Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Plantation Oaks Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1000 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 14, 2014

If you a pulling kids out do not try Clay Virtual Academy it is even worse!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

Overall, not as top notch as would be assumed being in Clay County. This is my kids second year and last year was a disaster with third grade. Teachers were not caring or patient. This year, fourth grade is being run by temporary subs because principal didn't hire enough teachers. And my youngests kindergarten teacher runs class like its a miliary regime. Heartless, uncaring teachers and a lackluster INCOMPETENT principal make this school no better than duval schools. God forbid you call to talk to the principal, her typical response is "don't worry about it, that's not your concern" when asking about my childrens classes or teachers. We are in the process of pulling all three of ours out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

My two girls have been at this school for the last two years and all I can say is wonderful things about the teachers and faculty here. There are way more academic opportunities here than at our last school. They are both active in the Robotics Club, Math team, Gifted programs and student gov't.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2013

I agree this is a great, young school. The teachers and administrators are so friendly and helpful! They care about our kids and have been an A school since they opened (helps our real estate values). POE rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2013

This is a wonderful school, especially for such a young institution (3 yrs old). From the opening day, POE made a great impression on me and my son. My son loves school and loves to learn. A large part of his passion for learning is owed to the teachers and administration at POE. They create an atmosphere that allows the children to thrive. Thank you POE! Keep doing a great job!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2012

My daughter has attended this school for two years. She has had wonderful teachers for both K and 1st grade. Haven't had any experience with the principal to give a positive or negative review of her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2012

I love this school the teacher's and faculty at POE rock. If i'm still in clay county i will be making sure all my children there. Plus i love the fact that they are an A school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2012

Our oldest daughter transferred from a Duval county school to POE in the middle of Kindergarten. We knew she was struggling but once we started at POE it was quickly addresses and she has since excelled and will be in the third grade next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2012

I agree with the previous poster. This school places a LOT of emphasis on the FCAT--at this point, most are just "teaching the test." As a parent, that's incredibly frustrating. Most of the teachers really are wonderful, but their hands are tied. I would discuss this (& other things) with the principal, but as so many before me have stated, she's unapproachable to the point of being rude. There's a SERIOUS lack of communication between the school and the parents, & with the way this area is growing (more families, more school-age children), it isn't going to get any better unless something changes. New administration & more parent involvement (yes, a PTA would be wonderful) would do this school a world of good!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2012

My children have attended this school since it opened. Every one of their teachers has been amazing. I could not be more pleased with their level of caring and dedication. I do think that the principal could be more approachable. I feel that there is a LOT of emphasis from the administration on FCAT preparedness, and often, FUN seems to be frowned upon. I understand that we live in a world of standardized tests, but I think that organic learning often comes more easily in a fun and relaxed environment. Also, there is no PTA/PTO. There was one for the first year, and then nothing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2012

I am a parent of 3 boys who attend P.O.E... Overall I think its a good school not great. The front office staff can be a bit snippy. The teachers are okay. I think the school could be better with a nicer front office staff. I also think they need a better Awards Ceremony for A or AB students. Other schools in duval county get trophies for grades. My kids did not start to get even a certificate for grades until 2nd grade? Mrs. Seiple is the best teacher at P.O.E.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2011

I have friends whose children attend this school and I hear nothing but great reviews from them. I have gone with them to visit the school and I was very impressed with ALL of the staff. The teachers were kind and seemed to really care about the children, the principal and assistant principal greeted parents and children alike with smiles and genuine happiness, and the other staff appeared to be happy to help with anything necessary. I can't wait until my daughter is old enough for Kindergarten, she will definitely be attending here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2011

My kids have attended POE since day one. The teachers are incredible and get better each year. The administration (Principal and Assistant) are caring, involved, knowledgable and fun - all the kids I've been around love them and especially like their FCAT skits. The school encourages growth in the basics and supports the arts. I'm honestly shocked by any negative comments and wonder if it may be something isolated that caused them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2011

I also agree with the other statements about the principal. I have first hand experience with her brushing off parent concerns. The school would be much better with a new principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2011

I will have to agree with the other person. I have also had the same problems with the principle. On the first day of school their first year my children were supposed to be parent pickup. Only problem was my middle child got sent home on the bus... on the wrong bus at that. When I went through the line they sent me to park in the parking lot so they could find her. About 10 minutes went by and the principles secretary came out to tell me that the kids were in wrong school. Someone hadn't done their job and put the information into the computer that I had given them. I could go on and on about this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

176 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

175 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

162 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

163 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

162 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

156 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

155 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

156 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

140 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 50%
Black 25%
Hispanic 13%
Asian 6%
Two or more races 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 6%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 65%64%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4150 Plantation Oaks Boulevard
Orange Park, FL 32065
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 214-7474

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Oakleaf High School
Orange Park, FL





Argyle Elementary School
Orange Park, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT