Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Johns Country Day School

Private | PK-12 | 687 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Orange Park

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $100,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

70 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 29, 2009

good school but last tuition increase did us in... what are they thinking?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2009

10 years we have been involved with SJ. Best value money can buy! Great school, teachers and colleg prep!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2008

Year after year St.Johns Seniors have the highest SAT and ACT scores in the Jacksonville area.The school is small enough so students get the individual attention and there is a spot for every one who wishes to be a student athlete.Best school in the Jacksonville area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2008

I love the school. My child goes there and he wants to go to school on saturdays. Learns more than any other school I know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2008

Great School! Top college preparatory school in the area. All three of my children had excellent teachers. Arts program is the BEST!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2008

All you have to do is read the reviews written by SJCDS students and note the misspellings and grammatical errors to understand what has happened to this school. The new administration has chased away some excellent teachers under the false hope that a football program will bring in more money for their unfinanced campus upgrades. We are looking at other options as academics are no longer a priority here. It is sad to see what was once the best education program in Clay County now fall lower than many of the public schools. Save your money and move to Fleming High's school district, then send your children to a school that has a vested interest in their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

I luv it here. The teachers at St. Johns really care about me. That is a big change the school I went to before.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 1, 2008

SJ was a great school with great teachers but now average and poor teachers are kept if they coach sports. SJ used to be the best academic school, now the attention and money go to sports. We removed our children because we don't agree with new admisnistration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2008

I completely disagree with the last two postings. Money has no impact on any decisions. My family is very middle class and we depend on financial aid heavily. My questions and concerns get just as much attention as my child's wealthier friends. As far as sports, your comments are way off. They just started football a few years ago, why is that such a big deal? This is our sixth year and we have seen two administrations, both have a had their different strengths and weakness. We are very pleased with the education my child is receiving and she is ready for the challenges of college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2008

I must agree with the 06/10 posting. WIth the change in administration three years ago, decisions at the school are now made more often based upon the donation power of those involved instead of the ethical implications of decisions. Athletics take priority over academics and unruly students are tolerated as long as the tuition check clears. Parents have little, if any, voice outside of being the source of funding and pledges. It's a shame that what was once an excellent college prepartory program has been reduced to being merely an expensive alternative to public education, and not a great alternative at that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2008

From my perspective St. John's caters to whomever right the check. When homework frequently counts more than tests scores, or it can be turned in weeks late and still be given full credit - there is a problem. High school is about preparing young adults for not only college but the community, both have requirements and deadlines. College, while it sometimes requires 'homework' it is seldom collected and grades are almost always generates by tests and finals only. The St, John's repuation has eroded away while the athletic department has been growing. I understand that HS classes are an important part of a schools bottom line - but lets face it - these young men and women will be voting on policies that will effect us in our old age. Wouldn't you rather they be educated fully, and prepared for life after St. John's?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2008

St. Johns is a wonderful school, I think the middle school needs improvement, my son had disciplinary problems and was failing English and Spanish, but when Bryan entered 9th grade, highschool was a dream come true, it re-affirmed my trust in St. Johns. The teachers in highschool are older, and more experienced, it's a wonderful place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2008

St. Johns offers the best academic education in NE Florida, and it is getting better and better. The kids are serious and well-rounded and the teachers and administration are caring and ready to communicate with parents. The best thing is that the kids are nice and there are really no problems with discipline. It's just a great, warm school and graduates move on to success in college easily.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

St. Johns is a great school, but there is a bad side. With 4-5 hours of homework average, just for Middle School, with a good education comes lots of homework. St. Johns needs new teacher. But all in all, St. Johns is a great school if you are willing to work hard!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2008

SJCDS is really tough. Lots of homework. but well worht it. I have so many friends and all of the teachres care about me!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2007

St.Johns is a great school for acidemics but our art deparment is very lacking. This school would be so much better if us as students had more involvment in the arts such as acting and drawing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 16, 2007

St. Johns is a good school, but some things need to be changed. First of all, we need to have a new headmaster. Greg Foster is ruining so many traditions, and St. Johns is built on tradition. Some teachers who have taught at St. Johns for a while need to go. St. Johns also needs alot more clubs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 14, 2006

The academics at St.Johns are second to none. Expectations are high. Classes are small so teachers can give ample attention to students & still move the class at a quick pace. Students must have the aptitude to be able to keep up. All classes are advanced, even the regular classes. Middle school has the greatest influx of new students. Nearly every year about 2/3 of those students qualify for the TIP scholar program. These are talented kids in the classroom and the arts. Also, at St. Johns almost anyone who wants to can play on a sports team. No one falls through the cracks & parents are always welcome. As a parent of both a graduate and current student, I think it's the best education money can buy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2006

St. Johns is a great school if your child needs sheltering and special attention in the classroom. Students that come into the middle school program after 6th grade often are not competitive enough for the more academically driven schools in the area, such as Bolles. It is a great school for your child if academics is not a priority, or if he or she is not independent enough to excell in high school alone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

St.Johns has the best academics in the Jacksonville Area.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 44%
Two or more races 5% N/A
Black 4% 29%
Hispanic 3% 24%
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3100 Doctors Lake Dr
Orange Park, FL 32073
Phone: (904) 264-9572

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Kenterbie Academy
Orange Park, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT