Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

W E Cherry Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 648 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 22, 2014

This school has issues with bullying. It came as a surprise to our family. We thought the school had a better reputation than that. Beware!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2013

My school is awesome! I love W.E. Cherry!! My daughter and nieces and nephew go there and have for years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2012

And....as a W.E. Cherry alumna, I can correct my typos as well...."I am well aware there are many variables that play when it comes to a child's success."* I would never want to shame those excellent teachers I had.


Posted February 22, 2011

All three of my grandchildren have attended W.E. Cherry. Each one has received a superior education, had wonderful and caring teachers and made life long friends. The youngest grandchild is in third grade at present and loves to go to school! The personal commitment to each and every student sets W.E. Cherry apart from other schools and adds to the students joy of education.


Posted July 10, 2010

This is a quick reply to the lady who said "I have never seen a school whose principal and teachers assure kids are given exposure to the extra and remain safe". The reason they do that is because of Somer Thompson's kidnapping.


Posted February 22, 2010

I have never seen a school whose principal and teachers assure that kids are given exposure to the extras and remain safe. They often provide programs on their own time and dollar to assure that music and arts are not lost in these times of economic cut backs. They even assure our childrens safety by organizing block watches with teachers standing on corners to watch our kids walk home safely. When I first moved to Florida, I was a bit disturbed at the look of the school and was not sure the children would receive a quaility education. Well six years later, my twins last year in elementary, I can attest to the quality education my children received. They have both scored 4 and 5 on all FCATS. Thank you W.E. Cherry teachers you are wonderful Thank you pricipal you have assured an A+ team for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2009

I have one child at W E Cherry and another that just left to go to the OPJH, and I truly love the faculty and staff here. There motto they tell you when you walk in the door is W E C where everyone cares! They have the best school around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2008

W.E. Cherry is an absolutely amazing school...from the teachers to the falculty to the Principal. I have never seen a principal so caring about her students. She really is always looking out for them and really cares about their education. The teachers are wonderful. I have had such great experiences with everyone of the teachers my kids have had. My daughter is in 6th grade and has always been at Cherry and my son is in 3rd. I live outside of WE Cherry school district and I choose to take my kids there rather than the new Oakleaf school. I just absolutely love it and it is worth the little inconvenience.....Go Cherry!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2008

10 We have a graet principal and a staff like family. We love our kids and do anything to provide a safe and loving place for them to learn.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 17, 2007

My child loves W.E.C. The teachers communicate well with the parent. There is a lot of parent involvement, which helps a school. The school is well diversed and the teachers and faculty really do care about the child more than on an academic level. This school is one big family. Your child will not only get an education at this school but a sense of community and good citizenship.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2006

Both of my children went to this school from k-6 and we have had no problems. The faculty and staff are excellent and most have been there the entire time my kids were there. I hate to think that this is my daughters last year there. The school has gotten better each year and with the new Principal Angela Whiddon I can say that it will continue to get better. The arts, music, math, reading and science classes are wonderful. The access to help for the parents is bountiful, the learning lab that we have access to is great. I wish my kids could stay at this school forever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

My niece attends W.E. Cherry. The faculty is very friendly and helpful. The reading and technology programs are very useful for my niece. I also appreciate their tutoring. I attended this school myself back in the 1980s and have great memories of this community school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 8, 2004

Much success with my son in this school. My daughter is having special needs however, and I haven't been impressed with the schools effort to help on this issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2004

This is a reply to the lady that wrote in that 'P.E. Twice a week in the heat of the day is just unhealthy'. I am a former student, I attended W.E. Cherry for all of my Elem. Year. K-5. Back when 6th grade was not part of W.E. Cherry. I had P.E. every day, in the heat of the day. It never hurt me. As a matter of fact all through my school years I had P.E. Every single day, in the rain, in the heat, in the cold. And a few times even in the little bit of snow we had. We did not have a gym, we on rare occasions had classes in the portables. Where we still did physical stuff. Kids need this activity. Do you want a lazy couch kid that lives from video games? As for the pizza and tater tots. Don't you know by now that those are a special treat for the kids? I remember as a kid looking forward to pizza day. We sure did not get it at home so pizza day was the thing. I do agree that kids do need an art class. But they also need to learn the technical stuff at an early age to be better suited for todays standards of living.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 7, 2003

I have two children at W.E.Cherry and they both have had excellent, positive experiences with their teachers and classes. The teachers have an 'open door' policy so parents are involved with their childs educations from the very beginning, instead of waiting until there's a problem. The school really made me proud when I saw the FCAT results! It made me happy that we kept our children at W.E.C. instead of sending them to another school-which we had considered. The teachers are very creative (which keeps the kids wanting to learn) and they love what they do, which makes all the difference in the world! The parent involvement is high at W.E.C.-including rotating room mothers and help with book sales and other events. Parent involvement is key to a successful school as well as to the kids education. I am unhappy though with the extracurricular activities. Having P.E. twice a week in the heat of the day isn't practical or healthy. The P.E. teachers refuse to listen to students who do have health issues, and then belittle them when they are unable to participate. What will it take to make gym teachers realize that not every child is a born athlete? Not every child is capable of running a track in 90 degree heat. P.E. doesnt have to be about strenuous activities but instead stretching, yoga and fun. Whatever happened to having art classes? Doesn't that open a creative mind? Computer class is a little late and doesnt offer much more than what can be taught at home via CD-Roms or the internet. The school lunch program is another 'problem', in my honest opinion. Serving pizza with tater tots and corn isn't balanced-too many starches and carbs! It seems that whenever I visited my child for lunch, the food guideline rules weren't being used. What about the 5 a day rule for vegetables and fruits? The menu never matched what was being served at school and I can't comprehend that. I believe the entire reason children are over weight is because of what they are fed at school. I now pack my childrens lunches. As for discipline, I can say that my oldest child had a 'problem'(cruel name calling, throwing sand, tripping and pushing) with another student and each time the problem was reported the teacher and office staff regarded it as 'tattling'. The entire year was spent with my child trying to avoid this boy instead of having the problem taken seriously. Teachers and staff need to take every complaint seriously-because the psychological torment can be worse than the physical abuse. Overall, I am happy with W.E.Cherry and am anxious for the 2003-04 school year to get underway.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
43%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

74 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 52%
Black 20%
Hispanic 17%
Two or more races 7%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 181%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 22%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 73%64%61%
Master's degree 27%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. ANGELA WHIDDON
Fax number
  • (904) 278-2056

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

420 Edson Drive
Orange Park, FL 32073
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 278-2050

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

King's Christian Academy
Orange Park, FL



Crossroads School
Orange Park, FL



Clay Virtual Franchise
Orange Park, FL


Clay Virtual Academy
Orange Park, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT