Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Orange Park Christian Academy

Private | K-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Orange Park

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $100,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 28, 2007

We removed our child from here 2 1/2 years ago because of declining teacher quality and administration problems. My child attended this school 10 years and had all hopes of graduating from here.


Posted August 8, 2007

I have had children in this school one from PK4 through 8th and another from 2nd through 11th grade. I have watched this school go from a wonderful school to one who has failed both the parents and students. It is so sad to see what was once such a respected school decline. I have moved my children and only wish I had done so last year. The new person brought in last year did not help at all and again parent were left out of the loop. I hope it will get back on track with qualified teachers and administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2006

Our child has attented OPCA since K-5.Entering the 5TH grade this year our child continues to grow in mind and spirit and maintains a grade of 100 in Bible and is A B honor roll student. Our child maintains very high scores on the SATs and is a Florida Junior Society Student.This has been a very safe and secure school. Yes, there have been internal problems, that are changing and all new teachers have been hired with the exception of maybe two or three and those two or three are superb teachers and wonderful christians.The parents are becoming more involved this has never been mandatory at OPCA ,like other schools that require parents to donate x amount of hours maybe it should be. The school has undergone some face lift this summer.Christian love and education remain the priority at this school.God has heard our prayers. Praise be to God.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2006

Completely new leadership in place with a completely new committment to excellence. No first year teachers either, all have at least four years experience teaching. And for the first time the school will have its own school board comprised of staff and parents.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted May 16, 2006

OPCA has been great for the past several years. This past year has been different. Problems from the sponsoring church down have made parents flee in droves. The teachers have support but the administration does not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2006

O.K. for elementary, but I would talk to parents of high schoolers before enrolling in secondary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

My child attended OPCA in 9th and 10th grade. My child loved the school but I did not. I did not feel the academics were where they needed to be and they fell short of what they promoted. The sports program was in bad shape. They had limited sports to offer for various ages such as junior high--junior varsity--varsity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2005

My child has attended this school for three years. She is improving and has made great strides. My concern is this there the school has lost alot of students. There seems to be a lack of good teachers and the principal dosn't want to answer parent concerns. The elementry school is great, however the high school lacks direction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2005

OPCA currently is experiencing a lack of leadership. There are very limited extracurricular activities and the school campus is poorly maintained. Teacher quality is inconsistent throughout. There are great teachers, and some teachers lack experience and the spirituality expected from a Christian school. It is almost a gamble to remain from year to year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2004

I think this is a great school. Great security. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2004

I am looking to send my child here next year and have heard nothing but great things about this academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

The students attending this school have excellent examples of Christian character exhibited in the teachers and the school staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Assembly of God
Associations
  • ACSI
  • ACTS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1324 Kingsley Avenue
Orange Park, FL 32073
Phone: (904) 269-0096

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Crossroads School
Orange Park, FL



King's Christian Academy
Orange Park, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT