received. I now have all four of my children and my niece in this school and I could not ask for anything more. My only hope is that when I move out of state that I can find a comparable school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2011

School is fine for mainstream students but not so great for children with minor to moderate special needs or struggling students. No tutoring that I am aware of is offered until 3rd grade (you know for the all important F-Cats) until then your child will be left blowing in the wind feeling like a failure and beginning to hate school while your fighting for your child's educational rights. Contrary to other reviews parent involvement is not encouraged unless you consider being told over the P.A. System every day for 2+ years to leave campus encouragement. The silver lining is that there were some teachers that I dearly loved. (Gaskell, Rankin and Rodriguez)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

We moved here from Germany and we have never seen a school like this: wonderful and caring teachers and a great principal. Everybody cares so much for the needs of the children and our kids love to be there! For us parents it is wonderful to see the progress in the education and we are very proud to be part of the Manatee Cove Family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2010

Our Child enjoyed her time at this school..she was sad to leave. Mrs. Williams and Mrs. Fratus were wonderful to have for teachers and were very good at communicating trouble ares to us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Manatee Cove is a community of people working together to help every child succeed... teachers, parents, community volunteers, staff and administration.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 17, 2010

Great school! I just love the communication I have had with my son's teachers over the last 3 years since he's been there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

My son attends Manatee Cove Elementary and I love this school! The Principal is wonderful, she cares and takes the time when there is an issue. She is always available to the parent. I feel that my son is ina safe, loving and great academic environment. And last but certainly not least, Manatee Cove has the best Extended Day Enrichment Program. Ms. Duckworth and her wonderful staff, from Ms. Lynn, Mr. D and Ms. April always have safe activities and of course they help the kids with their homework. Go Manatee Cove Elementary!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

I love our principal, Mrs. Gonzalez. She is the best principal I have ever worked for. She works very hard to make sure our school is the best. We feel like a family because of her. The principal, assistant principal, students, and teachers at Manatee Cove Elementary are the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

Manatee Cove is a wonderful school that combines both high expectations for academics yet provides a nurturing atmosphere for the students to learn and develop in a positive way. The administrators of the school provide outstanding leadership to faculty and families.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 21, 2009

I am a parent and a teacher at Manatee Cove Elementary. All of the staff truly care about each other and every student. My son loves going to school, his teachers, and learning - his only complaint is that it is not open on the weekends!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

Manatee Cove....responds to students needs and adjusts curriculum and instruction accordingly, encourages parental involvement, supports teacher~student relationships, and fosters a love for learning for all students. We are truly one of the best schools around! WE ROCK!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

Manatee has administration that is respectful and visionary, staff that is motivated and positive, and families that acknowledge these qualities and therefore choose to remain involved! This spells success and learning for our whole community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

Friendly and very helpful teachers. A happy place to work.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 21, 2009

I love Manatee Cove! I work with the most caring and thoughtful faculty & staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

It's a great scool for my grandchildren. The teachers are wonderful and the staff is terrific.


Posted October 7, 2009

Best school around. Love the teachers. They rock!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

i love at manatee cove elementary is that is a real family and also they give you the oportunity to grow up, i am a parent and also staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

I am so impressed with Mantee Cove. The teachers are loving, the school is safe, and the principal really has her act together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

I am very happy with Manatee Cove, and my daughter loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

The teachers and staff are the most wonderful and generous people I have ever worked with!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

121 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

121 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

129 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

130 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

130 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

132 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 64%
Hispanic 22%
Black 6%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 6%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 67%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 74%56%61%
Master's degree 26%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ALICE GONZALEZ
Fax number
  • (386) 968-0017

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

734 West Ohio Avenue
Orange City, FL 32763
Website: Click here
Phone: (386) 775-5200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT