Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lakeside Junior High School

Public | 7-8 | 846 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 5, 2013

It's disappointing to see reviews of parents who have posted recently, but list the names of teachers who have been gone for years. I teach at Lakeside, but also sent two of my own children through the school. I have never encountered a group of teachers more committed to helping students succeed regardless of their status. This is a great school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 27, 2012

If you have a gifted or high IQ child, this is NOT the school for you. The best teachers are Mr. Hermes and Mr. Wilson, both gifted. The English department sends home notes with simple words like "education" misspelled and forget science. The Art Department, however, if still run by Mrs. Hollowell is OUTSTANDING. If you are in Fleming Island, the bus ride is a nightmare, no air and a 30 minute transport. I only met the principal our second year there and thought he was thee P.E. coach. He never goes to any award ceremonies or puts himself out for the parents. I still do not know who the vice-principal is. If this is your only choice, I am sorry for you. Children and mixed from areas other than Fleming Island and the result is less than desirable. Teachers only teach for the FCAT and as we are nearing our Junior year, the colleges do not care at all about FCAT results - only ACT and SAT results. Lots of lost time for teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2012

I don't know how any of you guys give this a 9 star rating. What year was this? Because this school is very disappointing. Some teachers need to be more professional. Teachers need to keep their hands and thoughts to themselves. Approach the student,talk to the parents and not be so rude. I am so glad my child is going to a private school next year. At least I know my money is not being wasted on these so called teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2009

this school has excllent teachers and some great kids
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 24, 2008

This school is ten times better than the catholic school I attended for several years and I feel that if I would have gone through junior high in catholic I would have missed out on an excellent education from teachers who really care. You got two thumbs up from Angela if that means anything to anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2007

They have a great gifted program
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2007

it was great they tought my kid everything
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2006

I am a student at lakeside this year and I was last year. I don't know how anyone could turn this school down. The teachers are very nice and will help you in any way they can. The sports programs are very good. I'm trying out for soccer this week. This is the best school in Clay County.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 16, 2006

Like most junior highs, students will do well if they are prepared to take accountability for their work. If your child is not ready to be entirely responsible for his/her work, I'd look for another school. While several of my daughter's teachers kept in regular touch and told us she was failing or near failing, several others waited until we took the initiative to schedule a meeting. Very large school. Easy for kids who are shy or lack good social skills to get lost. On the other hand, lots of classes and activities to choose from.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2005

The gifted program is excellent with teachers like mr. Aftuck and mrs. Morris. Mrs.Duchemin and the ljhs chorus are superior rated. Sports teams are mostly county champs. Parents are super involved. Lets go gators!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 14, 2005

I was an 8th grader here last year and it was and is the best Jr. high in Clay County!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 24, 2005

My daughter is in the 8th and has attended LSJH for the past two years. She is very artistically inclined & a wonderful creative writer. This did not slip by a couple of wonderful teachers (English & Art) who took her under their wing and have encouraged her talents. Sometimes all it takes is one special person to believe in you to make you believe in yourself. They have given my daughter that gift. Teachers like that make Lakeside extra special. Of course the fact that the grade 'A' education you can count on your child to get is an added plus also. My son will attend LSJH next year, I can relax as a parent knowing I am sending him to a school that not only cares about what the students do while in attendance, but also about where they are going when they leave Lakeside. Thanks LSJH!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2004

Maybe this school is a great one to some parents, however, I feel the school is not ESE friendly. This school seems to 'cater' to those with no learning disabilities. The state needs to review the ESE guidelines and spend more on educating the teachers on how to teach an ESE student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2004

As a parent of a seventh grader this year, I was very worried about the transition from elementary to junior high. Lakeside so far has taken away my worries. I stay in constant contact with the teachers, the teachers are enthusiastic at teaching my child, my child is happy with the school and he also looks forward to going to school. Way to go Lakeside! Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2004

I am a freshman who went to Lakeside Junior High the past two years! I was pleased with the teachers and staff there. I felt the teachers went out of their way to help students in need. I am proud that lakeside accomplished so much! Thank you for providing me with a great education. I want to thank the teachers, staff, the principal and vice principal. You all made my two years at lakeside the best. I hope every other student/ parent is as satisfied with your school as I was/am.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 7, 2004

My child has gone to Lakeside Jr. for the past 2 years. I have found many good and bad things about the school. But, I have found that the Vice-Principle this year is a great person. She is willing to work with the parent and student. She cares about the students, and whats best for them, unlike Lakeside Elm. I have found that there they don't listen to the parents or students. We are lucky to have a great vice-P at Lakeside Jr. May she be here for a long time. Better yet I hope she moves to wherever my child next goes!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2003

My child attends Lakeside Jr. HS and we're very disappointed with the leadership of the school. Principal and Vice Principal could care less about each student as an individual. They've turned a 'blind eye' to lockers that are broken into and other crime that occurs regularly and they are totally inflexible. I recommend you find another school to send your child to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2003

I am a freshmen who attended lakeside Jr. high for the past two years. The after-school activities were extraordinarily pleasing, and the academic quality is outstanding. I felt as if the teachers went out of their way to explain and teach the other students the material.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

396 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

409 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

239 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

386 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

389 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

382 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

446 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 74%
Hispanic 10%
Black 9%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 30%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%64%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • MR. JOHN GREEN
Fax number
  • (904) 213-2987

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2750 Moody Avenue
Orange Park, FL 32073
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 213-2980

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Clay Virtual Franchise
Orange Park, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT