Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Thunderbolt Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 1022 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 10, 2013

Kindergarten was fantastic! My daughter's first grade teacher has set the benchmark for all other teachers in her life so far. I wish I could name her here, because she deserves the recognition. Second grade was good, too, but often I felt that my daughter, heck, the whole class were an afterthought to one of her two teachers. One was clearly dedicated, too bad she only taught two days a week. The other teacher didn't seem to be able to remember the students' names, nor to spell them correctly. She seemed to frequently forget things, like rewards the kids had earned, things that were planned, and notices sent home were often late. I am sure my child is pretty well prepared for third grade, but I have to admit that I was disappointed in this teacher's seeming lack of interest in her students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2013

Thunderbolt is an excellent school. My son has attended from Grade 1 through 3. All the teachers are dedicated to their students. The teachers go over and above their job descriptions daily. I found my son to be challenged by the work in the class. Ms. Phillips, the principal, is very involved in the students activities but also maintains excellent discipline in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2013

I cannot say enough amazing things as a parent of 3 children who have attended this school for 5 years. I had always been impressed as a parent by the teachers, administration and support staff, but for the last two years I have been able to be on the other side as a substitute and the commitment , energy, passion and level of dedication these teachers provide is top notch! Parents are involved and welcomed in this school, a balance of making learning fun with structure and rules are enforced. Highly qualified teachers who do not stop working when that bell rings. I am sad we will have to leave this amazing school and community for a few years. For such a large school, it is a "small" school atmosphere and we have cherished every moment and the impact it has made for our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2012

School is Awesome. Great Parent Participation. Parents are encouraged to get involved. Teachers are overall great. Challenging kids to excel. Focus on Reading Reading Reading to improve comprehension skills for grades K through 4 so far from what I can tell. I have a 2nd grader and 4th grader and have been there since K. Principal (Ms. Phillips) is great. Highly visible, speaks to kids and parents and is not solely in the office like some principals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Three of my grandaughters go to this school and it is so efficiently run. I watch them grow mentally as well as physically. This school deserves the money because it is such a highly respected and rated school.


Posted September 4, 2009

Great school to take children to that is located in a family-oriented and safe area! The teaching staff are supportive, kind, and helpful! It's a nice place to take your child to and know that they will receive the best academic challenges in a safe and orgainzed school! Highly recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2009

A great 2009-2010 year so far! I am throughly impressed with how well organized the school staff and with all the school's activity/family activities are conducted. The teachers are kind, attentive, and supportive. This school is located in a very supportive, safe, family-oriented area. Thunderbolt has a positive, motivating atmosphere that would bare well for any child. It's a school that could encourage a child to reach his or her full potential. Highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2009

This school does push academics. The pick up and drop off stations were atrocious last year (07-08), but much better this year since they had the grounds redone. I think 40% of the teachers and staff are there to be a part of the children's education and really care for the children's future and well-being. I also believe 60% of the rest of the teachers and staff have a cold, staunch demeanor and . This 60% are napproachable and appear to be unfeeling and non-caring. Also, the ethnic diversity of the school population is minimal and my child has been subjected to bullying by the children and selective reprehensible treatment from the teachers. They look upon us unfavorably because we are not the ethnic race they wish dominated their school only. We truly feel like outcasts at this school and we are seriously considering relocating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

I am pleased with the school as is our daughter. She has adjusted well into Kindergarten and grown alot during this past year. Her teacher was very involved, patient and structured. The one area of concern is that our daughter attended a private Pre-K which had an advanced curriculum. The curriculum for Kindergarten was at the same level so many of the topics that she was going through this year were already accomplished in Pre-K. I'd like to see a more detailed assessment of the children going into Kindergarten to determerine their skill set and set them into classrooms appropriately. I feel that because she was spending the year re-learning many things that she was held back/slowed down in other challenges that she could have been focusing on. Was she having to wait for other children to 'catch up'? Otherwise, a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2008

I am very happy with this school. Yes there are over 1200 students there but the classrooms are not overcrowed. They average around 17 students to one teacher. FCAT is emphasized because the state puts the pressure on. The teacher that my child has (2nd Grade) is very caring. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2008

As a parent and a teacher, I chose to send my daughter to TBE specifically because of the teachers there. They are highly qualified and yes, gave her much work. She completed 2nd-6th grade and was very successful due ingreat part to the dedicated and highly trained teachers there. Yes, it is very overcrowded, but that speaks even more to the overwhelming numbers of people who want to attend this school. Under those challenging circumstances, the faculty is doing an amazing job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2008

We have had one child at this school from K through 4th grade and one due to start this fall. We are extremely hesitant to send our youngest there. Bullying is rampant, the school is much too over-crowded and the administration sacrifices overall child development and positive learning experiences for FCAT scores. Resource teachers are also disappointing, except for one or two- the rest need to be in a junior high or high school environment as they constantly yell at the students and have no patience for children. We have had some excellent homeroom teachers, but even they are constantly stressed and discontented. Some of the best have already left. I would choose any of the other schools in the area before this one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2008

Highly overcrowded school doesn't focus on day-to-day learning. rather its primary emphasis is on FCATs. Every state has standardized testing, but not every sate ignores some of the basics in order to make their school look better on a statewide exam. They compromise our children's learning. Wouldn't recommend this school at all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2008

I am very disappointed in this school. I have 2 children that attend (1 in 5th and 1 in 3rd) My 5th grade daughter is struggling tremendously and comes home with hours upon hours of homework (including weekends). She is physically and emotionally exhausted now and can't get the strength to study for tests after finishing the written part of her homework. She has gone from mostly A's in her old school to barely B's in this school. They fly through the books and the teachers do not oversee how the children do the work during classtime. Everything is for the FCAT and nothing else seems to matter. My 3rd grader has a fantastic teacher and only a little homework and getting mostly A's, but she hates the school itself. I have decided to pull my kids and send them somewhere else
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2007

This school has been a disappointment. My 6th grader has experienced verbal bullying that was only addressed after several attempts. It is my feeling that the school is so extremely overcrowded that there's simply no way of monitoring student's behaviors properly. My daughter, who used to love school, has said she hates this school and wishes we had never moved here. The principal has treated me in a condescending manner and disregarded my concerns altogether. Academically, it's difficult to say how the school fares. My daughter has learned less at this school and went from being a straight-A student at a top-notch school to getting a 'C' on her report card. I see her study, I quiz her. Though I've tried to be kind to the teachers, they rarely smile and appear cold. I wouldn't want to spend my days there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2007

I really like this school. I think it is run very well. It is really overcrowded, but what school isn't these days. The teachers are great. The office always has answers to questions. Everybody is organized and really willing to go the extra mile. The only problem I see with this school is the parent involvement. There seems to be a lack of parents that get involved in their children's education. Also, the parent dropoff and pickup is a disaster. Parents double park, park in handicapped zones, get in verbal altercations and block parents in who are parked correctly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2007

This is a very nice, well-run school. I think it is an A school b/c of the administration and faculty. I also feel they sometimes put so much emphasis on always being an A school, that they sacrifice some of the joy of children's learning. Many times my child would come home saying how 'exhausting' Kindergarten was. I know it's a whole-day program, but he had been in Preschool for years, is of above-average intelligence, and gets plenty of sleep and has a good diet. I thought the long blocks or reading and math were a bit intensive. As an educator, I appreciate the order and outstanding scores of this school. As a mom, I wonder if a little flexibility couldn't be considered. Does Kindergarten really have to be exhausting?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2006

Thunderbolt Elementary is an awesome school to work for. The staff takes pride in making this an A school every year!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 4, 2005

This is an awesome school! Academically, students are challenged every day and the curriculum is very well-rounded. School safety is great and the staff is extremely competent. An all-around winner!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

My child is in 3rd grade and has been attending Thunderbolt since kindergarten. The staff are well-trained and the programs are challenging. She attends music 1 day per wk; library 1 day per wk; computer 1 day per wk and PE 2 days per week. They also really encourage physical fitness and proper nutrition. The level of parental involvment is phenomenal. They do well at most things, but they could use some improvement in tracking students progress from year to year to ensure that she is progressing as expected.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

136 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

137 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

142 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

140 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

170 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

170 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

170 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

136 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

140 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

134 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 70%
Hispanic 13%
Black 9%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%64%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2020 Thunderbolt Rd
Orange Park, FL 32003
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 278-5630

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Berean Christian Academy
Fleming Island, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT