Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

804 students|Clay
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lakeside Elementary School 5

Posted January 07, 2016
- a parent
Lakeside Elementary is well run with a fantastic principal in Mr Jeff Shriver. If you are considering a move into this district school, I highly recommend Lakeside Elementary. My child was there from K-6 grade. Any issues are promptly and properly addressed.

Lakeside Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 07, 2016
- a parent
It varies greatly by teacher and specific classes and the grade level of your child. Grade 3 my child had excessive amount of homework as she progressed the amount was about 'just right' There is after school tutoring with a bus available. This resource was especially important for my child and maths class. As the approach to teaching students statewide in math has changed from how many of us parents learned. The resource allowed my child to go from barely getting by to excelling in mathematics


Lakeside Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a community member
The teachers and staff are among the best. My grandkids love the school and teachers. The 2nd and 3rd program they had was outstanding. It takes a special type of person to be a teacher or staff dealing with kids at this age. Thank you teachers and staff.

Lakeside Elementary School 1

Posted December 09, 2012
- a parent
This school has been completely wonderful to us and our children from kindergarten to first grade with all a's and b's and even recommended our child for gifted in the first grade and was expected to have a great 7 years of elementary ahead of us until second grade came around and things went from night to day with our child and also noticed many others children that were doing very well previously until second grade and literally everything dramatically changed and started falling apart not only on just my account but for many other families we go to Boyscouts and church with as well in the same grade level at lakesaide. Things went from such a wonderful heavenly feeling for our child in the first two grade levels and when second grade came around everything started falling apart for our child and has caused just complete turmoil in the household due to high classroom volumes and teachers on the brink of their retirement not showing enough attention and focusing on students success properly and I have stressed all options of fixing the issues my child by scheduling conferences and meeting with the principal (which I to take initiative to do myself, no help from the school)

Lakeside Elementary School 5

Posted April 20, 2011
- a parent
They are all about the students and helping them succeed. Ive never seen a public school that cares as much for their students as the staff at LES.


Lakeside Elementary School 5

Posted October 11, 2010
- a parent
The communication between teachers and parents is excellant. My Grandson is reaching his full potential because he is in an A school. The staff at Lakeside actually care about their students. Thank you all so very much.

Lakeside Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 22, 2009
- a parent
This is an elementary school that still believes children are just that, children. They aren't robots that need to be forced in to adulthood too soon. They sing, they laugh and they learn. It is a wonderful school that I am proud to send my son to.

Lakeside Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 18, 2009
- a parent
The Staff as well as the volunteers are supportive of the childrens learning abilities. They try to keep in-touch with the parent if there are signs of anything that might deter the children from learning at their top!


Lakeside Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2009
- a parent
This year I will have 1 in kinder, & 1 in 2nd grade! I have an 8th grader also that has gone through LES! Love the school. Teachers and Staff are Wonderful!

Lakeside Elementary School 4

Posted May 23, 2007
- a parent
This year was a fantastic one. The 3rd grade teachers really worked with the kids to prepare them for the FCAT (I still disagree totally with this sort of testing. Teachers need to be compensated for all their hardwork not just base it on how they did on some ridiculous test. We do have qualms about parent involvement. We want to be involved with our childrens and their classeshowever aside from constantly pandering for money, juice boxes & treats, we are never contacted to help with parties, fun day events or class outings. None of the homeroom coordinators (especially in grade 3) would ask us for help. I think we would be more apt to be involved with PFA if the cliques of parent helpers/teachers would open up and allow others to help. Aside from that, we are thrilled with the education are kids are getting at this wonderful school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lakeside Elementary School
2752 Moody Avenue, Orange Park, FL  32073
(904) 213-2966
Last modified Lakeside Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lakeside Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top