Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

844 students|Clay
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lakeside Junior High School 5

Posted April 17, 2016
- a parent
As a parent, I have had one child go through this school very prepared for high school and another currently enrolled. I have been nothing but pleased with the level of rigor and compassion that comes from the teachers at this school. The teachers care about the whole child rather than what they will be tested on by the state. Students are challenged with the belief that all students can learn when expectations are high. Thank you for all that you do for the children at Lakeside.

Lakeside Junior High School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted January 07, 2016
- a community member
grit? This isn't a movie starring Clint Eastwood. Determination would depend on the student and teacher.


Lakeside Junior High School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted January 07, 2016
- a community member
No. If the principal Dr McDonald doesn't have empathy then he cannot lead a school that develops empathy in students. I've yet to see anything from Lakeside Jr High in 2015-2016 school year that suggests empathy, caring and compassion is being developed.

Lakeside Junior High School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted January 07, 2016
- a community member
If it doesn't expect honesty and integrity in its staff it cannot develop it in students. That is not to say the school doesn't have great teachers. The band teacher is among the best I have ever encountered as a parent for 26yrs with children who went to this school previously and another still there. Music class teacher is amazing.

Lakeside Junior High School 3

Posted January 07, 2016
- a community member
This school as so many others depends on staff and administration on whether or not it is good or great. Average experience dealing with a serious issue and the brand new principal. No empathy, rather judgemental. Willing to hire support staff that bullies parents and kids. Would rather you sue them than handle an issue. Clay County School District is not well served by Ms Studdard. Or Superintendent Van Zant unfortunately. Both are elected position so be sure to vote.


Lakeside Junior High School 5

Posted October 09, 2013
- a parent
This is our daughters second year at LSJH and we love it! We chose this school for many reasons and have been very satisfied with the out come. The staff is great, we have never had a problem with any of them and they have been very helpful. My daughter was recommended to take a advanced math class by one teacher for the following year. A few weeks into the school year, they noticed that they needed to change her because she just wasnt ready for the advancement. I was very greatful because they caught this and saved her from failing. My daughter is an A/B honor roll student. Thank you Lakeside for all you do!

Lakeside Junior High School 5

Posted October 05, 2013
- a teacher
It's disappointing to see reviews of parents who have posted recently, but list the names of teachers who have been gone for years. I teach at Lakeside, but also sent two of my own children through the school. I have never encountered a group of teachers more committed to helping students succeed regardless of their status. This is a great school.

Lakeside Junior High School 1

Posted April 27, 2012
- a parent
If you have a gifted or high IQ child, this is NOT the school for you. The best teachers are Mr. Hermes and Mr. Wilson, both gifted. The English department sends home notes with simple words like "education" misspelled and forget science. The Art Department, however, if still run by Mrs. Hollowell is OUTSTANDING. If you are in Fleming Island, the bus ride is a nightmare, no air and a 30 minute transport. I only met the principal our second year there and thought he was thee P.E. coach. He never goes to any award ceremonies or puts himself out for the parents. I still do not know who the vice-principal is. If this is your only choice, I am sorry for you. Children and mixed from areas other than Fleming Island and the result is less than desirable. Teachers only teach for the FCAT and as we are nearing our Junior year, the colleges do not care at all about FCAT results - only ACT and SAT results. Lots of lost time for teaching.


Lakeside Junior High School 1

Posted April 26, 2012
- a parent
I don't know how any of you guys give this a 9 star rating. What year was this? Because this school is very disappointing. Some teachers need to be more professional. Teachers need to keep their hands and thoughts to themselves. Approach the student,talk to the parents and not be so rude. I am so glad my child is going to a private school next year. At least I know my money is not being wasted on these so called teachers!

Lakeside Junior High School 3

Posted February 23, 2009
- a student
this school has excllent teachers and some great kids

Nearby schools

Lakeside Junior High School
2750 Moody Avenue, Orange Park, FL  32073
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (904) 213-2980
Last modified Lakeside Junior High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top