Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Orange Park Junior High School

Public | 7-8 | 711 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 29, 2013

My child is just finishing up her first year at OPJH. I heard many bad comments and had many friends who personally warned about how horrible it would be here. However, I actually went to junior high there and I think I am ok :) Also, I wanted my daughter to go to school in the neighborhood as I had shipped her off for elementary and felt that she missed out on making friends in the neighborhood. So the experience this year has been fabulous, all worry over nothing. She is happy, healthy, engaged, made many new friends and is up early and happy to go to school every day. She enjoys her teachers, they are engaging and available. There is also free tutoring before and after school if you need it, plus many other opportunities to be busy. My only disappointment has been with parental involvement. It is such a huge drop from elementary school. Of course, I have been less involved also, but it seems when they need something from the parents, few step up. If you are zoned for here, do not worry and go in with an open mind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2013

I'm a parent of a 2 girls, they are little body, look like they are still in elementary, but they are good girls with good grade and they love to participate in sport, cheer leading, music, help others, etc. and I'm new in this area and I would love to know if this school is going to be good for them or lakeside junior high is better for them, I hear bad suggestion about OPJH school and I need to know if is true or not.... PLEASE if someone read this and can help me to make a good decision for the best of my girls please write something to me I will appreciate....THANK YOU
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2012

Im A 7th grader im really really nervous i hope im gonna like this school all the reviews look good :)


Posted November 2, 2010

This is my sons 2nd yr at OPJH. He began 7th in the EBD classes and has been moved to the VE (varied education) with smaller class sizes to better suit his needs while still maintaining mainstream curriculum. I applaud the guidence dept. for their attention to parent concerns and vice principal Ms. Tucker for conducting swift, yet fair disciplinary actions. Parent participation is particuarly low given the amount of students attending. Correspondence with teachers could be abit better, but given their class loads, I understand to take a one on one approach with each student may diminish to the needs to the class as a whole. All in all, I'm very pleased with OPJH and confident with sending my son there. I know he's in good hands.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2009

i am a 7th grader at opjh and i was scared to go here because i would be going to a middle school. and all i have to day that it is awesome! i am also on the cheerleading squad and we dont go to overboard on our routines. and they do make sure your grades are on check. i am also a honor role student, the teachers do a great job teaching! and i made alot of friends it wasnt very hard! opjh is great and cant wait to enjoy my last year here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 16, 2008

I am a teacher at OPJHS and have been there since the doors opened on Aug. 17,1976. I absolutely love the school. students, teachers and my administrators. I just finished my 32nd year of teaching and yes, all of them at OPJHS. I am very proud to say that I am a part of such a great school and wouldn't want to teach any place else. I have had the chance to leave, but I chose to stay there. I am a proud Wildcat.... Cathy Rangeo Dept. Chair Physical Education Head Boys Track Coach 7th grade Instructor
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 4, 2008

Over all i think its a great school. Im attending Orange Park Junior High this year as an eigth grade and i think it's a prtty okay school. This school has been an A school for 7 years so apparently the trachers are doing something right. As far as making new friends goes its actually quite easy to make friends. Infact your a new student moving to Clay County and are zoned for Orange Park i think that would be your best bet. It'll be an easy/smooth transition into your new school. Most people think that Orange Park Junior High School is full of gang banging hoodlums who have fights everyday and blah blah blah...get a life!! opjh hasnt been like that is 3 or 4 years. its much better so send you child there!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 30, 2007

The principal, James Young, has not shown any respect for the students or teachers at this school. As a parent, I believe that the students their deserve a much better principal and he falls short of that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2007

My son loves going to OPJH! JH is a lot different than elementary. The teachers do not hold your child's hand as they did in K-6. Children need to be held accountable for their actions, or lack of. His teachers HAVE communicated with me when assignments were not turned in prior to mid term report cards, yet some have NOT. Children need to be responsible and we cannot hold their hands all the time. My son partipates in sports and has been sought out for his academic achievement on the FCAT. OPJH does recognize academic and sports potential. Parent involvement seems low. I know my involvement has been low.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2007

Orange park junior high school is very good in disciplining their students. It could use some remodeling and a huge cleaning but other than that it is a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 18, 2007

Getting a good education at OPJH is dependent upon which teachers your child ends up with. Very few teachers are good. When teachers would speak about the kids it always seemed to be negative. If I had a choice I would not send my child to this school again. Her grades are good but her self-esteem is low.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2006

absolute wonderful school my daughter was so excited to go there and when she finally got there she made a ton of friends and now she is in eighth grade and still loves it maybe all the teachers aren't as so perfect but hey there is no school in the entire world with totally perfect always smiling teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2006

Sending your child to OPJH compares to playing the Florida lottery. You could get lucky and pick one of the winning numbers, or two, etc. Because there are some really good teachers still left there. However.... those of you who have played the lottery know that you Never pick all the numbers and maybe you will get lucky and hit one number or have 'one good teacher',and so on. But your child's education cannot be gambled with, and I for one moved my child because of what I felt was a lack of leadership from the administration, and unprofessional behavior and disorganization from some of the teachers my child would have had. I will not gamble with my child's education and that is exactly what you will be doing when you send your child to Orange Park Junior High.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 16, 2006

I can't wait until my son is out of this school. The administration at this school is a joke. With the exception of a few good teachers this school has the laziest and most unprofessional faculty and staff I have ever experienced. This school has done an excellent job of putting on a good front but there are so many issues at this school that 150 words just cant begin to describe it. Kids are being harassed by students and teachers, staffing is a problem at this school I would like to know the absentee rate of the teachers some are never there, the staff is unfriendly (most of them). Some of the kids I have talked to have told me about various activities at the school that go unnoticed and unpunished. If I have to move my daugher is not going to go here. This school is bad!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2005

This is a good school. However, I've recently had trouble with my son not doing all of his homework and the teachers do not attempt to contact you unless it's via progress report which we all know we may or may not get in time to effect help at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2004

My daughter has had two successful years at Orange Park Jr. High. Her teachers have been positive, encouraging and very knowledgable in their respective fields. I applaud the school staff for stressing excellance and personal best. Special help, such as before and after school tuitoring, has help my child greatly. It is refreshing to find teachers who will go that extra mile. Thank you OPJH for helping to shape my daughter into the lovely young lady she is becoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

325 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

343 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

217 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

347 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

347 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

352 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

323 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 52%
Black 24%
Hispanic 14%
Two or more races 7%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 8%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 60%64%61%
Master's degree 40%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1500 Gano Avenue
Orange Park, FL 32073
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 278-2000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

King's Christian Academy
Orange Park, FL


Crossroads School
Orange Park, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT