Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
687 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
56 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 87 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Johns Country Day School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 20, 2016
- a community member
Teachers are always looking to go the extra mile for kids at St. Johns. They look for opportunities to help kids stretch and get better, and don't hesitate to make changes to better meet students' needs. e.g., if your kid is particularly advanced at math in 6th grade, they bump him up and put him in a 7th, 8th or 9th grade class-- whatever is needed! And it's no problem because those classes are just across the quad. Not like our former, public school where your kid just has to sit there and be bored.

St Johns Country Day School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 20, 2016
- a community member
They try to strike a balance, understanding that kids are participating in extracurricular activities and have a *life* outside of academics. There are also study hall periods 3x per week and students are encouraged to stay focused and get their work done then. Plus, the school library is open after school until 5:30 and kids can go get homework done then, too. Or if they have 30 minutes before a sports practice starts, they can hit the library, do homework, and get it done. They have a designated spot to work and be productive. It's great!


St Johns Country Day School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 20, 2016
- a community member
Students at St. Johns are encouraged to "do everything," and are provided the resources and support to succeed. Teachers and staff are very encouraging and supportive. This is the school you send your kids to when you want staff that treats your child like s/he is their own child.

St Johns Country Day School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 20, 2016
- a community member
Students at St. Johns are taught to be polite, caring individuals. Emphasis is put on simple things like holding the door open or saying "ma'am" and "sir" and demonstrated through steady access to a school counselor for lower school, middle school, and upper school students.

St Johns Country Day School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 20, 2016
- a community member
Character development is very important at St. Johns Country Day School. From the "interfaith assemblies" that focus on different character traits each month, to the honor code, to simply teachers that *pay attention* to each and every child, a strong emphasis on morals and ethics is everywhere. There is no slipping through the cracks, either academically or behaviorally.


St Johns Country Day School 5

Posted May 20, 2016
- a community member
St. Johns has been such a blessing to our family. Our kids were getting "lost" in our local public school-- a good school, but with the large and rising class sizes and constantly losing staff positions, there's no way they can keep up. And don't even get me started on old textbooks or outdated technology. We finally made the decision to move to St. Johns Country Day School, with a comprehensive arts program, PE nearly every day, a full sports program, and, best of all, teachers and staff who truly care about the success of each individual child. They say "your child will be known and loved" at St. Johns, and it's true.

St Johns Country Day School 5

Posted February 13, 2015
- a parent
Creative, innovative, and nurturing environment. St. Johns Country Day School is a perfect fit for my kids. They offer everything from academics to performing arts and sports. They have offered wonderful opportunities so far. I love that they have great school spirit and offer a warm environment. It makes me feel great and proud to have them there. I would highly recommend them.

St Johns Country Day School 5

Posted January 31, 2015
- a parent
Many families will consider this too far if they live in JAX.We did our homework and fell in love with the beautiful campus and steadfast faculty. They prepare the students for college but it's more than that. My kids are nurtured, loved and encouraged every day. I recommend this "gem" to all of our friends with kids.. (Their college placement list is strong!)


St Johns Country Day School 5

Posted November 05, 2014
- a parent
St. Johns Country Day School is a small family environment with good culture for our children to learn. They have given the ability to be well-rounded, and not just focused on academics. They teach extra-curricular activities such as art and music, which are wonderful.

St Johns Country Day School 5

Posted November 04, 2014
- a parent
I have 2 children (high school) and 1 grandchild (kindergarten) enrolled at St. Johns Country Day School. We've been with the school for 12 years. So far, what I most like is their focus on individual students. They make an effort to maximize each student's skills to get the best out-of-high-school college positions. They have a very safe learning environment and have many opportunities for extra curricular and sports activities.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Johns Country Day School
3100 Doctors Lake Drive, Orange Park, FL  32073
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 87 reviews. (904) 579-2781
Last modified St Johns Country Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top