Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-8
Public
Orange Park, FL
Students enrolled: 846
Before care: Yes
After care: No

4 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lakeside Junior High School 5

Posted October 05, 2013
- a teacher
It's disappointing to see reviews of parents who have posted recently, but list the names of teachers who have been gone for years. I teach at Lakeside, but also sent two of my own children through the school. I have never encountered a group of teachers more committed to helping students succeed regardless of their status. This is a great school.

Lakeside Junior High School 1

Posted April 27, 2012
- a parent
If you have a gifted or high IQ child, this is NOT the school for you. The best teachers are Mr. Hermes and Mr. Wilson, both gifted. The English department sends home notes with simple words like "education" misspelled and forget science. The Art Department, however, if still run by Mrs. Hollowell is OUTSTANDING. If you are in Fleming Island, the bus ride is a nightmare, no air and a 30 minute transport. I only met the principal our second year there and thought he was thee P.E. coach. He never goes to any award ceremonies or puts himself out for the parents. I still do not know who the vice-principal is. If this is your only choice, I am sorry for you. Children and mixed from areas other than Fleming Island and the result is less than desirable. Teachers only teach for the FCAT and as we are nearing our Junior year, the colleges do not care at all about FCAT results - only ACT and SAT results. Lots of lost time for teaching.


Lakeside Junior High School 1

Posted April 26, 2012
- a parent
I don't know how any of you guys give this a 9 star rating. What year was this? Because this school is very disappointing. Some teachers need to be more professional. Teachers need to keep their hands and thoughts to themselves. Approach the student,talk to the parents and not be so rude. I am so glad my child is going to a private school next year. At least I know my money is not being wasted on these so called teachers!

Lakeside Junior High School 5

Posted May 20, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Lakeside Junior High School 3

Posted February 23, 2009
- a student
this school has excllent teachers and some great kids


Lakeside Junior High School 5

Posted July 24, 2008
- a student
This school is ten times better than the catholic school I attended for several years and I feel that if I would have gone through junior high in catholic I would have missed out on an excellent education from teachers who really care. You got two thumbs up from Angela if that means anything to anyone.

Lakeside Junior High School 5

Posted December 11, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Lakeside Junior High School 4

Posted September 15, 2007
- a parent
They have a great gifted program


Lakeside Junior High School 5

Posted September 14, 2007
- a parent
it was great they tought my kid everything

Lakeside Junior High School 1

Posted July 12, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lakeside Junior High School
2750 Moody Avenue, Orange Park, FL  32073
(904) 213-2980
Last modified Lakeside Junior High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lakeside Junior High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top