Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Argyle Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 630 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, August 27, 2014

horrible school!!! The principal lies, allows bullying and no reprimanding. After talking with the principal she advised me to write a letters, tells you too wait 2 weeks for responses then denies you of things like riding the bus when the bus pulls up 7 houses from you even if your child has medical conditions and doctors notes and you don't have a reliable car. and if you have a job and you are a single parent they don't care. the office staff is very nasty with bad dispositions when it comes to anything that a parent may be concerned with. they are more concerned with how they can have power or control over you than assisting for your childs well being. This school should should really be analyzed thoroughly before sending children there. they also do not grade on a regular grading scale of A, B, C, D, F instead their grades are P, X, / . so you never know if you child is retaining or learning and at what level because instead it is either... pass, fail, or not up to par. there are some serious issues that need to be looked into
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2014

My son is in his second year at Argyle elementary and we both LOVE THIS SCHOOL! I volunteer in his class twice a week helping with reading and class parties. Everyone I have had contact with is great. The Vice Principal Mrs. Pulled knows every child's name & is quick to say hello with a smile. I'm not sure how she does it but Argyle is fortunate to have her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

It has helped so much with my son's progress and helped out with a learning issue he has had the past few years, but is doing so much better with there help and attention
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2010

My children have been attending Argyle Elementary since the day it opened. Like any other school, we have faced situations that have had to be resolved with other students and staff, but that is to be expected. I have found that Argyle has provided a wonderful learning environment in which my children have been able to thrive. So far, 3 of my children have been through Argyle with one more to go and I look forward every year to the improvements and additions that are being made. My only suggestion would be increased state financing to continue to increase the programs offered at Argyle, particullarly in the arts which are always cut first. Overall, the staff does a tremendous job and truly wants the best for each student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2009

I liked this school when we moved here in 06' but since Mrs. Roman has become principal I have been very disappointed. I always thought she was organized and caring until I began to interact with her more and discuss a teacher's weakness in the classroom. She def made me feel she was protecting her staff instead of acknowledging things were not going well due to this particular teacher. Very frustrating for a parent to feel her child's needs are not being met and to have a principal not understand the parent's concerns. I can only hope this year goes better and if not I will have to find another school where I know the staff deeply cares for my child's educational needs. I do appreciate all the other teachers who do a great job there but I am concerned about the leadership they are under.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2008

I love the school and so does my daughter. The only thing that I am disappointed in is the fact that they do not offer gifted classes full time. Coming from a school district where there was a full time gifted program, 5 days a week, all day, to here where it is one day a week. When we first started it was only one HOUR a week. I think they need a full time gifted corriculum for those children that attend the gifted program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2008

i am now a freshman at OPHS and i went to argyle the first year it opened and i was in 6th grade then and I have to say....It was awesome!!! the teachers were a big help and the teachers i had werre Ms.Matz and Mrs.Ray and they were really helpfull. I would recommend this school to anyone looking for an Elementary school!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 1, 2008

this school allows kids to bring psp's and other video games to school. and the kids play violent games on them. there is no place in school for these things. bullies are given chances after chances to disrupt classrooms and some teachers have no controll over the class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2007

We are a military family living in Oakleaf Plantation, just 5 miles from the school. My daughter has attended since the first year it opened in 2005. We have enjoyed Argyle Elementary very much! We have been lucky enough to have some really wonderful teachers! Mrs. Flesher, Ms Daniels, Ms Suhr and Mrs Phillips are the teachers that I have had experience with and trust them completely. If you are unsure about your child(ren) attending Argyle, don't be, it's a good choice. If you are thinking about moving to Oakleaf Plantation, be advised, one side of the Plantation goes to Argyle while the other does not. That will remain the same until Oakleaf's elementary school is completed. I believe this will happen in time for the 2008-2009 school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2007

My daughter has attended Argyle since its first year, 2 years ago, and now both her and my son attend. We all absolutely love the school and the staff. And although it isn't run by the school, I agree with the other parent review regarding the YMCA run Pryme Time after school program.. disorganized, chaotic and run by teenagers. Not recommended, and it would be great if there was a different option.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

The principal and staff are great. They seem to really care about the students. The Pryme Time program administered on-site by the YMCA is lacking, though. The YMCA mgt. hasn't organized the program well and there is a high turn-over of staff. The students are often bored and the environment is chaotic due to lack of organization. This is an area that needs immediate attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
52%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
36%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

94 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 42%
Black 31%
Hispanic 13%
Two or more races 8%
Asian 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 145%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 23%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 66%64%61%
Master's degree 34%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2625 Spencers Plantation Boulevard
Orange Park, FL 32073
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 573-2357

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT