Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Montclair Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 511 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 19, 2011

This is an A rated school. My two children have attended MCE based on their high level of academics and all around structure. Overall, the teachers and expecially the principal are quite to put it bluntly; awesome. They really care about your children's education, health and well-being. Their maintenance and cafeteria staff are awesome and very friendly as well. Although the school is not yet fully diversified within the teaching realm, there are a few wonderful, wonderful teachers like Mrs.Cathy Bodenweber, Mrs. Robbin WIlliams, to name a few who should be commended for their professionalism and expertise in their craft. These teaches genuinely care for your children's growth, education and well-being. Overall, this is an "A" rated school in many elements as a parent's point of view. The only issue I would like to see improve is that the school hire teachers with different nationalities and ethnicities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

Great School!! :) I am using this website to get info on schools out of state per i will be moving and looked up the School i love so much that i send my kids to. I Zone my children out of the school they should go to for them to attend this school! The teachers, principal, and staff is very friendly, helpful, and i am taken back at the results showing here! The other schools near by show a better rating yet i wouldnt change the kids school if i was not moving out of state! Reading is made fun, Art is set up online where you can see your kids art, I will miss montclair so much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

My son moved to Monte Clair at the end of the year. He passed where he was sure to fail just by the love and support that Mr. Coyle brought to the class room. I am greatful to have my son retern there this year for first grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2008

I have friends with children in private schools in the area, and they are jealous of the education my children receive at Montclair! It is a top-notch school and I highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2006

Montclair is a Wonderful school - with all of the family atmosphere a small neighborhood school offers, and the quality education of a 21st century model school. I feel that my child is in excellent hands during the day, and is being very well prepared for the big wide world. Parent involvement is encouraged, and the whole family gets involved with extra events. In the 4 years we've been there, there have been No bullying problems. All the kids get along and respect one another. I couldn't ask for a better experience for my child and my family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2006

This school is great. Parents are really involved and for the most part teachers are wonderful. On the down side, they do not have much in the way of extracurricular activities and they just got rid of music in exchange for art. I personally believe we should have both!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2005

I have four children. My three oldest have attended Montclair for the past 8 years. My oldest has graduated & my youngest will begin K there next year. I concider the education my children have recieved to be as good as a private school eduacation in a lot of ways. My children have all thrived & continue to score year after year above avg on the FCAT. The one thing I wish would be improved upon would be the lack of a real arts program. It is usually at this age that children develop a life long love of the arts. The gym program is also lacking & our kids really need regular organised physical activity these days in school as well as out. Recess is just not enough. I'm sure this is a problem that is beyond the schools control, but it is an issue that concerns me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2005

Great academic programs with very qualified teachers. They are called 'the little university'. Parent involvement is high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2004

Montclair was a great school for my child because it was a safe school for children.There were also a lot of team work at that school.My child loved montclair because she felt comtorble and she made a lot of friends.She thought the food there was great and she said the staff there was safe and the teachers were wounderful.The principal was great and she loved all of the staff.It was sad for her to leave montclair beacause she had to leave all her friends and teachers behind.She loved the school and was sad to leave.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 6, 2004

My son attended Kindergarten at Montclair for the 2003-2004 school year and it was a wonderful experience. There were only 19 kids in his class, and the teacher was able to devote a lot of individual attention to each student. Would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2004

Both my daughter and son graduated from Montclair. They were very well prepared for the next level in Jr. High. The administration and teachers were caring and purposeful in their preparation. Parental involvement in school activities is encouraged and accepted. My kids and I have positive and cherished memories of the time they spent in Montclair Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

89 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 42%
Black 15% 23%
Hispanic 11% 29%
Two or more races 9% 3%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 65%64%61%
Master's degree 35%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2398 Moody Ave
Orange Park, FL 32073
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 278-2030

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Crossroads School
Orange Park, FL



King's Christian Academy
Orange Park, FL


Clay Virtual Academy
Orange Park, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT